Avis sur Hanover Research | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Hanover Research

Mis à jour le 12 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

168 avis trouvés

3.5
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
65%
Recommandent à un ami
83%
Approuvent le PDG
Hanover Research CEO Wes Givens
Wes Givens
72 évaluations
  1. « not good »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Business Development Associate à New York, NY

    J'ai travaillé chez Hanover Research à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Pretty good pay for starting-level.

    Inconvénients

    Not a good place to work. Bad management.

    Hanover Research2019-09-12
  2. Utile (3)

    « Growing Market Research Firm »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Prefer Not to Answer à Arlington, VA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Hanover Research à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Great atmosphere, flexible schedule, understanding management, intelligent co-workers, talent is rewarded greatly.

    Inconvénients

    Inexperienced upper management, growing pains

    Hanover Research2019-08-02

    Réponse de Hanover Research

    September 5, 2019CHRO

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We'd love to hear more of your ideas about improving the upper management experience ranks so please feel free to reach out to our Chief Content Officer directly.

  3. Utile (5)

    « Good if no other options »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas

    J'ai travaillé chez Hanover Research à temps plein

    Avantages

    Good benefits, remote work flexibility, nice coworkers; a launching pad for a career as an analyst/consultant if you want to gain client-facing work experience

    Inconvénients

    Poor compensation: Hanover pays below industry average and does not give cost of living adjustment raises. My salary was stagnant for two of the years I worked there. Incompetent leadership: This was my biggest pain point. Managers do not clearly communicate expectations and then penalize researchers for not following whatever rule they did not iterate. It contributes to widespread frustration and low employee... morale. A lot of managers are also very condescending. I would say that second to salary, this is the most common reason employees leave and why there is high turnover. I would also add micromanagement, though I suspect this might be to justify the lack of salary raises (see above). I’ve had accomplishments – such as my reports leading to client renewals and my advice implemented – completely overlooked in performance reviews, and so-called issues like being too quiet in meetings dramatized as major performance issues and reasons to deny raises. Little to no opportunities for advancement: My manager looked down on my desire to learn other research methodologies in addition to the one I worked in, and I wasn’t given any substantial opportunities to learn more.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    I think Hanover’s HR team is taking the right steps to advance Hanover’s overall company culture, but have a lot of leftover incompetent leadership from the company’s earlier days. Please investigate the research team’s leadership and provide some much-needed management training (especially implicit bias training). Also, raise your salaries to be competitive and provide cost of living adjustments.

    Hanover Research2019-08-18

    Réponse de Hanover Research

    September 16, 2019Chief Content Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to read that you felt that your compensation and manager experiences didn’t meet your expectations. We’re upfront with all applicants about the salary bands for various roles when they join Hanover. We hire exceptional talent, train them well, ...

    Dérouler
  4. Utile (2)

    « Good opportunity for college grad transition into the job market »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Research Associate à Arlington, VA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Hanover Research à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Hard and honest work with lots of hands on learning opportunities.

    Inconvénients

    Project work gets repetitive over time and limited professional development opportunities

    Hanover Research2019-07-23

    Réponse de Hanover Research

    August 7, 2019CHRO

    Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your time at Hanover. It is true that after a few years the project cycle can become repetitive for some teams. We are trying to introduce more rotation opportunities for staff internally to gain a different perspective and learn ...

    Dérouler
  5. Utile (10)

    « No place for real professionals »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Arlington, VA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Hanover Research à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Proximity to metro and good food trucks A handful of friendly colleagues

    Inconvénients

    This place makes no sense for experienced professionals. The environment is myopic, short sighted and incredibly biased. Leadership is inexperienced and has no concept of professional development-fair promotion is nonexistent. The favorites are fed deals and are allowed to game the system, and everyone else has to make the best of a terrible territory. The market research is a joke, perfect for an unsophisticated... buyer. If you’re 22, right out of college, need to get out of your parents house, and no one else will hire you, give this place a try. Other than that, run far far away and don’t believe anything the recruiters tell you. Unless you’re interested in wasting your time and talents with zero professional growth.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue to hire young inexperienced people and hope the free snacks and beer are enough to keep them. Stop trying to swim in the big boy pool- you lack what it takes to cultivate experienced professionals.

    Hanover Research2019-08-12
  6. « Experience »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Project Coordinator 

    Je travaille chez Hanover Research à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Great company with great teammates.

    Inconvénients

    Leadership problems with management team.

    Hanover Research2019-07-26
  7. Utile (9)

    « Good Launching Pad for Analysts/Entry-Level, Beware to Experienced Candidates »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Hanover Research à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Let me start by saying that I valued my three years at Hanover, primarily the relationships established with both co-workers, as well as clients, which have continued beyond the job. For those who are fresh out of college or still new to the market research industry, Hanover is an adequate launching career launching pad, where you will get exposure to various tools and methodologies as well as a variety of clients... who operate across a myriad of industries or academia depending on the coverage area you are looking at (corporate or education research). For those who are coming in as experienced hires, the pros are fewer to none depending on where you’re coming from. However, it may be an optimal change of scenery if you are coming from a separate industry or a specific vertical-focused role, and are looking to pivot your career deeper into market research with Hanover acting as your pit-stop. Given this, I am still recommending and referring those looking to start or change their career path, but am hesitant to do so for those looking to further their career in market research.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    On the other hand, there are quite a few areas of concern and red flags at Hanover that you should be aware of before taking that interview or accepting an offer (especially if you are an experienced hire, and even more so if you are coming from another market research firm): 1. Culture – As others have mentioned, the people support is lacking, and this results in an overall "cog-the-wheel mentality" among a lot of... people. HR seems to be more concerned about replying to Glassdoor reviews than engaging with employees on the lower floors i.e. it’s common to never see someone from HR proactively engage between your first week and your exit interview. Furthermore, internal politics are noticeable, with many recent promotions & role changes across departments where no internal interview rounds are done resulting in people being overlooked who are more qualified. Favoritism also rears its head in an organizational manner, where at times it’s perceived that sales/revenue is held in a higher regard. Last, Hanover likes to call itself an AMA Top 50 MR firm as has been noted from their replies here, however, be aware this list is purely based on reported revenue as the company does not have an organizational membership with any of the leading industry associations, let alone a presence in the industry (which has resulted in misconceptions & brand confusion). 2. Leadership – A majority of the upper management do not have backgrounds or education in market research and/or they have been at Hanover the majority of their career which leads to a very myopic view of the industry at large (since the company as a whole is not engaged in the industry). For experienced hires coming from other market research firms, this should come as a glaring red flag and is something I regret not doing my homework on. Not only this, but the upper management team tends to ignore or write-off feedback from those not directly below them and insulates themselves from the actual people who are on the frontlines. A perfect example is right here on Glassdoor, where the Chief Content Officer replied, “I must confess to being baffled by some of the issues you mention.” Vision from leadership also tends to change as frequently as the organizational structure, and is not always clear; this can also be said in how this translates into the products and services being developed, which can be DOA given those developing the products are not experienced in the industry or with the types of clients they are developing the products for (and disregard feedback from those who have experience in these exact initiatives). 3. Benefits – While the healthcare benefits are on par with other consulting or market research firms of similar size, the 401(k) is severely lacking not only it’s matching (2%), but also in the overall fund portfolio diversity. You’ll get better returns from an IRA, independent index-fund, or high-yield savings account outside of Hanover. Bonus potential wise, continued reforms to payout less are on a downward trajectory for those on the research side compared to those in sales/revenue, and at times do not align with industry standard bonus structures for researchers, so be prepared to depend more on your base salary. Raises in comp typically only come with promotions, and for those coming in as an experienced hire, you could end up waiting 2-3+ years to only see a raise that is equivalent to a COLA bump. 4. Professional Development – While Hanover has made improvements in this area (creating more focused L&D modules and pathways for analysts/entry-level), they still have a long way to go, especially for experienced hires who have mastered many of the tools and methodologies involved with the work. Currently there isn’t much for experienced hires, as Hanover is typically hesitant to invest in higher cost development that comes with experienced professionals i.e. industry conferences, skilled training in advanced methodologies from outside sources (there is no education reimbursement like many other firms), etc.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Advice to Job Seekers: Take heed in my words and the words of others here on Glassdoor. Reach out to current and former employees of Hanover, and really get a grasp on the scope of the role you are applying to or looking to take on. Hanover is not for everyone as some have said, but there is definitely those who excel at Hanover, and use it to launch their careers further or further discover where they want to go on... their career journey. There's a reason Hanover alum can be found at many a good company, non-profit or in government/academia. Advice to Hanover: Acknowledge your faults and work on improving them for the sake of your employees and the firm itself. Hanover has potential, but if it does not address the honest feedback here and from others, it will flounder compared to other firms who are taking these issues more seriously (and as a result, acquire the better talent).

