Avis sur Sierra-Cedar | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Sierra-Cedar

Mis à jour le Oct 7, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

69 avis trouvés

3.3
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
57%
Recommandent à un ami
58%
Approuvent le PDG
Sierra-Cedar CEO Cal Yonker (no image)
Cal Yonker
26 évaluations
  1. Utile (1)

    « good until they have work for you...then you'll be dropped like a hot potato »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Consultant 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Sierra-Cedar à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    hourly pay option is the only good thing I can think of.

    Inconvénients

    no job security, zero loyalty from management, no training, employees are just a number

    Conseils à la direction

    Terrible company to work for overall. I worked for them for over 7 years as an hourly employee. Pay is good but your placement on the next project is solely based on who you know rather than how talented you are. Once your project is over, and your manager doesn't find a new project, you are screwed! The entire company functions based on a 'groupie' mentality. I was on bench for a very long time, and during... this time, I was made clear not to contact them, and wait for them to call you (What kind of company does this??!!). Also, the company refuses to spend money on training and retooling employees. Most of the employees are over the age of 50 and there is no direction in hiring new talent. Unless things change, I don't see a future for SCI. If you young, smart and ready to work hard, look elsewhere!

    Dérouler
    Sierra-Cedar2018-09-29
  2. Utile (1)

    « Specialist »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Hyderâbâd
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Sierra-Cedar à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    work life balance is good.

    Inconvénients

    No opportunity to grow your career. No scope to improvise your skill sets. They say it is open door policy which is completely false. Company works on favoritism and nothing else.

    Conseils à la direction

    As a mid-size small company you should learn from other people. Be submissive when required. Managers should have knowledge on how to handle project and what all things to look upon instead of asking for status only. Trust you employees who are coming from premium companies. Be open minded.

    Sierra-Cedar2019-10-07
  3. Utile (4)

    « Very clickish »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Client Hosting 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Sierra-Cedar à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Competitive salary, and most people work remotely.

    Inconvénients

    The environment is very clickish and on the hosting side very Peoplesoft heavy. Hosting of other SaaS or ERPs has not been developed.

    Conseils à la direction

    Quit promoting incompetence and allow people to apply for positions instead of just moving people into positions they may not want to be moved to.

    Sierra-Cedar2019-06-24
  4. Utile (4)

    « Show Some Respect To Your Employees With Hardship. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Anonymous Employee à Remote, OR
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Sierra-Cedar à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    They give you a loan to buy a computer since they do not provide you with one (probably because they screwed over so many past employees out of their earnings that they left with those laptops but this is only speculation) They then require to manage the computer they give you a loan for (even though its your property) and require you to provide assessments of your own property like why you might have a contract on... their that might be for some work your wife was doing and what not. It was remote which is good, and always good if you don't have these snakes breathing down your neck.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Their medical plans are just horrible, had to go with my wife's plan since they are so bad especially since she's pregnant, glad I went with her plan and not theirs. When you first start, not only do they not provide you a computer here but they provide you a business loan to go buy on in case you do not have one. So that means, if they fire you before your 3 months is up (they take it out over the course of 3-4... months), or let you go, you owe them money. Most people get shifted around to do multiple duties and there is no upwards mobility at all here and they do not provide a reasonable spend for solutions and tooling. Their cloud business is rather thin. I came here to do the work that I was used to doing at a large education provider which involved many technologies but I ended up being the cop-out for their lacking security they didn't budget anything for. Other reviews here about knowing your place is very much realistic, they do not listen until the last moment when their clients/customers ask for these things. They have no sense of standards for security or monitoring, they live in a vacuum where things get repeated but they do not listen where they have multiple clients and multiple needs. There are some people that have limited cloud or technical experience in management here so when they listen to you its usually after a couple weeks of you repeating yourself (whilst they complain that what you are talking about is the same as the week before LOL). It reminds me of deer in headlights, where they don't start running till it's too late. The other real reason I'm writing this here today was because they ended up silently terminating my employment after a real hard period in my life and SHAME on THEM! I had a near loss of a family member and I had to travel, which I actively took PTO/family leave (because it was required and that was not a problem at all), but when I got back, it seems like they had an agenda to terminate my employment here after I took a couple days for last minute travel (which they approved of). Things obviously changed looking back at how they approached the meetings and then putting the ownership on me for security tools that I could not implement because there was no budget for them at all probably because margins are so tight. This company does NOT respect the PTO and the Family Leave that they give people. In fact, they gave no reason one day (even after I notified the manager that I was going to leave for an emergency) whilst I was taking care of something medical and removed all my access along with not even a peep, not even a phone call( no attempt at a phone call), I didn't even get an email, or any next day airs to my house, NOTHING, like they wanted to sweep me under their rug and disappear me (no respect granted here to an employee). Many employees are very nice here, I definitely enjoyed working with them, but this company in the way that it is run is about as foul as the trash inside a dumpster on a hot muggy day. The people at the top have limited relationships to develop any solid business or REAL relationships. They might have a handful with some close relationships they had in the past with people at some EDU, but again, just a handful. They fantasize that the products that they are building are going to be embraced by the entire cloud community while not making any impact or inroads in that entire community. The employees building this tool are excellent in every way, they are forging some pretty intense integrations but the leadership and the marketing even poorer. There is no integration to company benefits or HR here, there are no performance assessments for employees (there is a reason for that), there is no communication from the top to the employees, this is all smoke and mirrors till the obvious becomes real that their cloud business is suffering. Professional development, is non-existent, they want you to take certifications, and yes they will pay for them, but they will not pay for any sort of training at all. In fact, went to several conferences so that I could take labs and learn that were available, and they required me to take PTO time because it wasn't "RELEVANT" to their business (I should probably have just quit there as that was a redflag). Modernization is non-existent, recommendations that are made months prior are only executed when the client requests or requires it. They specialize in the Peoplesoft and they do not look at other avenues to expand their business on, which impacts their ability to sell other services that might be relevant and can drive higher revenues in general in the cloud. There are no internal corporate standards whatsoever, they are not communicated or conveyed in any sort of way. Leadership is authoritarian at times and combative on calls where professional recommendations are given. Sometimes they get combative about requirements that have not even been created yet, because they just created them as they were talking. Leaders will sit on calls talking about their Jeeps (waste a good 10-15 minutes) and then go on the attack for a professional recommendation for tool selection when you give one. When you give them a tool that works, "Ohhh that's too much", but they don't give you an opportunity to work out a cost with a company they just dismiss it. They put you on wild goose chases here and it basically demoralizes you and your resolve to offer any impact to a potential solution at hand. The only thing here that works is their 401k, but then again, that's managed by an external company hence WHY it actually works.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Grow up, you provide PTO and Family Leave for reasons, people taking those PTO and Family leave shouldn't be looked down on. Listen to others that have supported and engineered solutions for hundreds of institutions versus your small handful you have. Modernize your approach to the cloud, the cloud isn't just to host your 1 product environment, there are thousands of products in the cloud you can sell, don't be so... narrow minded. Remove the tenure-ship and favoritism from the company. Just because you have been there a long time, doesn't mean you have the ability to go engage in building revenues and product offerings. Trolling seasoned architects on team meetings on questions they've consistently answered because you forgot what the answer was is highly unprofessional as managers, take notes and listen.

    Dérouler
    Sierra-Cedar2019-06-23
  5. Utile (5)

    « Know your place. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Consultant 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Sierra-Cedar à temps plein

    Avantages

    Organization doesn't force an outward culture (shared services BI / EPM) and pays well.

    Inconvénients

    Organization has a social / political slant (shared services BI / EPM). If you know your "place" you will have no issues. Pays well, but no perks; therefore, your net may be the same. Some say medical is expensive, again reducing the value of pay.

    Conseils à la direction

    Nothing to say, management is actively supporting the sub-culture with hands-on support. For those who call themselves professional, there is no room for bigoted activism.

    Sierra-Cedar2019-04-16
  6. « Best Company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Sierra-Cedar à temps plein

    Avantages

    Best Company to work with

    Inconvénients

    Nothing to say about Cons

    Conseils à la direction

    Nothing

    Sierra-Cedar2018-08-29
  7. Utile (2)

    « Prior Project Manager »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Project Manager 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Sierra-Cedar à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Enjoyed working with professional consultants who strive to achieve client expectations.

    Inconvénients

    Little opportunity to grow with technology changes (i.e. cross training between practices).

    Conseils à la direction

    Value loyalty over training costs.

    Sierra-Cedar2018-08-20
  8. Utile (1)

    « Senior Consultant »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 

    Je travaille chez Sierra-Cedar à temps plein

    Avantages

    Good pay when not on bench

    Inconvénients

    Long bench time which makes it difficult to be hourly

    Sierra-Cedar2018-08-01
  9. « Love it here »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Sierra-Cedar à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Vacation, flexibility, hours, and co-workers

    Inconvénients

    No real room for advancement. Otherwise nothing major too mention.

    Conseils à la direction

    Make it possible for co-workers to congregate and get to know each other in the office every once in a while.

    Sierra-Cedar2018-07-11
  10. « Great company! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Change Management Consultant à Denver, CO
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Sierra-Cedar à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Autonomy, professionalism, excellent vacation, great compensation package, and family friendly.

    Inconvénients

    Health care benefits could use some work ...

    Conseils à la direction

    Push getting rid of antiquated email and document sharing apps - adopt the use of Google Universe!

    Sierra-Cedar2018-07-09
69 avis trouvés