Avis sur The Institute of Cancer Research | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur The Institute of Cancer Research

Mis à jour le 17 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

3.5
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
59%
Recommandent à un ami
72%
Approuvent le PDG
The Institute of Cancer Research CEO Paul Workman
Paul Workman
13 évaluations
  1. « Great work environment »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - HSO à Londres, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez The Institute of Cancer Research à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Great work environment and up-to-date scientific equipment and techniques

    Inconvénients

    Little career progression apart from the post-doc track

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-09-17
  2. « Great »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Clinical Trial Assistant 

    J'ai travaillé chez The Institute of Cancer Research à temps partiel

    Avantages

    Friendly staff and good atmosphere

    Inconvénients

    There were none to note

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-07-24
  3. « Cold and academic with poor transport links »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Scientific Officer à Sutton, London, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez The Institute of Cancer Research à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    The ICR has its own bar onsite.

    Inconvénients

    Trickle down management, poor transport links and individual teams stick to themselves.

    Conseils à la direction

    none

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-07-04
  4. « Great environment and good place for knowledge sharing »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 

    Je travaille chez The Institute of Cancer Research à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Relaxed environment, good place to know professionals and share knowledge, great pension scheme, flexible hours.

    Inconvénients

    Salary a bit underpaid compared to other institutes/universities

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-05-23
  5. « No Guidance Given, but High Standards Expected »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Rémunération et avantages
    Employé actuel - PhD Student à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez The Institute of Cancer Research à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    The work environment is very friendly, and many opportunities for conferences, travel, and collaboration.

    Inconvénients

    I was put to work in a highly disruptive work environment with no consideration for health and safety. When I discussed this with my supervisor, the only space I could be given completely isolated me from my team and most days, other people. The isolation and the lack of guidance have been terrible for both my learning and my mental health.

    Conseils à la direction

    If a PI wants to take on a PhD student, ensure they have appropriate space for the type of work. If a student is not handling biomaterials, they should not be sat in a lab.

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-05-21
  6. « Top place for PhD! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez The Institute of Cancer Research à temps plein

    Avantages

    -Freedom -Student community -Lots of courses -Seminars -Making friends

    Inconvénients

    -time pressure, students often confused,

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-02-09
  7. Utile (1)

    « Great facilities, be careful who you work for »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez The Institute of Cancer Research à temps plein

    Avantages

    The facilities on offer are amazing and the pay is excellent

    Inconvénients

    Can be let down by poor management and big egos

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-01-25
  8. « Postdoc »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Research Assistant 
    Recommande
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez The Institute of Cancer Research à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Flexible hours, remuneration, support, learning and development.

    Inconvénients

    From engineering point of view, there is not much to progress

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-01-17
  9. « Busy cancer research clinical trials unit; good experience to see development of novel cancer drugs and patient benefit. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Clinical Data Manager à Sutton, London, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez The Institute of Cancer Research à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Strong independent cancer research focus with clear values (untainted from industry financial incentives), good work-life balance, great team mentality, communication of weekly news across all areas of research via email/intranet, clear support and training opportunities for employees, performance is rewarded with commitment to promotion from within.

    Inconvénients

    Benefits typically seen in clinical trials companies (pharmaceuticals/CROs) not as great, high turnover in certain positions on an annual basis can leave areas short-staffed.

    Conseils à la direction

    Better interaction and understanding of separate departments’ work would be good, not just in upper-management positions.

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-01-05
  10. Utile (2)

    « If you're thinking of doing a PhD here, be warned »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez The Institute of Cancer Research à temps plein

    Avantages

    There are some good research teams with excellent leadership

    Inconvénients

    1. Beware of the team leaders who haven't managed to retain anyone who has worked with them in academia. This should be a massive warning sign when considering joining a lab anywhere 2. Unlike most universities, the ICR does not have a policy of a supervisory panel where a primary supervisor's advice and decisions regarding their student's work is checked regularly by another, more senior researcher with a good... track record of getting their students through their PhD. Now this may not be a problem if your primary supervisor is already an experienced scientist, or an exceptional talented and insightful young scientist with good management skills. But good luck if you end up with a self-serving and ambitious yet inexperienced scientist suffering greatly (and rightly) from insecurities because they know they've just been riding the waves generated by other people's hard work and have yet to contribute anything substantial to science themselves. Cue endless unsuccessful submissions of low quality papers trying to add useless knowledge to the world of cancer, and you being blamed for every failure. You will end up having to write your thesis in your own time because you simply won't be allowed any in the lab. 3. There is nothing anyone can really do to help you complete your PhD on time if you have the kind of supervisor described in #2. So make absolutely sure to speak directly and privately with existing members of a team if you're thinking of joining a team here. Find their work email, look them up on LinkedIn, do all you can because trust me, people in such teams will be truthful. 4. The ICR already knows who these people are, and in all realism just pays lip service to its own anti-bullying and harassment policy.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Read the reviews people leave about their line managers in the exit questionnaire, and act on them if you really want to avoid further negative press about the bullying culture at the ICR.

    The Institute of Cancer Research2019-01-14
53 avis trouvés