Avis sur University of Derby UK | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur University of Derby UK

Mis à jour le 10 juil. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

61 avis trouvés

3.0
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
36%
Recommandent à un ami
30%
Approuvent le PDG
University of Derby UK CEO Chris Hughes
Chris Hughes
14 évaluations
  1. "Researcher"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Researcher à Derby, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez University of Derby UK à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Good working environment and nice people.

    Inconvénients

    I don't really see any cons

    University of Derby UK2019-02-27
  2. "Research Assistant"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 

      Je travaille chez University of Derby UK à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

      Avantages

      Great ties to industry local and international.

      Inconvénients

      Some of the campuses are located a distance away.

      University of Derby UK2019-02-26
    • Utile (3)

      "Absolutely worst place ever to work"

      ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      • Équilibre travail/vie privée
      • Culture et valeurs
      • Opportunités de carrière
      • Rémunération et avantages
      • Équipe dirigeante
      Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
      Ne recommande pas
      Point de vue négatif
      Pas d'avis sur le PDG

      J'ai travaillé chez University of Derby UK à temps plein moins d'un an

      Avantages

      there really is nothing in the world that would make me recommend this place to my worst enemy

      Inconvénients

      Lack of resources, bullying and beyond unprofessional do not work here

      Conseils à la direction

      Be honest that your cultural transformation programme is window dressing and you are just not ready for the changes you need to make

      University of Derby UK2019-03-22
    • "Employee Reviews"

      ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      • Équilibre travail/vie privée
      • Culture et valeurs
      • Opportunités de carrière
      • Rémunération et avantages
      • Équipe dirigeante
      Employé actuel - Electronics Technician à Derby, Angleterre
      Recommande
      Point de vue positif
      Approuve le PDG

      Je travaille chez University of Derby UK à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

      Avantages

      It's challenging but a great place to work

      Inconvénients

      If a member of the team leaves, their work is offloaded on to the others in the team and it takes a while to recruit a new staff member

      University of Derby UK2019-01-10
    • Utile (2)

      "Under Valued"

      ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      • Équilibre travail/vie privée
      • Culture et valeurs
      • Opportunités de carrière
      • Rémunération et avantages
      • Équipe dirigeante
      Employé actuel - Administrative Assistant à Derby, Angleterre
      Ne recommande pas
      Point de vue positif
      Pas d'avis sur le PDG

      Je travaille chez University of Derby UK à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

      Avantages

      The team are friendly and supporting

      Inconvénients

      Management are terrible leaders who do not know how to delegate. Processes are incredibly bureaucratic

      Conseils à la direction

      Hire leaders in management positions that actually have people skills.

      University of Derby UK2018-11-20
    • "Student Representative"

      ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
        Ancien employé - Employé anonyme à Derby, Angleterre
        Recommande
        Approuve le PDG

        J'ai travaillé chez University of Derby UK à temps partiel moins d'un an

        Avantages

        A nice academic environment full of professional people

        Inconvénients

        There are no cons to talk about

        University of Derby UK2018-11-01
      • Utile (2)

        "Friendly team, but no stability and staff are overworked."

        ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
        • Équilibre travail/vie privée
        • Opportunités de carrière
        • Rémunération et avantages
        Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
        Ne recommande pas
        Pas d'avis sur le PDG

        Je travaille chez University of Derby UK à temps partiel depuis moins d'un an

        Avantages

        Friendly team (though this doesn't seem to be consistent across the University). Good opportunities for in-house training and development. Free use of the Unibus service. Discounts with some local businesses. The Kedleston Road site is in a convenient location with good transport links.

        Inconvénients

        Poor approach to complaints/conflict resolution. Staff are overworked as a result of regular cuts. Managers/supervisors are unable to provide adequate support because of the cuts. No stability due to the ongoing restructure in one area; almost all recently advertised admin vacancies are on fixed term contracts. Few opportunities for progression as a result of regular cuts and short contracts.

        Conseils à la direction

        Provide appropriate support for overworked staff and departments; don't reduce team sizes if the size of the workload will stay the same. Take a more effective approach to conflict resolution - issues shouldn't escalate to a point where a supervisor feels scared to approach the root of the problem. Consider ways of improving job security for staff at all levels.

        University of Derby UK2018-10-08
      • Utile (6)

        "Stressful work environment, little communication but friendly team"

        ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
        • Équilibre travail/vie privée
        • Culture et valeurs
        • Opportunités de carrière
        • Rémunération et avantages
        • Équipe dirigeante
        Employé actuel - Administrator (the Registry) à Derby, Angleterre
        Ne recommande pas
        Point de vue négatif
        Pas d'avis sur le PDG

        Je travaille chez University of Derby UK à depuis moins d'un an

        Avantages

        -Nearly all staff are friendly and helpful -Good training before job and during job

        Inconvénients

        -Little care or support for mental health issues caused by work stress -Overworked and too much work -Criticised for wanting more challenging work or asking questions about processes and why the department made the decisions they did -Offered progression to senior role 1 day. 1 day later I was offered the same role but with a reduction in pay. -Office politics with management - lots of in groups in management -Often...

        Dérouler

        Conseils à la direction

        Please pay attention to what the staff are unhappy about. Pay attention to when staff are obviously stressed and overworked - do not ignore this, do not suggest that they just get on with it.

        University of Derby UK2018-09-23
      • "Student focused organisation"

        ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
        • Équilibre travail/vie privée
        • Culture et valeurs
        • Opportunités de carrière
        • Rémunération et avantages
        Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 

        J'ai travaillé chez University of Derby UK à temps partiel

        Avantages

        There's an admirable and deep-rooted culture of trying to help and support all students, regardless of course, background or specific needs. I also had excellent relations with line management, and they were flexible and supportive when my circumstances required temporary changes to my hours and conditions. I would also recommend 'term time only' roles for jobseekers looking for positions that can fit around existing...

        Dérouler

        Inconvénients

        My role was 'term time only' and my wage expectations, based on the salary information in the original job advert, did not reflect the reality that arrived in my pay packet every month. If you are offered a 'term time only' role with the university and have never worked this way before, discuss the salary details before you start. Personal development opportunities were also limited in my role.

        Conseils à la direction

        For new 'term time only' roles, be clear about the salary new employees are likely to receive each month. The job I applied for used a general ‘pro-rata’ figure in the original ad that did reflect the reality in my wage packet. I would also recommend providing more training opportunities for staff working in 'term time only' and part-time roles, as I believe this would help with personal development and morale.

        University of Derby UK2018-08-29
      • "Student Experience"

        ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
          Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 

          Je travaille chez University of Derby UK à temps plein

          Avantages

          Positive, encouraging, small community atmosphere

          Inconvénients

          not as high on the official league tables

          University of Derby UK2018-08-13
        61 avis trouvés