Avis sur Spiceworks | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Spiceworks

Mis à jour le Oct 4, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

131 avis trouvés

3.6
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
66%
Recommandent à un ami
64%
Approuvent le PDG
Spiceworks CEO Jay Hallberg
Jay Hallberg
61 évaluations
  1. « Intern »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Spiceworks à

    Avantages

    Casual dress code, approachable team members, free food

    Inconvénients

    Unstable job environment, company direction unsure

    Spiceworks2016-09-21

    Réponse de Spiceworks

    January 8, 2017CEO & Co-founder

    Doesn't sound like you had a great internship. My apologies for that. It's understandable considering in the summer of 2016 we had our first layoff in 10 years (pretty remarkable as many companies have one well before that ... or they go out of business). We've stabilized and we've outlined an exciting direction for the future so I think our interns in the summer of 2017 and beyond will hopefully have a very different experience.

    Réduire
  2. « Internship »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Software Engineering Intern à Austin, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Spiceworks à

    Avantages

    -good company culture -good internship program including outings -good intern onboarding program -located in great part of Austin -had food trucks for lunch every day

    Inconvénients

    -most of the teams not super interesting -no provided lunch; had to buy at food trucks -pay reasonable but not incredible

    Spiceworks2016-10-01
  3. Utile (9)

    « Update on my experience with Spiceworks »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Spiceworks à

    Avantages

    If one thing hasn't changed over the years, it's that I still working with great, smart people. My work and life balance remain unchanged as well. At least in the development department, our time off is considered flexible and within reason. I feel very comfortable with my team and manager. I believe my manager has interest in furthering my career to the best of his/her capabilities. Despite the recent layoff,... current employees still get to enjoy the free drinks and snacks in the kitchen, the yoga/boot camp classes and other benefits. They still continue with fun company-wide events like salsa contest, field day and holiday parties. The healthcare is pretty much the same as before.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The direction of the company has changed in such a way that makes the future of the company very unclear. The strategy changes over and over, with the hopes of finding something profitable, but we have been abandoning projects that were highly invested in previously. This type of change has dissolved sometimes either completely or moved people around, possibly onto things they are not as enthusiastic about.... Echoing what others have said, the company is hardly diverse. There is some diversity in development, but the same can not be said of other departments. It's not a requirement for me, though, if we are choosing the right people to get the job done. The amount of communication from top-to-bottom is much less than before. It also seems like people are giving less effort in making information accessible or easily understandable. Some people, managers specifically, are still being over-worked with the amount of responsibilities they have. Most individuals feel like they are spread thin with the amount of projects they have. Recent departures have caused teams to be short-staffed. The pay is still below average.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    The company needs to invest more time on fixing and cleaning up the current code base before trying to pile on more features. If you want a feature to perform well, it needs to be relevant and useful to the ones using it. There were lots of little features we have wasted time implementing that are completely useless today. We should exercise quality over quantity. Managers across all departments should... exercise their authority in the same way. Better policies or training should be made to ensure that. We should be acknowledging the cons in the recent reviews and try to come up with solutions to these problems. I know most employees see these, so I would like for there to be an open discussion about these items at the company meeting(s).

    Dérouler
    Spiceworks2016-08-22
  4. Utile (41)

    « Don't Be Disillusioned... »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Spiceworks à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    The people are great so at least you’ll be unhappy with awesome people. They’re a few bad apples in each department, but for the most part you do work with some really awesome, fun people. Let’s be real though... that only goes so far. Intelligent, nice people can be found in many companies in Austin so don’t let that be your only criteria. Health insurance was actually fairly good compared to most companies.

    Inconvénients

    First off, let me save you some time... don’t read a review from 2-4 years ago and think that it holds any weight as to what the company is today. Spiceworks was extremely different back then and many of those people have left in the past year. Now, if you love gimmicks and a faux culture, then apply right away. But if you like actually having money in your pocket, look elsewhere. I’ll never forget the day when... the company announced a cereal wall would be added to the kitchen. Those who still drink the “orange kool-aid” reacted like they had just received a $5k bonus… “Hey guys, don’t worry that we don’t have 401k matching, because we have a cereal wall!” I guess it’s awesome if you eat a lot of cereal… (trust me you won’t because that thing is always empty). The office is brand new and does actually have a pretty view but the location is far from ideal (get to love 360 a lot). Mix that with the fact that there is virtually no opportunity to work from home or come in after traffic dies down (with the exception of marketing and dev, who seemingly don’t have to play by this rule), you’ll grow to hate your existence. The product isn’t very good to be honest and upper management seems confused on both how to make the product better and the direction of the company. IPO was on the horizon for a solid 2 years but that has definitely gone to the way side. Plus, there was a layoff recently, adding to the confusion on where this company is going. Vacation time is a joke. Old timers think 2 weeks is generous but anyone who is young, or just simply wants to enjoy their precious time on this earth, will grow to hate the little amount of time you get. Since Spiceworks can’t even really afford to pay as much as other companies, they should look into giving more generous time off and having a more flexible work schedule, but I don’t see that changing any time soon. Speaking of pay, a common theme seems to be that most people in any department feel underpaid. I think it’s fairly decent for a college grad but if you’re more established then don’t take a pay cut just because the culture seems “fun”. The odds of working for a bad manager are pretty high (sales and media operations seem to have the most problems). Most have no idea what they’re doing and many got the job because they just happen to have been there the longest. You’ll be frustrated with their advice and lack of knowledge, especially if you're the type that doesn’t like being micromanaged. Career growth is also a problem for many departments, something that managers don’t address very well. If you love meetings then you’ll love SW. It’s meetings galore. People always want to meet! Sometimes just to talk about an upcoming meeting. Also, there's a company wide meeting at 4:30 every Friday where people talk about what they’ve been doing all week. The meeting is intended to bring departments together with beer and wine which worked well when the company was smaller but now the company is too big for people to truly integrate/care about other departments. Once in a blue moon there will be an interesting subject, but let’s be real, we all just care that the work gets done, not an explanation on how it happened. To be honest, what company actually insists on having it’s employees stay until 5 on a Friday? You’ll be on your phone for the majority of it wishing you could leave and start your weekend. I’m sure there are some companies who don’t even focus on culture, leading many to believe that SW is the best thing to have ever happened to them. I get it, I felt special too when I was chosen after 20 seemingly endless rounds of interviews. But if you dare to even look slightly under the surface then you’ll find it’s not all it’s cracked up to be. In the end, will you survive? Sure. If you value having access to a cereal wall, a pretty view, and a cult like culture then you’ll fit right in and survive. However, if you actually want money in your pocket, career growth, freedom to work how you want, and time to travel/enjoy your life then look elsewhere.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Honestly just read above and start trying to fix those problems. The pattern is extremely clear and I can guarantee you that most Spiceworks feel the same way.

    Spiceworks2016-08-05
  5. Utile (1)

    « Great, welcoming place to work with a really innovative attitude! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Client Success Specialist 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Spiceworks à temps plein

    Avantages

    Friendly, team. Vibrant office full of ideas and enthusiasm. Great social and professional atmosphere. Strong sense of career development opportunities.

    Inconvénients

    EMEA is still a new office and there is still a limited benefits platform.

    Conseils à la direction

    Great recruitment process - helps to really understand the work ethic and know that it is the right place for you.

    Spiceworks2016-09-09
  6. Utile (1)

    « Good company, experiencing growing pains. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Spiceworks à

    Avantages

    Lots of awesome people to work with. Very flexible, they want you to learn and are willing to put you where you want to work.

    Inconvénients

    Definitely some growing pains going on, and the recent layoffs are a symptom of that.

    Spiceworks2016-09-07
  7. Utile (4)

    « Previously a five-star experience, now feels different »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Spiceworks à temps plein

    Avantages

    Of course, like every other review, I have to mention the people I work with. I can't tell you how often I've come into work with a bad morning and my team and co-workers are there to make my life just a little bit easier. Additionally, there are plenty of good snacks and coffee, I can't say I've ever been hungry working for Spiceworks. We also have great company meetings on Friday afternoons - seeing other projects... around the company really makes me value all of the hard work that my co-workers do to make Spiceworks the best it can be. Not only that, but it encourages you to go home and enjoy your weekend. I've always had a great work-life balance working here. We also just got an updated vacation policy that really does allow for us to take time off and enjoy time with family and friends.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    There are definitely some cons that I need to get into here, unfortunately. It may be because I've worked here for a while, but the rose-tinted glasses I previously wore are coming off. I don't think it has to do with the length of time I've been here, but rather with the culture itself. We've gone through structural changes (not including layoffs) and I've seen people change in the process. There's also a distinct... lack of growth that I've experienced. I grew pretty quickly into the role that I'm currently in, but it plateaued. I think the biggest thing that I have concern with is the lack of direction and structure that I personally feel. Among teams, there could be 20 different spreadsheets floating around at any given moment, and half of us have no idea how to access them. We talk about sharing access during meetings, but no one really follows through. I'm glad that we're offering transparency, but I honestly don't see the value in a multitude of Google Docs. We keep our OKRs in Google Docs and they were shared upon development, but I feel like we don't actually get updates on our progress, just random presentations about projects in our Friday meetings. (So Friday meetings can fall under both pros and cons.) Not only that, but I feel like there's a lot of pressure here. We talk about an open door policy and they encourage you to ask questions, but I would completely agree with other reviewers that a big part of working at Spiceworks really is drinking the orange Koolaid.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    I do like working here, I feel as though I've taken a great step for my career and a step in the right direction, but the lack of structure and consistency among departments creates divides. And I don't think the solution is putting everything together in a Google Doc and leaving it. I'd like consistent updates with our OKRs in company meetings, info on how projects may be in line with our OKRs, and established... growth paths within the company. It's hard to feel motivated to keep the company moving forward without knowing how we are moving ourselves forward.

    Dérouler
    Spiceworks2016-09-12
  8. « Marketing Communications Specialist »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Marketing Communications Specialist à Austin, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Spiceworks à

    Avantages

    excellent culture, great benefits, lots of opportunity to grow and sometimes transition across teams

    Inconvénients

    lots of change right now in this restructuring time, but that's to be expected

    Spiceworks2016-08-22
  9. Utile (1)

    « not going in right direction »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Spiceworks à

    Avantages

    - comp *can* be good

    Inconvénients

    - female employees treated unfairly - lack of direction - product underwhelming - dont invest in career growth for mgr or indiv contributor

    Conseils à la direction

    best of luck turning the ship around

    Spiceworks2016-09-02
  10. Utile (5)

    « Growing pains, but still a solid company at its core. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Austin, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Spiceworks à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Being surrounded by smart, dedicated people that help push and motivate you to up your game. Leadership that genuinely cares about their users, their clients, and their employees. The ability to set your own goals, determine the best way to impact the business, and then roll up your sleeves and make it happen. Loads of opportunity to shine, own programs, try new things, grow and learn.

    Inconvénients

    After years of hitting supper aggressive goals the expectations can be high, and communications and the development of processes have sometimes suffered as the employee base grew at an amazingly fast pace.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep moving forward. Keep staying transparent, and keep focused on the value that we can provide to our users and clients.

    Spiceworks2016-08-02
131 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer