Avis sur Slalom | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Slalom

Mis à jour le sept. 18, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

26 avis trouvés

4.0
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
78%
Recommandent à un ami
76%
Approuvent le PDG
Slalom CEO Wayne Ingram (no image)
Wayne Ingram
13 évaluations
  1. Avis en vedette
    Utile (4)

    « Best company ever »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Amazing culture, I feel part of a family and I love going to work Working with the brightest people in the market I feel that everybody does the best and feel proud about the company I wake up in the morning and feel motivated for a new amazing day in this company

    Inconvénients

    I can't see any cons

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue being the best in the market

    Slalom2019-01-11
  2. « I've Never *Loved* My Job Until I Came Here »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Consultant à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    The people. The opportunities. The experiences. The culture. From the moment I walked in the door three years ago, I've felt like Slalom offered me more than a job; it offered me a new way of seeing myself and a chance to build and shape my future. And, in my role and my level, that's not something I expected to find at this stage of the game. I love the people. People are at the centre of what we do here,... and we're so lucky that our TA team works hard to find the right people. Every day here I am challenged in the right way, I'm touching so many different things and working with so many different people. It always feels like no two days are alike. Slalom has offered me personal and professional growth by virtue of the work that I do every day and because of how fast we've grown in Toronto and, now, Canada. There have been opportunities for me to step up and work directly with leadership on a number of initiatives that have had a positive impact on our team across the board. If you're seeking opportunity to grow yourself, your team, your capability, an initiative, whatever it may be, there is space for that here. But you *do* have to drive that on your own sometimes. If you want a place that will hand you something for nothing, Slalom isn't for you. That being said, if you're passionate about it? Do you want to make it happen? Does it *mean* something to you? Then you will find the support here to do it, if you show that you're willing to be accountable and drive it. And I love that. It's that attitude of ownership and accountability that means there's no end to what you can do here. Not to mention the fact that there's no shortage of fun events that run the gamut from mid-morning stretch sessions at the office to weekend long company retreats (with only fun stuff!!), Hackathons with an opportunity to travel to our other offices, loads of snacks in the office, and a culture that makes you want to stay and hang out with your colleagues instead of racing out the door to be anywhere but work.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    I think anywhere that has experienced such rapid growth is going to have some pain points. We went from being a scrappy-start-up-vibe to a big company with a real presence. Fast. I think there is some catching up to do from a leadership perspective to add some additional rigor to processes, to continue being more transparent around promotions etc. and being able to support growing teams from a people manager... perspective (eg. really getting that ratio of people manager to independent contributors right so that PMs can really continue to focus on their people).

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep doing what you're doing, and keep doing more! I've given an overall rating of 4/5 because there is always work to be done. If we think we're perfect then I don't think we're doing right by our people, our clients or ourselves: we can always do better; always improve. I've seen continued improvements in our internal communications, the continual "upping the ante" on transparency around our promotion... processes etc. , and really zeroing in on our values. But we have to stay on it; we can't lose what makes this place special. The steps that leadership team has taken over the last few months in particular, in light of our continued amazing growth, shows a real commitment to how our leaders want us to show up in the market, to our other Slalom offices and to each other, here on the ground.

    Dérouler
    Slalom2019-08-01
  3. Utile (16)

    « Greedy, superficial, and clique-oriented »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Consultant à Toronto, ON
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    great in-office perks (snacks, beer, drinks), lots of social events, fair market base pay and bonus

    Inconvénients

    I joined Slalom just over 3 years ago when the Toronto office was still new and the organization was very entrepreneurial. Back then, the company felt like a dream - small family-style team, everyone got along and respected each other, leadership listened and made changes. Once Slalom Toronto broke even profit-wise about 1.5 years ago, however, the company took a sharp negative downturn and is only getting worse... with each passing week. Recruiting took a nosedive and now hires virtually anyone with a pulse. Leadership is focused purely on sales to hit their numbers and get their big bonuses, and there is no longer any care about lower employees on the hierarchy. Promotion is entirely based on perceptions - if you suck up to the leadership and parrot their false smiles constantly, you get promoted regardless of merit. Conversely, delivery or technical excellence is no longer a concern. Projects have become chaotic, filled with poor-performing practitioners, and stacked with expensive leaders billing but not contributing. Additionally, projects are no longer interesting - the focus has become to sell anything, rather than selling interesting and fulfilling pieces of work. The local consulting team is slowly getting phased out, with everyone focusing on selling developer (Build/XM) projects or augmenting their offerings. Finally, even the culture has hollowed out - Slalom Toronto no longer lives by the company's core values and just parrots meaningless platitudes around to each other in an echo chamber. My advice for those looking to join would be to understand if you're looking for fulfilling work and career progression, or if you're looking for a shallow superficial "happy" place to work. Slalom will not provide any meaningful fulfillment. Caveat Emptor.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Create a proper method for upward feedback. Listen to your employees, don't just dismiss them because you don't like what you're hearing. Stop hiring your friends to fill in senior leadership roles despite them being unqualified or disinclined to do any meaningful work. Bring back the Slalom that existed 2-3 years ago! Stop growing simply for the sake of growing and start only hiring quality again, with full vetted... recruitment.

