Avis sur Success Academy Charter Schools | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Success Academy Charter Schools

Mis à jour le Oct 14, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

690 avis trouvés

3.4
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
60%
Recommandent à un ami
65%
Approuvent le PDG
Success Academy Charter Schools CEO Eva Moskowitz  (no image)
Eva Moskowitz
422 évaluations
  1. « A challenging and worthwhile experience »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Lead Teacher 

    J'ai travaillé chez Success Academy Charter Schools à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    High bar for students, abundance of resources and materials for teachers, support built in for teachers

    Inconvénients

    Inexperienced leaders (the blind leading the blind) and stressful environment

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-02
  2. Utile (3)

    « Great community, but requires a lot of hard work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Lead Teacher 
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Success Academy Charter Schools à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    - SA's view on education is very progressive and rapidly closing the education gap within underserved communities - The kids and community as a whole are amazing to work with and are the sole reason the job is worth it - SA has top of the line technology for scholars and staff members to use - Leadership that I have been under have been very positive and supportive - The benefits SA provides are amazing and... unheard of in the education community

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    - Retention rates are very low, which leads to a multitude of new teachers every year with little to no experience in the classroom - SA doesn't appreciate/reward teachers that have certifications in education: I have a master's degree and two bachelor's degrees that are education-based and get paid the same as teachers that do not have a degree in education, let alone the subject they are teaching - Long hours... are expected for any teaching job, but SA work hours are extensive and, I believe, are the reason most teachers leave so quickly. I work about 75 hours a school week + around 8 hours on the weekends - Test prep is extensive and makes that time of year unbearable for everyone

    Dérouler
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-22

    Réponse de Success Academy Charter Schools

    October 1, 2019Founder & CEO

    Thanks for your feedback — it’s great to hear how much joy you get from your kids and community. We want our teachers to stay with us and take retention extremely seriously. We have made a number of changes this year to ensure teachers can thrive in our schools, including a longer training on-ramp for new teachers and even more individualized and targeted support from instructional leaders and mentors. We also have strengthened the support and training on self-care and time management that we provide. We offer free fitness classes at schools or nearby, free online counseling, and a robust series on self-care for teachers at the Robertson Center, our hub for teacher training and for sharing our approach with non-SA educators. Regarding time management, your commitment to your kids and your work are truly incredible, but the hours you are putting in sound unsustainable. Your managers and colleagues can very likely share ideas and strategies for achieving a more balanced schedule. We have heard from teachers who have shaved hours off their day through highly focused planning, sharing responsibilities with team members, and assigning non-instructional classroom tasks to scholars (our scholars — even high schoolers — love helping out!). Finally, we believe that ensuring our scholars are prepared to excel on external measures of performance is an equity issue: affluent parents spend thousands of dollars on tutors to prepare their children for various standardized tests and our kids deserve the same level of investment. Nevertheless, as we continuously refine our curriculum — increasing its rigor, depth, and breadth — we have been able to reduce the number of days we spend on preparation for external tests each year. This year, we also reduced the number of internal assessments in both elementary and middle school, so that our educators and scholars can spend more time engaged in rich discussion and analysis of great literature and complex mathematical problems.

    Réduire
  3. « Insane »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    Employé actuel - Associate Teacher à Brooklyn, NY
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Success Academy Charter Schools à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Benefits are great for a first job out of college

    Inconvénients

    The work environment is very high-pressure. You are asked to call parents frequently and adherence to a very punitive behavior management structure for students is mandatory. You are expected to work more than advertised, leading to high teacher turnover, which leads to children without a routine. This system is bad for children and I'm not always sure if this school is genuinely making a positive difference.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-15
  4. Utile (1)

    « 5 years and counting »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Lead Teacher à Brooklyn, NY

    Je travaille chez Success Academy Charter Schools à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Develop a lot of transferable skills that are needed in life. Job feels like you are making an impact on the community in which I was raised in. Opportunity to be developed by leaders even as a veteran teacher.

