Avis sur ThoughtWorks | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur ThoughtWorks

Mis à jour le sept. 16, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

1131 avis trouvés

4.3
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
89%
Recommandent à un ami
96%
Approuvent le PDG
ThoughtWorks CEO Guo Xiao
Guo Xiao
399 évaluations
  1. « Work with the Greatest Mind »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Lead Consultant à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez ThoughtWorks à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    You have the opportunities to work with some great minds in the industries on some of the coolest projects. Compensation and benefits are great! Employee retention rate is out of this world

    Inconvénients

    If you have kids and family, 100% travel is not ideal, or you might have to relocate to big cities like NYC so you have enough local projects And there is no annual bonus, they instead pay a little bit more on annual salary

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep P3 seriously and you will keep attract the great talents

    ThoughtWorks2018-09-14
  2. « Leading agile consultancy, aspiring to do more »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez ThoughtWorks à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    You get to work on challenging projects, with strong teammates from around the world.

    Inconvénients

    You may have to travel extensively, depending on your home office and the varying client load.

    Conseils à la direction

    Find more ways to support remote work. Lead on this.

    ThoughtWorks2018-08-09
  3. Utile (2)

    « TW »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
     à Toronto, ON
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif

    J'ai travaillé chez ThoughtWorks à plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Great people, travel, little structure/management

    Inconvénients

    Sometimes toxic culture, ambiguity, not great clients, very little opportunity for growth if you aren't a developer

    ThoughtWorks2016-04-01
  4. Utile (1)

    « Good intentions, variable execution »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Developer 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    J'ai travaillé chez ThoughtWorks à temps plein

    Avantages

    Some of the smartest people I have met work for Thoughtworks. There are also plenty of motivated people who have interests outside of their specific job. Discussion of social issues is encouraged, which is very refreshing for a tech company. They are very considerate when it comes personal matters. New grad training is in India and paid, which is excellent.

    Inconvénients

    The traveling lifestyle is not for me. The culture is sometimes too strong and can come off as being dogmatic. There are lots of opinionated people so disagreements can arise, though are usually handled fairly well.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep striving for thoughtfulness and transparency. Overall management has been pretty good, but issues arise when decisions are made and the process has not been transparent enough. This is especially true for individual cases rather than big, company wide changes. It is also true when there seems to be too much subjectivity and the opinions/biases of one person has a disproportionate affect on their career path.

    ThoughtWorks2015-09-01
  5. Utile (2)

    « Technologist »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez ThoughtWorks à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    The real reason to work at ThoughtWorks is the people. Even after over a decade with the company, I have to say the majority of the people here are decent human beings trying to do the right thing. A new hire recently described ThoughtWorks as "like coming home" and that really resonates with me too. Even after a decade, the highly technical core of the company is still here. It's the reason I joined -- all my... friends came here, people I respected, it was just the place to be. And that hasn't changed, although the "how" of doing software well is still evolving. It's not just hardcore technical stuff, there's a bunch of pushing the envelope around process with things like Continuous Delivery. And if you look at the newest things -- Lean Enterprise springs to mind -- the "how" of doing software in an increasingly technological world is right where we play. I like that we have a real agenda around social change. It's not the usual SCR crap with a tiny amount invested, we literally put a double digit percentage of our revenue directly into making the world a better place. Hospital systems in developing countries, an Ebola treatment app for a quarantine zone, a system to help refugee kids find their families. Significant stuff done in a very meaningful way.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The easy stuff: You can get more money elsewhere, you can get a job that doesn't require you to travel elsewhere, you can probably get a more defined career path elsewhere. More nuanced: Anyone who says that we're a "flat" organization hasn't really been here very long -- we're human, like everyone else, and we build networks, we have favorites, we make mistakes. There's implicit hierarchy. Some of my friends... and colleagues have been frustrated that we aren't perfect, but I think it's better for us to admit we're not rather than sell people a line. At the end of the day, it's a job, it's not perfect, but that's why we get paid to do it.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    I think we should stay the course. We've done something very difficult, which is to ride the line between making money and trying to be decent human beings. I think we succeed in that more often than we fail. I think our impact in the world is significant, both in the technology space and beyond. I also think we need to strive to continue to be competitive. The world is changing, the nature of work is changing,... we need to change too. It's very common for folks to leave and cite "travel" as the reason, and I think we need to redouble our efforts there. Do we really always need to be on the ground with our clients? Are there other models? Can we get there faster?

    Dérouler
    ThoughtWorks2015-04-28
  6. « Software Developer »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Principal Consultant à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez ThoughtWorks à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Working at ThoughtWorks has been an absolutely amazing experience. I've worked shoulder to shoulder with the brightest minds in technology today, met and worked with my heroes, and travelled the world (India, Africa, US, Canada), all while solving amazingly interesting, super tough challenges with exciting technologies.

    Inconvénients

    Travel is often amazing, but sometimes a drawback. If you're willing to travel for ThoughtWorks however, it opens up your career to the global market, which really increases the quality of the work you have access to.

    ThoughtWorks2015-04-28
  7. Utile (3)

    « Grad Software Developer »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
     
    Ne recommande pas

    Je travaille chez ThoughtWorks à

    Avantages

    Interesting work and a cool company

    Inconvénients

    Bad experience with interview process

    ThoughtWorks2015-03-09
  8. Utile (10)

    « Interesting place but has a lot of issues »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Senior Software Consultant 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez ThoughtWorks à

    Avantages

    I worked with some great and even a few exceptional people, learned a lot, had some fun times, some nice benefits, great way to see/hear about different areas of the software business.

    Inconvénients

    It can be vaguely cultish, you are pretty much expected to LOVE Thoughtworks and be 100% on board with their way of doing things. Especially when it comes to Agile ideas, lots of dogma here. They are constantly pushing how great it is to work at TW, this really bugged me after a few months. Lots of corporate politics, they claim they are above them but in some ways they are as bad or worse than their corporate... clients. There are also quite a few people around who have been with the company for a long time and form an 'in crowd', how well you do in the company has a lot to do with how how good your relationship is with those people. This can mean the difference between getting a raise, promotion, good work assignment or not. Feels very Frat house like and not in a good way. Thoughtworks markets themselves both externally and internally as being an elite company with top developers. As a result of this the are quite a few people with very inflated egos who make sure everyone else knows how great they are. If you ask the wrong question or like the 'wrong' technology they will belittle you. Think obnoxious people on forums, IRC, etc, it can be bad. The pay is not that great, they expect you to work longs hours and go over and above for the company without compensation. Getting stuck on a weekly flight commute sucks, a 4 hour flight every Monday at 6 am and Thursday at 9 pm gets miserable fast. The travel can be fun but few people enjoy it for more than 6 months to a year. Developer turnover is high, a lot of unhappy people, I have never worked for a company with such a high level of employee misery. There is a weird contrast where you have people who are very positive and then people who are miserable and sometimes the same person will display both depending on the situation. That can happen anywhere but at TW it is on a whole new level and comes with the consulting territory I guess.

    Dérouler
    ThoughtWorks2015-03-23
  9. « A great first software development job »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Developer 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez ThoughtWorks à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    There are plenty of talented and passionate people here to learn from. They have offices all around the world and can be good about letting you transfer. If you show initiative they like helping you move into positions with more responsibility. The company structure is relatively flat so you don't have to deal with people whose sole purpose is to climb the ladder.

    Inconvénients

    TW is good but not all of the clients are, so you could end up on an awful project. People there say that there's a very openminded, transparent culture and it's not completely untrue but it seemed to me that you'd better share everyone's general opinion or keep quiet. The pay relative to how much you get billed out to clients for can be bad.

    ThoughtWorks2014-06-05
  10. Utile (1)

    « A company which truly values humans more than profit. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Consultant 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez ThoughtWorks à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Great benefits, competitive salaries, encouragement and support to travel to other countries if you want to. Some of the best technical people in the industry. A CEO and President who really care about you. Actively trying to target 'aligned' clients e.g. Charities, NGOs etc.

    Inconvénients

    Not a lot spent on training, though you are encouraged and supported to grow, in your own time. Travel and hours (especially in North America) can be long, may not suit people with families.

    Conseils à la direction

    Some more transparency on expenses, there is a feeling that some people take the p*ss while others martyr themselves.

    ThoughtWorks2013-02-22
1131 avis trouvés