    Dérouler
    Slalom2019-07-19

    Réponse de Slalom

    July 22, 2019President & Co-founder, North America

    This is John Tobin. I have shared this post with the Canada GM, with some additional suggestions for making sure there is communication about various initiatives underway to ensure the culture and core values remain strong in Canada as the business grows there. I appreciate your ...

    Dérouler
  4. Utile (2)

    « Great Company! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    - First time I've worked in a positive culture. Everyone is really friendly and makes me feel comfortable walking into a room not knowing anyone. Lot's of well-rounded, intelligent people. - Support for personal/career development - Compensation and benefits

    Inconvénients

    - Growing at a rapid pace (a positive thing) but onboarding can be a bit disorganized. Direct reports can be too busy to give you the attention that you need to get the ball rolling with workflows - Fairly narrow field of consulting

    Conseils à la direction

    #1 Concern looking forward would be related to hiring. Growing at this pace is really great, but make sure to maintain the culture! It's a fragile thing to take care of. Additionally, make sure that high-performing recruits are being brought in. The Toronto office needs to maintain the prestige of a management consulting firm

    Slalom2019-05-01
  5. Utile (1)

    « Software Engineer »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Everyone on the team are so helpful. Lots of opportunities to learn and for career growth.

    Inconvénients

    There is none that I can think of.

    Slalom2019-04-23
  6. Utile (6)

    « Consulting lead - Not sales run »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Business Development Representative à Toronto, ON
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Slalom à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    - Great base pay. - Opportunities abound for people who can work like consultants - Growing company with lots of perks. - Consulting culture is strong and overall people seem happy

    Inconvénients

    - This is NOT a sales run organization. - Very much considered a 'necessary evil' from the consulting teams. - Cut throat environment where sales leadership will micro manage deals and try to take credit and muscle their way into deals.

    Conseils à la direction

    - Senior sales professionals should be given the full spectrum of resources to succeed in their positions, especially in new markets.

    Slalom2019-04-09

    Réponse de Slalom

    July 2, 2019President & Co-founder, North America

    This is John Tobin. I believe our sales teams are a huge part of team and frankly I rarely see any cut throat behavior. I would also agree (that by design) we are more consulting-led vs. Sales-led and I don't think that is a bad thing. I'd be happy to talk to you more about what ...

    Dérouler
  7. Utile (4)

    « Great culture »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Engineer (Build D&A) à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Slalom à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Lots of good projects Leaders care about employees You won't feel alone, reporting manager will be there to help out and guide if needed

    Inconvénients

    Unclear promotion process Designing and maintaining solid/clean code development practices

    Slalom2019-02-18
  8. Utile (13)

    « Superficial »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Toronto, ON
    Ne recommande pas
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Friendly colleagues. Too many social events. Too much bragging during the social events.

    Inconvénients

    Poor delivery of projects. Too much bragging. Leaders are territorial- Different service lines doesn’t get along. Not good for small consulting firms.

    Slalom2019-02-08

    Réponse de Slalom

    April 1, 2019President & Co-founder, North America

    This is John Tobin. We have not had many reviews like this out of Slalom Canada. I really encourage you to talk to your people manager and your GM to share with them what you are seeing. I hate hearing the bragging comment and have more often seen our core value of Stay Humble ...

    Dérouler
  9. « Working @ Slalom »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Talent Acquisition Manager à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    I recently started with Slalom a month ago- It has been a great experience so far. This company truly values their people . The environment is open and collaborative which inspires creativity and authenticity. I'm excited to be a part of such an amazing company!

    Inconvénients

    >Interview process took a while > It can feel like your drinking from a water hose when you first start

    Slalom2018-11-07
  10. Utile (2)

    « Greatest Place to Work! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Analyst à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    - Great environment for go getters, lots of opportunities to learn - WFH - There's an actual "local market" so if you don't want to be travelling out of country, you don't have to - Lots of fun activities - 4 weeks vacation - Beer/Wine onsite - Great projects and great lists of clients

    Inconvénients

    I know we are looking into larger space at the moment, it does get crowded when a lot of people are in office, but it's more of a good problem to have!

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep doing what you are doing, the growth the company saw within the last year speaks for itself!

    Slalom2018-10-05
26 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer