Avis sur Cengage | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Cengage

Mis à jour le 15 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

1273 avis trouvés

4.0
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
78%
Recommandent à un ami
89%
Approuvent le PDG
Cengage CEO Michael Hansen
Michael Hansen
736 évaluations
  1. Utile (1)

    « Aggressively Transitioning Its Business »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Cengage is committed to an aggressive transition away from traditional educational publishing to student-focused technology based learning provider. As a result, it is a receptive environment for young technology focused professionals. Anyone with experience in Learning Management Systems, Adaptive Learning, Educational App Development, Instructional Design etc... will be valued and have an opportunity to progress. Cengage Learning was very good to me and I enjoyed my time there.

    Inconvénients

    The educational marketplace is in turmoil with textbook sales plummeting, Cengage Learning, along with its competitors, continues to undergo major cost reduction efforts as it manages its transition to a technology company. As a result, there are periodic cycles of significant layoffs as it reduces its focus on traditional publishing and it continues to outsourcing many functions.

    Cengage2017-01-12
  2. « Cengage review »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer-II 

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein

    Avantages

    Wednesday Company sponsored lunches are great

    Inconvénients

    Education sector, so salaries are not that high

    Cengage2019-09-16
  3. « Working At Cengage »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software QA Engineer 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Friendly work environment Varied and interesting projects

    Inconvénients

    Lots of changes in the industry

    Cengage2019-09-13
  4. « Great Company, Better People. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Business Analyst 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Cengage is consistently rated one of the best places to work and it's clear to see why... Good benefits, a focus in employee well-being, and people who are invested in your professional and personal success.

    Inconvénients

    None to report so far.

    Cengage2019-09-11
  5. « Great working environment and even better work culture »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Platform Engineer à Clifton Park, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Management is transparent, encourages professional growth and will assist however they can. I have never worked at a company with a better work culture. Everyone is extremely helpful! Extremely positive team environment!

    Inconvénients

    Feel as though there could be more training class

    Cengage2019-09-11
  6. « No other culture and environment like it »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Learning Consultant à Independence, KY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    You won't find another company that makes you feel like family on your first day of work. The entire culture and environment is the number one pro about Cengage. The training and expectations are superb and the help that is all around is always willing to work together as a team to achieve goals. Cengage will motivate you to do your best for not only Cengage but yourself. They help you learn quick and you will never be scared to ask questions.

    Inconvénients

    There are no cons working at Cengage in Independence!

    Cengage2019-09-11
  7. Utile (24)

    « Wolves in Sheep's Clothing »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Manager 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Fairly flexible schedules & remote working - depending on direct manager. Meeting highly educated and passionate people (senior management not included). Good place to work short term to learn the industry basics under high profile brand. Some genuine people who work hard and are a pleasure to work with, strong network. Moved to a cushy Seaport location.

    Inconvénients

    Endless and meaningless reorganizations with zero transparency. Catering to under performing employees instead of rewarding strong talent. Would rather pay external consultants than employees. Those with business consultant experience are treated like Gods, extra points for ivy league graduates. Very low pay for existing employees, better to leave and come back than seek promotion. Tries to disguise themselves as a tech company, but fail miserably on culture. Huge visible and destructive division between Product and Technology. Senior management is overpaid and out of touch with employees. Not enough women in senior management roles and making strategic decisions. Meetings about meetings to schedule meetings to discuss meetings within meetings for meetings. Sub-par process, weak tools, and failing operations leading to sub-par products - faster and cheaper always wins. Terrible open office concept that is about saving money, nothing to do with collaboration.

    Continuer à lire
    Cengage2019-08-21

    Réponse de Cengage

    August 28, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your service during the past 5+ years. I agree, we do have many extremely passionate people who work at Cengage and do amazing things for students, globally, every day. As we continue to make changes to transform our company and disrupt an industry to benefit students, it is important that we are open to candid feedback like yours. While there is a lot here that I would challenge, it is fair to say that our fast-changing environment is not for everybody. I wish you the best of luck in your next endeavor.

    Continuer à lire
  8. Utile (1)

    « Great Place to Work! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Tbd à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    You work with a number of very smart and driven people that are passionate about what the company is doing--benefiting the lives of millions of learners. Flexible working hours and a good work-life balance Great culture where creativity is encouraged Cengage really is a place where your voice is heard and you can make an impact

    Inconvénients

    There are still some improvements to be made with the company's benefits and also adjusting internal equity issues, especially in the tech space. The company needs to be more competitive with compensation in order to hire and retain top tech talent they need to get to the next level.

    Continuer à lire
    Cengage2019-08-21
  9. Utile (5)

    « Miss the old times »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Legal à Mason, OH
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cengage à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Good people, nice locations. Benefits.

    Inconvénients

    Poor management who never trusted experience

    Cengage2019-08-30
  10. Utile (2)

    « It was an ok company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Consultant 
    Ne recommande pas

    J'ai travaillé chez Cengage à temps plein

    Avantages

    Schedule and free time that you have

    Inconvénients

    Leadership and a lot of things

    Cengage2019-09-03
1273 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer