Avis sur 2U | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur 2U

Mis à jour le 13 nov. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

3.7
66%
Recommandent à un ami
82%
Approuvent le PDG
2U CEO Chip Paucek
Chip Paucek
400 évaluations
  1. Utile (12)

    « Toxic environment and culture of fear at the Toronto office! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Admissions Coordinator à Toronto, ON
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez 2U à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Absolutely nothing positive to say about my experience.

    Inconvénients

    I worked at 2U as an Admissions Coordinator for several months. It was the worst professional experience of my career! • In the few months I worked at 2U, I saw 8 employees quit or get fired. An average of 2 per month. People are in fear of their job! • Admissions is made to feel horrible when they don't hit their enrolment numbers. Calls are recorded and played back to the entire office and advisors are... singled out and criticized in front of everyone. • We were micromanaged and treated like children. We were also forced to attend multiple review meetings each week. During these meetings we were asked to explain what we are doing right down to the minute. • There is no HR at the Toronto office. HR is entirely outsourced to a 3rd party. They are never at the office, and they have not been present for any firings. • The office itself is terrible. The carpets are dirty, bathrooms are disgusting, and the office is right above a children's daycare. The noise is really annoying. We are also forced to clean because Trilogy is too cheap to hire a cleaning crew. • 2U let go of 67 people last month, and there is talk of more layoffs. • The Toronto 2U team is treated like an afterthought. The Toronto team doesn't enjoy the same advantages as the American teams like tuition reimbursement, snacks, matching contributions, travel reimbursement, and other perks. • There was no handbook for the first few months of opening, so company policies were handled by word of mouth or email. Several people were fired during this time, without understanding the rules and guidelines. • Canada's regulations are not followed. We were expected to work statutory holidays without receiving holiday pay. 2U should be reported to the labour board.

    Dérouler
    2U2019-11-02
  2. Utile (41)

    « Stay Away »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez 2U à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Unlimited PTO Relaxed dress code Free snacks

    Inconvénients

    2U's story is a classic one of what happens when an company values growth over profit for far too long and then realizes they have no actual path to a productive bottom line. If you follow any of whats happened to WeWork, this is essentially the same thing. If you are seriously considering taking a job here please do your research first and take a look at what has happened to the stock price over the last year.... Shares dropping from $90/share to $12/share in a 6 month period is absolutely unheard of despite how much 2U tries to normalize what happened. This financial fallout caused mass layoffs of some of the most critically important positions/employees that worked there. The CEO Chip tried to argue that the stock price had nothing to do with the layoffs but that is simply not true. If the stock hadn't dropped would you have still sacked 70+ people? Probably not. In addition to all of this, the company has been doing everything in it's power to float the stock price including C suite's buying up as much as they can, and recently handing out options to everyone still employed there. Oh also, theres multiple lawsuits out against the company right now for misleading investors.. The layoff itself was debilitating to the org and I'll be surprised if they ever fully recover from a morale and culture standpoint. Not to mention they have much more work to do now with much less of a workforce. What I found to be the most shocking about the whole thing was that the COO admitted to the fact that because 2U did such a god awful job at training and developing middle management, they had to let them all go. On top of this revelation, during the all company call later that day the CEO assured everyone that despite the layoffs nobody should worry because they will still be hosting the annual Halloween party. I truly cannot think of a worse thing for him to say in that moment, but it certainly gives you insight into his priorities. This company has been so severely financially mismanaged that they are still pouring $15 million+ into annual company meetings and parties, yet mass layoffs seemed to be the only option to get things back on track. If you really do your research you'll also find that this same CEO already has 2 failed businesses behind him, which he oddly pretends to cry about in front of the entire org on a regular basis when recounting the stories of his past and having to lay people off previously. Funny how history has repeated itself yet again... It's clear that he truly has no idea what he's doing and should not be trusted with the professional livelihoods of thousands of people. There is so much more to the story here than just what's happened in 2019. I don't have the space to put it all in writing but I encourage you to read all the Glassdoor reviews and news articles (including lawsuits) from the past few months and you'll get a glimpse of the big picture. Essentially, this place has been running on fear and a lack of strategic planning for quite some time. I can only speak to how Admissions operated and everything about the way recruiting works in that department is morally corrupt, they claim to be student first but nothing could be further from the truth. Admissions Counselors are given goals that leadership deems "aggressively achievable" (there is no real logic that goes into goaling, and most goals have to be adjusted after the cohort ends) and then put on a performance management plan if they don't hit that goal. A few things to note here- PMP plans do not work (look it up), it creates a culture of fear and forces employees to have 1 foot out the door. There were multiple times that I heard VP and above leadership say "the only reward you get for hitting your goal is keeping your job". Also, putting someones employment on the line for how effectively they can convince a prospect to take out a mountain of student debt is immoral and should be considered illegal. A few of the people I managed (and myself) had to actually seek therapy because of the stress this job caused us. My favorite part about all of this is that the head of Admissions was given a golden parachute of a new position right before the carnage of this department happened, and he was completely silent during all of it. The leadership in this department and company should be ashamed of themselves for the way they've led people astray (students, universities and employees) and truly hurt the well being of those who work for you. My biggest piece of advice is to stay as far away from this place as possible. If you really want to work in higher ed theres plenty of other companies out there to go after. Especially those considering a role in Admissions, go find a sales job where you can actually make commission and sell a product that doesn't contribute to the impending economic collapse of this country. By the way I'm not a disgruntled employee that was laid off, I left of my own choosing when I saw the ship starting to sink. I also waited almost 2 months to write this review because I wanted to carefully choose my thoughts and language.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Get rid of the CEO Take goals out of Admissions or take away PMP plans Learn how to actually live out the values you so proudly advertise Treat people like humans not just numbers Figure out how to pay your sales people fairly

    2U2019-10-25
  3. « Good corporate gig »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Student Advisor à Denver, CO
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    So much of this company depends on what team you are on. I love my team. I started in admissions and hated it but moved to this department and am very happy here.

    Inconvénients

    I've been here for about 1.5 years and have seen the company continue to grow. I feel like I work for a full blown corporation at this point. Metrics, blanket policies etc.

    2U2019-11-12
  4. Utile (10)

    « Was sad to be let go due to the company benefits »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Director of Admissions 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez 2U à temps plein plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    The people surrounding you every day, the work-life balance, the benefits, paid parental leave

    Inconvénients

    Quick advancement without training causing animosity among a younger working staff. Hush-Hush at the top despite guiding principle of being candid, open and honest. Lack of support from key stakeholders when things really got touch. School partnerships strained by off-target enrollment goals. Finance department creating goals for admissions teams when they are so out of touch of what is actually happening in the... program space. Lay-offs of all admissions directors back in September without notice or warning, and a lack of communication provided to the members on those teams.

    Dérouler
    2U2019-11-13
  5. Utile (11)

    « Intent Over Impact? »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Director of Admissions à Lanham, MD
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez 2U à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    The pros I experienced occurred before the stock drop and the massive layoff (and consequent lack of transparency).

    Inconvénients

    At a recent department-wide meeting, the white man who runs the department told the hundreds of people who report to him that he doesn't think before he speaks and that they must assume he has good intent. In this same meeting, he said that he hadn't noticed that the recent layoff and re-org had left only one person of color in leadership from the director level upwards, but he hasn't seen a problem with it so far.... Wow! Impact over intent is the basic principle of DEI, and making these statements publicly, especially as a person of privilege, is alarming. 2U should pay attention to training their senior leadership in DEI and emotional intelligence, but if relying on outside resources, should not employ the same consulting group that they used to re-org the staff, as this group failed to account for the importance of diversity when recommending its cuts.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Your students and school partners will only be hurt if you do not address diversity and EQ issues in your senior staff.

    2U2019-11-09
  6. Utile (8)

    « Navigating Choppy Waters »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Admissions Counselor 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    - Competitive salaries for higher ed space - Approachable leadership - Growth opportunities for those that make a point to stand out - Friendly coworkers - On-site gym, cafeteria, and coffee bar - Fun company events and generous PTO policy - Mission driven: genuinely achieves high-level outcomes for students and partner universities

    Inconvénients

    - Complicated business model in a volatile space that is subject to a lot of scrutiny from both the public and political arenas - Clumsy handling of change management (several influential and beloved Admissions leaders hastily let go without apparent anticipation of negative morale ripple effect that has since followed) - Inefficient practices and shortcuts/workarounds as commonly implemented strategies - With a... few exceptions, not many inspiring, thoughtful leaders remain within the Admissions department

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Take time to understand what contributions your individual employees are making; specifically those who are passionate about the business and leading in ways that positively shape culture, motivate people to come to work, and inspire others to bring their best to the job every day. As it stands, there’s currently an apparent communication breakdown at the Director/VP level, and the future is unclear in the eyes of... the majority of those in the Admissions department. Optimism once abounded. Now, uncertainty and anxiety is the prevailing sentiment. There is still the possibility of a very bright future ahead, but it hinges on how leadership chooses to navigate this very volatile time in the company’s journey.

    Dérouler
    2U2019-10-15
  7. « Great place »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Student Success Advisor à Lanham, MD
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Environment, relationships, fulfilling work, and cool office space

    Inconvénients

    Lack of diversity in leadership

    Conseils à la direction

    Higher more people that look like their diverse employees.

    2U2019-11-04
  8. « Fascinating people, work that moves me »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Career Coach à Lanham, MD
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Working here is like walking into a networking event filled with people from every industry you could imagine who all turn when you walk in the room and have a genuine, welcoming smile on their faces so your anxiety melts away. Before working here I wondered if I would fit in at a tech company coming from positions in non-profit and international development, and yet I feel like I truly belong. While here I've... worked with former pastors, executive coaches, veterans, higher ed experts, Mandarin linguists turned data scientists and DJs. Not to mention the fascinating lives my colleagues lead outside of our work hours - seriously, we need a section on our website just for that. I've never worked somewhere before where the employees represent such a diversity of life experiences and where my ideas and suggestions are truly celebrated. From our business resource networks where I can engage as a participant and ally to sharing ideas on my team with a manager who really listens to me and cares. This all in addition to the tuition reimbursement program where I can purse my doctorate while continuing to work full time - something I wouldn't have been able to do if I wasn't working here and that will transform the trajectory of my career. Oh, and fully paid parental leave and a ramp-up to re-entering work when I came back after having a child? That was incredible and allowed me to actually enjoy my leave (and newborn!) because I didn't have to worry about paying for my bills while recovering. Better yet? If I don't agree with a policy or initiative, I feel like I'm in a safe space where I can share constructive feedback on how to change them. I've done that and seen changes happen as a result. It feels good to be seen and heard.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    I work on a small team that can feel limited in terms of growth. While the north star of the company hasn't wavered since I joined, middle management has made many shifts and that can be disconcerting (though in my experience has led to necessary changes).

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep listening! Let's apply more of human-centered design approach to new initiatives and make sure those who will be implementing new projects are engaged from the beginning in product design/development.

    2U2019-10-30
  9. « #NoBackRow - Proud 2Ute »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Cape Town
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez 2U à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    - Great company culture - High energy work environment - Great perks (gym + gym classes, in-house barista, complimentary courses, parties, medical aid) - Flexibility - Professional development is a priority - Ongoing support from team and leaders - Many health initiatives - Generous leave - Shuttle service between the campuses - International exposure and interesting work - Opportunities to travel... abroad

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    - salaries are not market related / competitive - there isn't a provident fund

    Conseils à la direction

    2U Cape Town is a fantastic place to work, however I suggest the following: - monetary benefits (13th cheque, provident fund) - competitive salaries that are aligned to the expertise required for the role While gym classes, courses and events are great perks, salaries (mid-level in particular) are not competitive in relation to the level of experience and education required for roles, and considering that Cape... Town has an extremely high cost of living in comparison to other cities in South Africa (i.e. Johannesburg).

    Dérouler
    2U2019-10-28
  10. Utile (9)

    « Admissions »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Director of Admissions 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez 2U à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    The people, good culture, great gym in the MD HQ with free classes.

    Inconvénients

    Lack of proper training for leadership, especially since the layoffs which wiped out their most tenured staff and left many first time managers in charge of very complex teams without additional pay.

    Conseils à la direction

    The executive leadership team needs to rebuild the company's business model, which recently suffered from the strain of competitors and a shifting market. They should adhere to their own motto of being "candid, open, and honest" and provide as much transparency to their employees as possible in order to keep the culture intact.

    2U2019-10-23
513 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer