Avis sur Perkins & Co | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Perkins & Co

Mis à jour le Jul 16, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

36 avis trouvés

3.7
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
76%
Recommandent à un ami
Perkins & Co CEO Jared Holum
Jared Holum
0 évaluations
  1. « Good Company For Traditional Tax Services »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Tax Senior Associate à Portland, OR
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Perkins & Co à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    -Work/life balance is a priority for management, and it show through. This is the best I've seen a public accounting firm do as far as work-life balance goes -Nice office, recently remodeled -The people there are great!

    Inconvénients

    -That work/life balance comes at a cost, namely compensation. They typically pay less than the going market rate you'd find at a similar sized corp. -Emphasis on quantity of billable hours is annoying, and is the only metric that really matters in performance reviews determining compensation (despite saying otherwise)

    Continuer à lire
    Perkins & Co2019-07-16

    Réponse de Perkins & Co

    July 23, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. It truly is appreciated. I am excited about the future at Perkins as we continue to evolve in our approach towards performance management, talent development, and ultimately the annual review cycle. We have some great changes on the horizon that I hope will make it obvious that when we say there are many other metrics involved in determining overall performance and compensation, we really do mean it. We always have, but I can appreciate how the focus on billable hours in a professional services environment such as public accounting can overshadow everything else. No matter what changes we make though, the need for billable hours will always remain.

    Continuer à lire
  2. « Great culture, manageable hours, and nice mix of small clients »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Audit Senior à Portland, OR
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Perkins & Co à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    The culture is deep and very accepting. This is what makes the work worth it at this company and management knows that.

    Inconvénients

    Small clients where many of the challenges you will face are helping the client understand the 'why' of accounting.

    Continuer à lire
    Perkins & Co2019-06-15

    Réponse de Perkins & Co

    July 23, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you so much for your kind words! It is always exciting to hear from people who understand that this is a challenging industry to thrive in, yet still find such positive things to say. I can appreciate the difficulties of dealing with smaller clients, but can also see how having the opportunity to experience that can be very beneficial - what better way to practice making such technical and complex work, such as auditing and accounting understandable to those who did not get it before you came along. And rest assured that we are aware of how critical the staff and seniors are to the success of the Firm. Not only are they the cornerstones of everything we do, but they are also the future, and there is nothing more valuable than that!

    Continuer à lire
  3. « Disconnect with management and poor communication »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Auditor à Portland, OR
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Perkins & Co à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Perkins does a great job of hosting happy hours, company kickball teams, and more than brings the employees closer together. Also, there are a lot of great people at the company.

    Inconvénients

    There is a significant disconnect between managers/partners and the staff/seniors working for them. Staff/seniors begin to feel overworked and underappreciated. Communication regarding performance is infrequent and inconsistent. Very little training provided to ensure continued growth of employees.

    Continuer à lire
    Perkins & Co2018-07-13

    Réponse de Perkins & Co

    July 30, 2018HR Manager

    Thank you very much for this feedback. If you are a recently departed employee, then you should be aware that the Audit department has implemented a program to review performance following each engagement. As this practice becomes more natural to the managers, the consistency and value of the feedback being provided will increase exponentially. Additionally, as a firm, we are working on implementing some very exciting new performance management programs that are aimed at continual feedback and building relationships between managers and their teams. We are really looking forward to the possibilities this new model will bring to Perkins! I really do wish you the best of luck wherever your career path takes you next. Sincerely, Stephanie

    Continuer à lire
  4. « Tax Verifier »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Perkins & Co à temps partiel

    Avantages

    Everyone I worked with was very nice and welcoming! Positive working environment as well.

    Inconvénients

    Not much flexibility of the job even it was guaranteed in the front.

    Perkins & Co2017-09-09

    Réponse de Perkins & Co

    October 10, 2017HR Manager

    Thank you very much for sharing your opinions about your time with us at Perkins. We take your words seriously, and will consider what you have said for future groups of verifiers. Sincerely, Stephanie Lillengreen HR Manager

    Continuer à lire
  5. « Great Company with Great People »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Auditor à Portland, OR
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Perkins & Co à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    The people at Perkins & Co are the reason this company is so great. You will build strong relationships with coworkers at all levels of the firm. There are many company gatherings and after work activities to hang out and have fun outside of work. Management is there to help you learn and grow through your career, and is always willing to help when needed. There are many opportunities to move up within the firm as the company continues to grow and moves into new areas of business. You will get exposure to many types of industries and sizes of clients to work with and management will help you get on the engagements you are most interested in working on.

    Inconvénients

    The summer months are usually more stressful than the actual busy season when the firm is under staffed.

    Perkins & Co2017-02-13

    Réponse de Perkins & Co

    March 4, 2017jtoro@perkinsaccounting.com

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Perkins & Co, and best of luck in your current and future endeavors! -Jenn Toro, HR Manager

    Continuer à lire
  6. Utile (12)

    « Great coworkers, Political office culture »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Perkins & Co à temps plein

    Avantages

    The people here are nice to work with, and the downtown location is convenient. They also provide a lot of training and have a decent network and computer speeds.

    Inconvénients

    There's not a lot of communication or feedback to let you know what you need to change. They tell you they want you to succeed but they don't really provide a great roadmap for how to get promoted. Also, the billable hour targets are unrealistic and when you break down your salary by the hours they want you to work annually, it's kind of depressing. It's also a political environment, where if you don't get on well with your Managers and Shareholders you are most likely going to have a miserable time here.

    Continuer à lire
    Perkins & Co2016-08-19
  7. Utile (3)

    « for public accounting one of the best options »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 

    J'ai travaillé chez Perkins & Co à temps plein plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    good company, sense of team within department

    Inconvénients

    favoritism, tax managers / shareholders are unrealistic

    Perkins & Co2016-05-25

    Réponse de Perkins & Co

    April 14, 2017jtoro@perkinsaccounting.com

    Thank you for sharing your experience working with Perkins & Co! -Jenn Toro, HR Manager

    Continuer à lire
  8. Utile (7)

    « Great place to work... if you are a billable employee. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     à Portland, OR
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Perkins & Co à depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Great people to work with overall. Special events for employees on a regular basis. Beautiful newly remodeled office. Great medical coverage if single or +1.

    Inconvénients

    Salary not on par with market for position. No transportation/commuting benefits. Non-billable employees very clearly not recognized and appreciated as others - at least that's the impression. Health insurance very expensive for family.

    Continuer à lire
    Perkins & Co2016-02-29
  9. Utile (13)

    « Opportunity with a hostile atmosphere »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Tax Senior 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Perkins & Co à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    They will treat you well if you are on their good side. The people that work here are very hard workers and if you put in your time here, you will be a cultured professional if that is what you desire. Working in downtown Portland is okay if that is an atmosphere that is to your taste.

    Inconvénients

    It is a lie that the salaries have been adjusted to the market. No one who is at a staff or senior level here is happy with their salary. Those who do not talk about this with upper management are either too afraid or they are blind.

    Continuer à lire
    Perkins & Co2016-02-21
  10. « Its the small stuff that counts »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    J'ai travaillé chez Perkins & Co à temps plein plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    This company has an amazing culture. The employees genuinely care about their place of employment and are actively involved in contributing to the culture and success of the firm at all levels. The employees are not just co-workers, but friends...which really makes this place hard to leave. The company provides a lot of benefits that are typically overlooked by other companies: donut day, dessert day, free soda, popcorn, oat meal, juice, tea, coffee, busy season catered meals, etc. They offer a lot of social activities that you can get involved with that help contribute to the company's culture as well, ranging from the wellness committee events, kick ball, happy hours in the bistro, holiday parties, giving back campaigns, etc.

    Inconvénients

    When I was there the company was not paying in line with market for my position; however, I have heard from former coworkers that this has since been corrected.

    Continuer à lire
    Perkins & Co2015-12-23

    Réponse de Perkins & Co

    January 1, 2016jtoro@perkinsaccounting.com

    What a positive review of your experience working with us! Thank you for sharing some of the things you enjoyed about your time here. Although culture encompasses a lot of things (opportunity to learn and develop, advancement, a passion for the work we do, how we treat each other, etc. - all things we care about), we do work really hard to make sure that there's a fun atmosphere for everyone and that Perkins is a place we all want to come each day. Thank you for also sharing your advice about work/life integration - as you know, the industry works very hard and flexibility has become paramount to retaining top talent. We do offer a lot of flexibility, including compressed work weeks and early closure on Fridays during summer, flexible work arrangements, flex-time, extended leaves for working parents and many other things. We're always open to new ways of being flexible and we have an open door for employees to discuss what would make them successful while delivering a timely, great work product for our clients. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts on Perkins & Co, and best of luck in your current and future endeavors! -Jenn Toro, HR Manager

    Continuer à lire
36 avis trouvés