    Dérouler
    Hanover Research2019-06-19
  8. Utile (2)

    « Smart colleagues in a dysfunctional organization »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Content Director à Arlington, VA

    Je travaille chez Hanover Research à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Great colleagues, opportunity to work with interesting clients

    Inconvénients

    Dysfunctional organization, poor workload management

    Hanover Research2019-06-10

    Réponse de Hanover Research

    June 13, 2019CHRO

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We do have great coworkers and get to do interesting work for a variety of clients. As a small company, we have to stay nimble in order to serve an ever changing market. This means that our strategies or protocols may change more often than in ...

    Dérouler
  9. Utile (1)

    « Great »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Associate 

    Je travaille chez Hanover Research à temps plein

    Avantages

    nice people, great work environment

    Inconvénients

    none that I could think of

    Hanover Research2019-04-29

    Réponse de Hanover Research

    May 6, 2019CHRO

    Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you are enjoying your time with us!

  10. Utile (3)

    « Hanover's culture of kindness, trust, and flexibility sets it apart. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Hanover Research à temps plein

    Avantages

    Hanover's culture of kindness, trust, and flexibility sets it apart. The people, as everyone says, are amazing. The work ultimately is interesting and can be more corporate or more mission-driven depending on team. It's a great place to learn, to build a large professional network, and to try new things. If you stay and provide value, you will move up and you will get to learn skills that you may never have even... known you wanted to learn. You will get more professional opportunities at Hanover more quickly. You'll ultimately take on next steps in your career that would have been a faraway pipedream without the opportunities Hanover provided. Apart from learning opportunities, the work atmosphere is friendly, generous, and extremely flexible. Analysts (as the example I am most familiar with) can choose their own hours (starting anywhere from 8-9am, no biggie if you want to come in early or later - just get your work done), receive team "incentive" days off in addition to the paid holidays, and anyone on Content in good standing who's been in seat for more than 6 months has a remote day per week. Ad-hoc remote requests are also usually granted. Hanover tries to give people a positive, flexible work environment. Benefits such as 18 base PTO days per year, paid parental leave, and solid core benefits (inexpensive health, free dental, inexpensive vision, FSAs, paid life and ad&d, SmartBenefits, etc.) demonstrate their investment in employees. They go overboard with parties, happy hours, snacks, and events. There is thorough onboarding for Content and Sales with specialized L&D/support teams focused entirely on training and talent development. They really want their staff to be happy and are willing to extend essentially every possible offering to make their people happy, except for changing the core business. I think ultimately negative reviews want them to change the core business, and in reality the framework of Hanover's environment, benefits, work product, and talent are extremely solid.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    To expand on the above, I think the root causes of some critiques on here are two things: 1) Hanover grew really, really fast and has had to (or chose to) maintain some structures that some people dislike (1 project at a time, TIGHT deadlines, for most analysts) while repeatedly revamping other structures (CDs -> RDs -> CEDs). This has given some people (especially analysts) a sense that some things are... negotiable while issues that affect their entry/mid-level staff like project turnaround, are not. When the project timelines cause people to burn out, they are bummed that this structure is not something that leadership is open to changing. Efforts to make products less reliant on rote work provide faster turnaround to clients but have done less to change analyst workloads. 2) Relatedly, there are a lot of people joining Hanover for their first jobs. Coming to terms with the idea that a job and an employer isn't going to be perfect and isn't their friend sucks. So does the realization that not all their feedback will be implemented. Even in cases where lots of people are giving the same feedback, good feedback. Hanover is (to quote another review) a business, and that's hard to accept when you are a bright person providing well-reasoned recommendations. They're good recommendations, but that might simply not be in alignment with how leadership wants to run the company. So some people move up to roles that fit better, some move out. Other than that: Pay can certainly be below market. And everyone says the 401k match is low, but, hey - the selection of funds is good with Principal and the 401k and match are offered immediately (30 days after hire) so it could be way worse.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    I don't have any advice to offer. Hanover is a great place to work, and while entry-level roles require hard work, those who stay are given unique professional and growth opportunities.

    Hanover Research2019-04-17

    Réponse de Hanover Research

    June 13, 2019CHRO

    Thank you for your kind words. We're not a perfect employer and there are aspects of our business that we cannot change but it is good to hear that in your experience the positives outweighed the negatives.

168 avis trouvés