Avis sur Credit Karma | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Credit Karma

Mis à jour le août 20, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

169 avis trouvés

3.8
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
69%
Recommandent à un ami
91%
Approuvent le PDG
Credit Karma CEO Kenneth Lin
Kenneth Lin
135 évaluations
  1. Utile (1)

    « Nice People, Smart People »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Credit Karma à temps plein

    Avantages

    Excellent opportunity to take a startup to a mature company

    Inconvénients

    No cons that I see

    Credit Karma2018-05-25
  2. Utile (1)

    « A happy place »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    Je travaille chez Credit Karma à temps plein

    Avantages

    People are really willing to help!

    Inconvénients

    Sometimes the documentation is disorganized.

    Credit Karma2019-08-20
  3. Utile (7)

    « Fake nice »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer à San Francisco, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Credit Karma à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    The office in San Francisco is nice. People are trying to do the right things, from a technical perspective. There are a lot of nice, well intentioned ideas at work here.

    Inconvénients

    Career growth, HR is cruel, and the culture at the company is fake nice. This is not a meritocracy. I don't even know how to begin to explain, other than starting with the simple fact that people do not get promoted on the basis of doing good work. In fact, people don't really get promoted at all. What's really happening is managers playing politics with each other all day. If you want to get a promotion you have... to have the right manager, and chances are if *that*'s the kind of manager you have then you have to be extremely obedient, for lack of a better word. Also, most of the good engineers have started to leave. HR is straight up scary. It's rare that you'd ever have to deal with them, but if you do they can be so mean and insensitive. Basically, it's a kafkaesque, bureaucratic nightmare, with a little hint of a sadistic streak. I know that sound dramatic, but it's honestly how I feel. You know that feeling you get when someone enjoys having power over you and causing pain? That's how you feel when talking to HR, at Credit Karma. The last thing is that the company has really exploded in size and ambition lately, and it really feels a lot different. This used to actually be a nice place. Now it's fake nice. There's the managers playing politics, and you start to see the beginning of a lot of double speak. There are a lot of big projects, which has created a really cut throat, nasty attitude under the surface. This is not the kind of place where you can be yourself, unless that person is a robot and useful to their manager. Also, work speak is the absolute worse when it gets used as a tool to hide meanness.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    I know things are changing and it's hard. Here's what I want you to know and what I think could be done better about it. 1. Problem: there are some serious snakes in the garden. Open your eyes. There is some serious lying happening, and you should try to figure out who's behind it, because I can promise you it's contributing to a really nasty culture and poisoning the well. 1. Suggestion: find a way to form a... relationship with people who work in the trenches, I.e. not managers. So many of the engineers though are truly, just absurdly nice, well-meaning people. Find some way to get a read on what's happening, through them, because I promise you no one is listening. 2. Problem: good engineers are leaving because it's just not worth it, and the thing is they're leaving precisely in spite of staying for so long. Some people really stick around because they care, not that they're idiots and don't know their market value - they do, until they've just had enough. 2. Suggestion: when there's a huge re-org, which happens on basically a quarterly basis, the people who can recognize your work either leave or that recognition gets scattered. Then the new organization comes in and all of that recognition is gone. This should seriously change. You should try to preserve recognition before announcing a reorg, and after announcing explain a transition strategy. 3. Problem: it feels that HR can often be contemptuous or vindictive in their personal dealings, and they hide behind a lot of work speak, which only adds insult to injury. They can be cold and impersonal, but also, honestly, just plain mean, in a way I can't describe other than it feels like they enjoy it. The perfect example of the feeling I mean would be the nurse from "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest". 3. Suggestion: first, I'd recommend that someone from the c-level seek out feedback in this matter. Second, I would somehow try to incorporate empathy or some other human trait as part of their job. I'm not saying I know how to do that, maybe training? I feel like it really just comes down to the people or the HR org itself, honestly. Look, most of the stuff they have to do involves following protocol, which is fine and I understand it's part of the job. So introduce some humanity to it. By that I mean, try to employ common sense. To try to be sympathetic. Maybe make them feel empowered to exercise judgement rather than focusing on forms. Marry the two. One huge thing is try to explain to employees what the world looks like from your perspective, because honestly nobody knows or understands. It's unfamiliar and often terrifying.

    Dérouler
    Credit Karma2019-08-15
  4. Utile (1)

    « Mission driven company with nice and competent colleagues »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Data Scientist à San Francisco, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Credit Karma à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    - Very smart people in the data science team - Friendly and cooperative culture - At least to me, it felt like the executive staff actually cared about the mission of the company - Generally good compensation and perks

    Inconvénients

    - Not a con for everybody but for me the range of products that the company offers is very narrow. It's a bit difficult to be interested in advertising credit cards.

    Credit Karma2019-07-31
  5. Utile (1)

    « Best tech company in the Bay »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Core Product à San Francisco, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Credit Karma à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    - So much opportunity for growth. - Transparency is alive and well. - Everyone here is genuine and kind. That's a true rarity in tech!

    Inconvénients

    Growing pains exist, but these are good challenges to overcome.

    Conseils à la direction

    Have remote/ WFH flexibility.

    Credit Karma2019-07-22
  6. Utile (2)

    « Nice company to work! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Visual Design à San Francisco, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Credit Karma à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Good benefits, nice company, the CEO is amazing.

    Inconvénients

    The management in marketing is not great. The filter to join the company is very easy, the don't have a high standard of Design

    Credit Karma2019-07-22
  7. Utile (2)

    « Great mission »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Product Manager 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Credit Karma à temps plein

    Avantages

    - Great mission - Opportunity to work on products that will help millions of people

    Inconvénients

    - Standard hyper-growth pains - Company needs to focus more on speed

    Conseils à la direction

    - Make sure to think big and make big bets - Focus on speed

    Credit Karma2019-06-19
  8. Utile (5)

    « Amazing company with a great mission »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Software Engineer à San Francisco, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Credit Karma à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    - Profitable - Mission driven - Data driven - Uses cutting edge tech

    Inconvénients

    - Lots of growth can be tough - Space at HQ is getting tight

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep doing what we are doing. I really like it here. About to hit my 3 year mark!

    Credit Karma2019-04-13
  9. Utile (4)

    « fintech company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Software Engineer à San Francisco, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Credit Karma à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    people are nice, and WLB is good

    Inconvénients

    tech is week, and leadership teams has little tech background/insight

    Conseils à la direction

    bring more tech talent into eng leadership team

    Credit Karma2019-04-22
  10. Utile (9)

    « Weak Engineering talent »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Engineer 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Credit Karma à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    The office space is great. The pay wasn’t bad and the benefits are decent. It has a brand name that is highly recognized and it has lot of potential for growth.

    Inconvénients

    I was excited to be involved with the data engineering and data science teams. But the more involved I got the more I realized that it’s mix of shockingly average to bad engineers and data scientists. I think it all starts with the hiring process. The bad ones who got in early continued working to higher positions and the people they hired continued the tradition of bad engineers. I also don’t think they are... handling the post-startup growth stage very well. I know at least couple of other people who left because of how badly the data team was managed.

    Dérouler
    Credit Karma2019-04-12
169 avis trouvés