Avis de Solutions Architect chez Slalom | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Solutions Architect chez Slalom

Mis à jour le Oct 11, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

1 avis trouvé

5.0
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
100%
Recommandent à un ami
Slalom CEO Wayne Ingram (no image)
Wayne Ingram
0 évaluations
  1. Utile (3)

    « What every consulting company should try to be! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Solution Architect à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Slalom is the only consulting company I have worked for or even heard of that successfully lives up to its promise of having an amazing culture and taking care of its people. As a technologist, there's nothing quite as exciting as working at an IT consulting firm. You get to continually tackle new problems using the latest and greatest technologies while solving meaningful problems for your clients. When you... combine such an exciting technical landscape with Slalom's relentless focus on employee happiness as well as a thriving startup-like company culture, well, you end up with an amazing workplace that attracts the best talent!

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Due to the rapid growth of the Toronto office, we keep outgrowing our cool space (despite multiple expansions so far). As a result, you end up with a pretty busy workspace and a heavy dependency on headphones with good music until we expand our space yet again!

    Conseils à la direction

    Every company values their customers, but few value their employees as much as you do! Keep it up, and in Richard Branson's words: "If you take care of your employees, they will take care of your customers!"

    Slalom2017-04-02

    Réponse de Slalom

    June 2, 2017Communications Manager

    It's wonderful to hear that you are feeling so fed by your work, the culture, and your colleagues at Slalom Toronto. It's true that your office is rapidly expanding; we'll have to secure more space for your office soon. Your advice to continue to value and prioritize our employees has been shared with leadership. If you’d like to share more feedback at any time, please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey. Thanks for being with Slalom!

    Réduire
  2. « Great people, good place to work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Solutions Architect à Palo Alto, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Great People, good benefits.

    Inconvénients

    Very old school office-oriented. No remote or work from home option available.

    Conseils à la direction

    Great people are everywhere, not only in the same location.

    Slalom2019-10-11
  3. Utile (14)

    « A promise unfulfilled »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Solutions Architect à Denver, CO
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Slalom à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Intentions to have great culture, lots of gatherings after work to maintain continuity, some interesting work depending on the project

    Inconvénients

    Management makes too many decisions in a vacuum that have far-reaching impact. Folks on-the-ground bringing in the coin are at the mercy of the Managing Director overseeing the project. At-a-whim you can be ripped from a project with zero warning. Horrible continuity when there is project turnover which leaves the people left behind at a severe disadvantage. When projects go off-the-rails (happens way too often)... the almighty dollar wins in nearly every case. This is not the way to build/maintain a culture and values. Oh, and you can kiss your bonus goodbye unless you are nearly 100% utilized that year-end payout will not be the nice surprise you expect.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Fire the people who are ruining the culture. You know who they are and yes they bring in some revenue but at the expense of loss-of-cultural values. Stop trying to force people together within different business units where it is clear there they do not mesh. Pay attention to attrition as I know you have lost many key people and this is beyond a numbers game. Ensure you have mature solution owners on each... project, no exceptions! Allow PALs to focus on their people and less on BD. Stop the fall into the big 5 slide that you are rocketing down today.

    Dérouler
    Slalom2019-06-27

    Réponse de Slalom

    July 1, 2019President & Co-founder, North America

    This is John Tobin. I'd be happy to talk to you more about this if you would like - simply email me at johnt@slalom.com to set up a time to speak. I'm very familiar with all our culture initiatives from an overall company perspective (vs. market specific), so would be happy to talk to you about that too. I believe Slalom is focused on hiring the right people and we are looking to maintain a consistent fit for our core values and culture - That said, we are not perfect and I agree we must diligently support the focus on this no matter how big we get. If you’d like to share more feedback anonymously, please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey.

    Réduire
  4. Utile (2)

    « Great and engaging people »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Solutions Architect à Minneapolis, MN
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Slalom is by far the most welcoming and engaging place I've worked. The people here are passionate about what they do, but are humble and approachable. There is a strong feeling that the CEO, leadership and local managers actually care about the people and their success. The company is growing quickly and there are lots of opportunities to get involved and grow your career. It's not a suit and tie, big dog, have... to watch your back culture.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The only real con is that due to the quick growth, some things can seem a bit disorganized.

    Slalom2019-06-14
  5. Utile (6)

    « Former Seattle Cross-Market Engineer's Perspective: Depending on your goals, it can be a great place to work. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Solutions Architect à Seattle, WA

    J'ai travaillé chez Slalom à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    A little about me, so there's context around why I'm rating the pros/cons the way I am: 1. Currently, my long term goal is to move towards a SME (Subject Matter Expert) role. I'm not interested in marketing, sales, travel, etc. I want to stay technical and lead a team while a project manager or someone else deals with all that other stuff. I'm loving that I'm able to continue to mentor as long as it's at a... technical level. 2. I'm an introvert that will look like an extrovert around my team, but will quickly escape large events (i.e. Fridays at Four Happy Hour, Town Halls, Quarterlies, etc). 3. I prioritize pay/benefits over annual company retreats, Christmas parties, BB-8 races, stocked snacks/drink fridges, etc. As long as I love the company/people I work with/my work, then I'm happy (and for the record, I did)! I don't need those extras because I suspect those costs will drain any extra money that could go to a salary instead. PROS 1. Work/life balance. This is a big one for many of us in consulting. Slalom has a fantastic work/life balance for the few years I was there. There was never a point where I had issues taking vacation, working from home (depending on the project/client), etc. I think there was about 2 weeks out of the whole few years I was there that I had to work over 40h because there was some emergency, but sometimes that happens. The key is that it was super rare and always met with recognition/gratitude (sometimes compensation in the form of a small spot bonus) if it was needed. 2. Project Work This one is probably in the middle, but I'll put it here since my last project with them was awesome. I think there is a decent amount of stuff to choose from to work on that you'll be able to find something interesting. Your People Manager will work with you to get you on a project that makes sense for your goals and interests. A few of the projects were boring, but some of them can also be awesome. I won't really put this on Slalom because that's just consulting in general. 3. The People (Friendly-wise) All the people at Slalom that I met were friendly. I made quite a few professional connections before I left and I'm sure I'll work with some of them again. Leadership is especially great at this (not a surprise). My People Manager was the best and truly enabled me to go after my promotions, professional goals, etc. I learned a lot while I was there, which was awesome. 4. Events/Parties/Hackathons I think it's great that Slalom puts these on. Some of them are smaller and happen more often like game nights, pizza Fridays, and the like. Some of them are larger like annual company retreat, Christmas party, Hackathons, etc. Personally, I'd prefer to not go to these. I went to a few company retreats and one Christmas party (only because my significant other wanted to). It was nice, but I would've been happy just not going. However, I'm putting it in the positives column because it's something that's offered and I'm sure that those looking at Slalom as an option will be interested.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    CONS 1. Promotions In some cases, it's not very clear what it takes to get promoted. When I was working on getting promoted from Senior Engineer to Solution Architect, it wasn't very clear why I wasn't initially promoted. I went through a lot of painful red tape and found out part of it was because of budget and not my performance. There wasn't an available Solution Architect "slot", if you will. It was... acknowledged that my performance was above average/on the high end and I would be fit for a Solution Architect role. I think that was the disturbing thing to me. I was at Solution Architect level in terms of merit, but simply not promoted. In any case, it took another 6 months for that to actually happen. I'm guessing because one of their SA's quit and a "slot" opened, but it's possible I'm mistaken. Maybe they're trying to move away from that mindset. 2. Career Progression I couldn't see a path that I wanted to take after I was promoted to Solution Architect. The next step from there is Solution Principal and every single one of them I talked to were WAY less focused on the technical side of development and more on managing the client/team. I want to stay on the technical side, but their current structure doesn't seem to support a Subject Matter Expert or Technical Principal role. That's more what I want to do long term, but that's not currently an option at Slalom. Therefore, my choice was to progress into more of a manager doing WAY less development or quit. Unfortunately, I wasn't really given much of an option there. For now, a Solution Architect is as far as you're going to be able to get in Slalom without getting into the "less technical" space. Hopefully that will change in the future, because I'd love to come back in the years to come. 3. Compensation This is the primary reason I left. Simply put, Slalom pays under market value in the Seattle market. When I can go from ~110k base salary (~120k with Slalom annual bonus) to ~140k base salary (~155k-160k), that's too much of a gap (which is approximately a 30-35% raise from where I was at working at Slalom). I brought this up numerous times to leadership (director level mostly), but I didn't get anywhere. I'm not upset since some of it may really out of their hands (at the director level). However, I hope they realize that it's costing them top engineers.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Flat out, increase your compensation to compete in the Seattle market. There's not much more to say around this. Adapt or continue to lose talent to higher paying consulting firms in the area, Microsoft, Amazon, Facebook, etc. I'd also love to see Slalom have more of a Subject Matter Expert role in their official career path chart. I've worked there long enough to know that most Solution Principals barely get to... code as it is. That means after Solution Architect, there's not really anywhere to go.

    Dérouler
    Slalom2019-05-12

    Réponse de Slalom

    May 22, 2019President & Co-founder, North America

    This is John Tobin. Amazing and detailed feedback - thank you. We are working on a Delivery focused path that would fit your SME role as you described. Hope you can be a rebound employee for us and I will use this as an example as we really take a look at our compensation in the coming year. If you’d like to share more feedback anonymously, please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey. Thanks again.

    Réduire
  6. Utile (4)

    « Overall positive, generally good amounts of freedom to learn and branch out into new skill sets. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Solutions Architect à Chicago, IL
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    A lot of flexibility in role and openness with leadership to pursue stretch roles and branch into different tech. Excellent culture if you fit in(I do). Fun outgoing coworkers with diverse skill sets and a strong desire to learn and share. If client work is stale there is always something internal to keep you occupied.

    Inconvénients

    Client placements can be hit or miss, slalom frequently loses transformative interesting work to larger tech firms resulting in a fair share of staff aug or limited roles, however there are very good placements out of the Chicago office, just not always enough for everyone, you will get stuck on less than desirable placements. The sales culture in upper management is good for the bottom line but at times burns lower... level consultants and managers by placing them on what I’d call boring and unremarkable work for long periods of time. Culture can be cliquey and can alienate many who aren’t lucky enough to get in with the larger groups.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Be aware that the work being sold, at times necessary, is losing you good talent. If the “bad” work has to be sold, be very aware of how that will burn your more ambitious employees, be aware of this and try to reduce these bad client engagements as much as possible. Focus on pushing slalom as a top tier technology firm.

    Slalom2019-03-31
  7. Utile (21)

    « Not selling? Forget about it. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Solutions Architect à Houston, TX
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Slalom à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    The culture at Slalom has been really great. Your peers will be smart, driven, and fun to hang out with. In the past, the compensation was on par with many other firms. Free snacks are a nice touch along with very warm and friendly recruiting/reception teams. Very well done! The promise of the local model is real. You will never be asked to travel.

    Inconvénients

    If you're technical and not interested in doing sales, don't bother joining. You will waste your life on staff aug roles with no promotion in site. Why? Nowhere to promote you to. Slalom is very flat and only the sales relevant roles move up. Smart, technical, and deliver great work? You'll be passed over by the people that scream the loudest. Local model is a double-edged sword. Expect to not have any tolls/mileage... reimbursed. We have projects all over the city (not necessarily Houston either) i.e., Energy Corridor, Woodlands, Clear lake, Galleria, Downtown Houston and so on. Have to commute between multiple clients and locations to help out. No reimbursement, but "thanks!"

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Remember the days when it was people/clients first and not about how we can get to the next billion? The cutting board to kick off the cooking site, slalom blanket, Yeti cups were great at letting employees feel special. Where did that go? Turned into a $50 voucher to by Slalom gear. If you're going to start acting Big 4, as employees we may as well go work for the Big 4. Real career tracks, larger pay bands, and... much better benefits.

    Dérouler
    Slalom2019-02-15

    Réponse de Slalom

    March 15, 2019General Manager

    I’m glad you enjoyed our culture and people while you were here. I also appreciate your candid feedback. Our technical space is one of our fastest growing areas. As we grow, it has and will continue to create additional opportunities for individual growth without sales. I’m disappointed we couldn’t help you find a path that resonated. As far as tolls, we do have a general expense policy for excessive commutes. We encourage anyone for whom the commute is a burden to raise his or her hand to better understand their individual situation to see what can be done. Please feel free to call my cell at 425.985.4959 or email brianj@slalom.com if you’d like to talk live. Brian Jacobsen, General Manager

    Réduire
  8. Utile (1)

    « Great place to work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Solutions Architect à Atlanta, GA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Great people, culture, and opportunities to grow.

    Inconvénients

    No cons that I can think of at this time.

    Slalom2019-03-09
  9. Utile (8)

    « Lower than market pay and bad immigration process »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Solutions Architect à San Francisco, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Slalom à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    People are nice. Initially, work-life balance was good. Later, that changed as the firm grew. Good company to work for to be in consulting.

    Inconvénients

    Not a good place for technical people. Recognition and pay is not what you would expect. For this reason, Slalom is unable to get or retain talented technical folks. So, you end up working with not so technically sound developers and architects. Immigration process for employees is slow and we need to be aware of I140 withdrawal as well.

    Conseils à la direction

    Pay well, at least upto market standards. Retaining talented developers and architects is how you succeed!

    Slalom2019-03-06

    Réponse de Slalom

    April 1, 2019President & Co-founder, North America

    This is John Tobin. It's fair feedback that we really need to stay on top of the market for technical experts in the Bay area. Also, I'm sorry to hear about your experience during the immigration process - I have not heard that as a consistent problem, but will look into it. If there is more you would like to share with me, email me at johnt@slalom.com to set up a time to talk. Alternatively, if you’d like to share more feedback anonymously, please consider doing so via this survey: http://slalom.ws/anonsurvey.

    Réduire
  10. « Great company and people. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Solutions Architect à Chicago, IL
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Slalom à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Great people and culture. Challenging projects with cloud and other modern stacks. Lots of opportunities for growth. Minimal or no travel depending on the role.

    Inconvénients

    Consulting is a challenging but also rewarding industry. Understanding what consulting as opposed to contracting is, is one of the keys to understand if this is something you would enjoy.

    Conseils à la direction

    Stay humble and keep an eye on the long term industry trends that we've done a good job of staying on top of.

    Slalom2018-12-05
1 avis trouvé