Avis sur GitHub | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur GitHub

Mis à jour le 6 août 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

54 avis trouvés

3.9
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
73%
Recommandent à un ami
85%
Approuvent le PDG
Nat Friedman
6 évaluations
  1. Utile (18)

    "Excellent company culture except for senior leadership in Engineering"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez GitHub à temps plein

    Avantages

    Lots of smart people at the company that are humble, empathetic, and driven to ship great software. Many core developers of Ruby, Rails, and Git work here and engineers here know their stuff really well. Hubbers are vocal and speak up about issues they care about. Company cares about diversity and inclusion and puts tremendous effort into it. Good benefits.

    Inconvénients

    Senior engineering management changes in the last year have resulted in micro-mangement, demoralizing of teams, disrespect for the work of engineers and being tone deaf to the acual problems that engineers raise. Engineering teams can spend more effort appeasing certain leaders and figuring out how to avoid interaction with them than on soliciting customer feedback.

    Conseils à la direction

    If you keep the new leadership you are going to lose your best talent. This is being toxic to the company culture. Coaching and constant feedback to HR has brought no results.

    GitHub2017-01-26
  2. "Good Place"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - EBR 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez GitHub à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Great Place to grow and learn i tech

    Inconvénients

    Management is sometimes micromanagy and unorganized

    GitHub2019-08-06
  3. Utile (1)

    "Amazing"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Engineer à San Francisco, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez GitHub à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    - Friendly - Technically rewarding - Good management

    Inconvénients

    - Could use more diversity

    GitHub2019-07-16
  4. Utile (3)

    "great place"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 

    Je travaille chez GitHub à temps partiel

    Avantages

    great place to work at

    Inconvénients

    nothing really, i dont have too many complaints

    GitHub2019-05-11
  5. Utile (3)

    "A pretty good company to work for"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Solutions Engineer 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez GitHub à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Great remote culture, a lot (but a lot) of great and smart people still around even after IPO, very good benefits (5month parental leave), decent learning budget, tooling and hardware at your choice. New CEO appears to be the real deal.

    Inconvénients

    Still a US SF company (lots of politics) but nothing out of the ordinary. Some departments just don't work no matter how many (different) people you throw at it.

    Conseils à la direction

    Manage less.

    GitHub2019-05-06
  6. Utile (4)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Sales à San Francisco, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez GitHub à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Trust, flexibility, great product, brand name, awesome leadership that has done this before. I really feel that these will be the best working years of my career. There's plenty of room for promotions if you hit your numbers and with Microsoft in the picture, I have no doubt their influence will accelerate our ability to succeed.

    Inconvénients

    Just like any startup we learn by doing, so there are occasional ups and downs, but the growth mindset and comfort with mistakes is embraced at the highest levels of leadership.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep on modelling the right behavior and as you bring in additional leaders, make sure they fit the mold of what you're working to build.

    GitHub2019-01-29
  7. "great"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Specialist à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez GitHub à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    it was wonderful lots of fun

    Inconvénients

    none is wrong with this placce

    Conseils à la direction

    nothing

    GitHub2019-01-27
  8. Utile (59)

    "A sinking ship"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez GitHub à temps plein

    Avantages

    Remote friendly in theory. (it really depends on your team) Some of the smartest and most incredible people I've met. Unfortunately none of them were valued by leadership.

    Inconvénients

    GitHub used to be a dream job. But the company is changing and with it leadership is showing it's true colors. This isn't a company that values diversity in any way other than name. Leadership is toxic and abusive, and no one in charge will actually discipline the people who need it. Women and POC have an incredibly high turn over rate, but the company still claims to value equality.

    Conseils à la direction

    Hire people who value people to lead people. Stop abusing and underpaying women. Start taking a good hard look at your company 'values' and see if you're actually meeting them.

    GitHub2019-01-05
  9. Utile (3)

    "Bright outlook"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez GitHub à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    -Amazing benefits and flexibility -Super promising new CEO -Generally all very nice co-workers to interact and work with -Customer-centric approach and new management being added

    Inconvénients

    Still have some processes that need to be worked out, growing challenges

    GitHub2018-12-05
  10. Utile (12)

    "Amazing benefits, respectful and inclusive culture. Overall a great place to work."

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez GitHub à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    The ability to work remotely, unlimited vacation, good pay, excellent healthcare benefits, 401K matching, learning and development stipend. I work in a fantastic team with kind, hard-working and easy-going people. Since I am a remote employee, I log in every day thinking about how lucky I am to have joined such a great company where people treat me with respect and where I do not have to commute. Sure, there are times...

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    I am very concerned that this is too good to stay this way, and my biggest concern is about the GitHub acquisition. Other cons are that there is ambiguity and constant change. Also, lately we have more restrictions about much we can spend on the phones we use for work or laptops get now replaced less often. This makes me feel that will be even tighter once we are under Microsoft.

    Conseils à la direction

    Improve communication. Sometimes, several months go by before we have a company all-hands meeting. Concerned about the company being acquired by Microsoft.

    GitHub2018-09-26
54 avis trouvés