    Inconvénients

    No work life balance. Long hours, summers not long enough.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-25
  5. Utile (1)

    « Outstanding teacher and staff development! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Assistant Principal à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Success Academy Charter Schools à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Success Academy was my first teaching job out of my masters program and I am so grateful for this. The professional development you find at success is truly hard to come by. It is here that I learned more about teaching than I have throughout my undergraduate and masters degree because of the level of development Success puts into each and every teacher. Leadership is always in your classroom giving you... actionable feedback and leading you through purposeful and rich professional development sessions. You are constantly asked what your goals are and how they can best support you in achieving them. It is not an easy job. It requires grit and passion - but it is by far the most rewarding job I have ever had. I have now been with Success for 8 years and have developed into an Assistant Principal role. What I love most is that my development hasn't stopped. I am constantly supported in how I could be better. It is a job where I never feel stuck in a routine or bored. I feel challenged every day and absolutely love it. Whether you are fresh out of school or are looking to further your development, I highly recommend giving Success a try.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    It isn't an easy job and they are looking for highly motivated individuals. However, it is a job that is hard to pass up when you consider the development you will receive and the impact you can have.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-23
  6. Utile (5)

    « Culture of fear driven by top leadership, who does not prioritize mission. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Success Academy Charter Schools à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Working with the kids are amazing, and depending on your community, you can have strong support and leadership that protects and promotes you. Usually good avenues for quick promotion and opportunity to take on more responsibility.

    Inconvénients

    Network office recently subjected to major reorganization and layoffs, which means that a lot of the people that managed operations and curricula work is gone. There is not a plan to properly staff up so schools are not getting the support they need. Even before the changes, Success is driven a culture of fear and punitiveness. Leadership is highly involved in lower level work and any mistakes are scrutinized and... amplified. There are major safety issues with scholar health and information, the current CRM has tons of issues and does not work, which complicated tons of data for schools. Major overwork culture where work and life balance is not prioritized. You’ll be regularly coming earlier and staying past working hours, and inability to do so will hurt you informally.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Executive leadership is making policy and structural decisions that are not the best for kids and families. Be equity driven in your work.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-05
  7. Utile (1)

    « Rewarding work with continuous opportunities to grow and develop »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Assistant Principal 

    Je travaille chez Success Academy Charter Schools à temps plein

    Avantages

    Success Academy students and families are wonderful. At SA, you get to work with dedicated families and curious children who partner with us everyday to reverse the achievement gap. While the students and their families are the primary factor that keeps me coming back year after year, there are plenty of other pros to working at Success Academy. As a teacher, your lesson plans and units are created for you by the... curriculum team at the Network office. This gives you the time to really study the units and content to make sure you understand it at a deep level to be able to teach the material to children. With that being said, the lessons are by no means scripts that you are mandated to follow. You have the resources provided to you, but also have the freedom to adjust the lesson plans as you see fit to best serve the needs of your students. Additionally, whether you are a teacher or leader, you are consistently getting feedback from your manager to improve your practice and help with your development. This organization provides amazing opportunities to impact the lives of students in NYC while also growing and developing as a professional.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    For some people, it can be an adjustment to get constant feedback everyday. Leaders are often in classrooms observing to help improve the practice of our teachers, which can be a change for teachers who come from other public schools. However, this feedback is all in the interest of improving the classroom experience for our scholars and helping to push them to be their best. Additionally, in the beginning it can be... challenging not to bring work home. As time goes on though, teachers are able to manage their time during the day and minimize the amount of work that they bring home. In my last 2 years teaching before I became an Assistant Principal I rarely brought work home with me because I was able to use my prep time well during the day.

    Dérouler
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-22
  8. Utile (1)

    « Great start to a career in education. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Lead Teacher à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Success Academy Charter Schools à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Great start for newly graduated city-folk looking for a career in education.

    Inconvénients

    Teacher and leadership retention over multiple years-which leads to inconsistent management, work-life balance

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-22
  9. Utile (1)

    « Success Academy Flatbush is the best place I've ever worked. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Dance Teacher à Brooklyn, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Success Academy Charter Schools à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Supportive Environment. We support our scholars, We support each other. Our Leaders support us. There is a mutual feeling that anything is possible and any dream is reachable. There is always someone there to help us achieve greatness. There is great opportunity and room for growth within the building and within the network. You are faced with new challenges that keep you working hard but also help you grow. I am in... love with my job and my work place.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The workload can be overwhelming if you don't have a system in place to maintain work-life balance. Once you get good at managing your time, everything becomes easier.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-22
  10. « I love my job! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Executive Assistant to the Principal à Bronx, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Success Academy Charter Schools à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Working at Success Academy has been Great. I have a leader that cares about the growth of every scholar and adult staff in the building. While working here I have been provided with the proper training and guidance to grow in my position.

    Inconvénients

    No cons for me.

    Conseils à la direction

    Provide more tools for staff on organization and on work/life balance. I believe arming people with that knowledge will help make the adjustment to Success Academy better.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-09-20
690 avis trouvés