Avis sur Two Sigma | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Two Sigma

Mis à jour le 8 oct. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

4.2
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
86%
Recommandent à un ami
95%
Approuvent le PDG
Two Sigma CEO David Siegel and John Overdeck (no image)
David Siegel and John Overdeck
63 évaluations
  1. « Great firm with interesting work and flat organization »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Product Specialist à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez Two Sigma à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    - Very flat structure. Everyone is approachable. - Interesting work. - Senior management comes from a place of trust, meaning they trust business and project owners to do what's best. And that culture permeates the organization. I feel like my manager has trust and confidence in me. - Certainly a tech firm in the finance / investment management world. This means casual dress code, great benefits, work-life... balance, and workplace perks. - From what I've seen, internal mobility happens often and is encouraged. - Employees are empowered and encouraged to take on additional work / solve problems that aren't currently being worked on.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    - Different business units can be compartmentalized so can be difficult to meet others throughout the organization.

    Two Sigma2019-10-08
  2. « employee-friendly; deserves its good reputation »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer 

    Je travaille chez Two Sigma à temps plein

    Avantages

    A healthy, friendly working environment; reasonable and mostly flexible hours - nice for people with kids; good salaries, benefits, time off, etc.; technical challenges are good (but see further discussion in "cons"); plenty of opportunities to switch teams within the company; well-communicated path for career advancement.

    Inconvénients

    Our business in the end is financial, so even though we are highly technical we are probably not going to transform the software industry the way Google has, for example.

    Two Sigma2019-10-01
  3. « About two sigma »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Quantitative Researcher 

    Je travaille chez Two Sigma à temps plein

    Avantages

    Working with many smart people

    Inconvénients

    The company is too big

    Two Sigma2019-10-01
  4. « Perfect! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Quantitative Researcher 

    J'ai travaillé chez Two Sigma à temps plein

    Avantages

    Great compensation and great benefits!

    Inconvénients

    Working hours are a lot!

    Two Sigma2019-09-26
  5. « Good mixture of technology and finance »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Two Sigma à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Collaborative culture with extremely intelligent employees. People are nice, smart, and very driven. The problems are technically challenging, and there are growth opportunities spread throughout the firm. Internal mobility is accepted, and it's possible to have a long career here while working on several different teams/products.

    Inconvénients

    The company is growing rapidly and is starting to experience big-company problems. Politics can occasionally impact productivity, especially with regards to titles and team size.

    Conseils à la direction

    New managers often seem to be unqualified for their job. More management training would probably be beneficial for ICs who become managers.

    Two Sigma2019-08-29
  6. « Decent company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Engineer à New York, NY

    J'ai travaillé chez Two Sigma à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Interview bar very high, so generally very good peers

    Inconvénients

    little strict about office timings

    Two Sigma2019-09-05
  7. « Fast moving great workplace for innovative minds »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Systems Engineer à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Two Sigma à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Very transparent and this company opens a zillion ways to learn new stuffs to help personal growth . this company has great benefits and there is always food in the pantry no dress code

    Inconvénients

    It moves too fast at times in terms of inheriting technology so, we jump /upgrade sooner than really required. No work from home options

    Conseils à la direction

    Work from home options for employees , may be we can have like 2 days a month per employee.

    Two Sigma2019-08-15
  8. Utile (2)

    « Great place for a quant researcher »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Quantitative Researcher à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Two Sigma à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    1. Great work-life balance and flexible hours. 2. Smart people with high level of intellectual curiosity as their main motivation. 3. Great tech-company-like culture that values creative ideas from everyone. 4. Challenging and interesting work.

    Inconvénients

    No major complaints yet.

    Two Sigma2019-08-08
  9. Utile (3)

    « Small Teams with Big Impact, Mostly for the Better »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Two Sigma à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    The broad context here is I'm extremely happy with my job at two sigma. I've been here for 1.5 years and in that time, I've learned and grown more than I would have thought possible. - Almost everyone I've worked with in my corner of the Engineering world has been very kind, creative, and incredibly driven. - Since team size is small relative to the number of products, impact-per-person can be extremely... significant. It's possible to be a star, even as a new employee. - Compensation is head-and-shoulders above similarly tenured roles in the rest of the industry. - Casual, geeky, tech-focused culture relative to other firms in this sector. - In-office extra-curriculars (giving talks, attending internal classes, organizing volunteering events) are readily available and encouraged by management - A strong lean towards the DIY in engineering projects means you'll probably learn a lot about parts of the software development process you might not elsewhere. - A gold star on your resume. TS is a heavy hitter as far as perceived engineering clout.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    On the flip side, growth can sometimes be painful. - It somehow always seems like there's 20% more work to do than the amount of time there is to do it. Small teams with out-sized responsibilities in combination with the type of passionate/ambitious personality that TS seems to attract can produce an environment of intense self-imposed stress. - That same strong DIY lean? Means a lot of projects get built from 0... to 1 by one or two people, and fail to make the leap from 1 to 2 as it's realized they're a lot more difficult to make stable and production-ready than it was to produce an MVP. - As an adolescent company, TS is beginning to hit some phase changes with things like maintenance of aging software, management of organizational structure, and knowledge sharing. - Less hierarchical than many companies in its sector, but you can still feel like you're at the whims of a teetering stack of managerial decisions at times. It's often hard for bad news to propagate up the stack since people will soften what they say to higher-ups. This can lead to directional decisions being made without knowledge of the situation on the ground. - Front-end development is largely unsupported by the build/test infrastructure and varies wildly from team-to-team as each one learns separately to deal with the quirks.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    - Make stability, repeatability, and polish a first order priority. Prefer to have one feature done excellently than three done as fast as possible. - Hire more onto existing initiatives relative to new ones. Work done by one person here might be done by an entire team elsewhere. It's great for learning new things, but could burn people out. - Only add additional levels of management hierarchy if it's absolutely... necessary to keep things from collapsing.

    Dérouler
    Two Sigma2019-08-15
  10. « Incredible company to work for! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Workplace Services Experience Coordinator 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Two Sigma à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Two Sigma's culture, the way employees are treated, and the office amenities

    Inconvénients

    There are no cons to working at Two Sigma, in my opinion!

    Two Sigma2019-08-08
115 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer