Avis de Software Developer chez Nuance | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Software Developer chez Nuance

Mis à jour le 19 août 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

20 avis trouvés

3.3
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
54%
Recommandent à un ami
18%
Approuvent le PDG
Nuance CEO Mark Benjamin
Mark Benjamin
3 évaluations
  1. "Overall pretty good place to work at."

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Software Developer à Montréal, QC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Nuance à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Salary is competitive. Benefits are awesome! Personally my managers have been very supportive and fair towards me. Can't say the same for all managers at Nuance from some colleagues/ex-colleagues testimonies. Location of MTL office is a plus. The impact of my work is satisfying. In my division, you know that your work will be used by thousands of people.

    Inconvénients

    Teams are always understaffed. Hiring could be better both in terms of quality and quantity. While Nuance strives to maintain compensation parity among employees based on seniority, competence is not necessarily used as a factor. This can result in highly performing young people being rewarded less than average/low performance people who have more years in the business. No or very limited team bonding activities aka Nuance does not spend much on its team's victories or on building team chemistry. Lack of planning & clear directions from mid-level management. For the engineering leaders, culture is more about "do what you gotta do to make it work in the short term" than "let's do things properly to ensure efficiency and better results in the long term". This leads to unpaid, overtime hours way too often for full time employees. By extension, this also affects work-life balance.

    Continuer à lire
    Nuance2019-08-19
  2. "I have been working at Nuance full-time for 7 years"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Software Developer à Waterloo, ON
    Recommande
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Nuance à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Good, experienced people, friendly environment.

    Inconvénients

    Social life is at minimum level.

    Continuer à lire
    Nuance2019-07-02
  3. Utile (11)

    "Big promises, disappointing reality"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Software Developer à Montréal, QC
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Nuance à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Nuance was very kind to me, they brought me from my home country to their Montreal office, followed through on the hiring process, were willing to help and train me, and recognized my efforts with good reviews, raises, a promotion, and business trip for more training. I worked day and night to guarantee I was giving back and they were happy with my contributions

    Inconvénients

    But that didn’t mean a thing because their layoffs are decided by accountants and not actual management. I got cut with 15 other people in my office and overall 200 people as part of this Azure restructuring. Now I’m stranded in a new country needing to try and make things work with work permits, residency, etc and why? Because of some top-heavy decision

    Continuer à lire
    Nuance2019-02-13
  4. "Software Developer Intern"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer Intern à Montréal, QC
    Recommande

    Je travaille chez Nuance à depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Flexible hours, free drinks, very relaxed environment, meaningful projects

    Inconvénients

    IT is really really bad.

    Continuer à lire
    Nuance2019-01-15
  5. Utile (9)

    "Toxic working environment."

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer à Montréal, QC
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Nuance à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Working from home. 20 days paid vacation.

    Inconvénients

    1. Racial discrimination is serious in the group, which makes the working environment toxic. Managers have great power. They can form a gang with their favorite trusted followers. Unfortunately, the discriminated guys like me work like slaves: no promotion space, no decent bonus at the end of the year. 2. No healthy corporate culture. Within the company, each group is like a closed clan. If you are lucky that the manager is a nice guy, the feeling is good. If the manager is a racist or a disgusting guy, you are done. 3. Bad communication and cooperation. People hide their resources from being "stolen" by others. They talk lots of abbreviated software names everyday with no one knows the full names. Pretty funny. 4. Few innovation. 5. No training for the new employees.

    Continuer à lire
    Nuance2019-01-08
  6. "Software Developer"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer à Montréal, QC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Nuance à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Good working environment, very smart people, Friendly and cheerful staff, Casual dress code , Nice Benefits, Flexible timings, Work from home, Free Beverages

    Inconvénients

    None i can think off right now

    Continuer à lire
    Nuance2018-07-26

    Réponse de Nuance

    July 30, 2018

    Thank you for your review on Nuance. We are glad to see you are enjoying the amenities and benefits. We appreciate your advice to management and will pass the information along to our benefits team who evaluates our current benefits annually.

    Continuer à lire
  7. "Software Developer Intern"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    Ancien employé - Software Developer Intern 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    J'ai travaillé chez Nuance à

    Avantages

    Worked on very interesting project alongside very knowledgeable people.

    Inconvénients

    None but experience seems to vary greatly on the team you're in.

    Continuer à lire
    Nuance2017-11-29
  8. Utile (4)

    "A good place for managers"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Software Developer à Montréal, QC
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Nuance à plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Advantages, nice office, interesting technologies

    Inconvénients

    Managers superseeds technical staff in technical fields, bad life/work balance

    Continuer à lire
    Nuance2017-05-05
  9. Utile (1)

    "Nuance"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer à Waterloo, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Nuance à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    4 weeks vacation from the start is much better than other places in Canada I have worked for. You certainly are rewarded for your hard work. The Waterloo office is a great bunch of people that go out of their way to help you when they can and the local management are a decent bunch. Very understanding in Waterloo of the needs of family vs work.

    Inconvénients

    Still a way to go with project planning to reduce the extra effort put on R&D by other parts of the company. Outside of the Waterloo office the high level beliefs are good but the implementation can be lacking. The org structure is very flat so developers have little room for advancement if that is important to you.

    Continuer à lire
    Nuance2017-01-23
  10. Utile (1)

    "Be aware"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Software Developer à Montréal, QC
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Nuance à depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Good work environment, free coffee nice location in downtown building decent advantages, health coverage, insurances, etc.

    Inconvénients

    Managment rules with no clear communications Technical decisions are taken by non technical managers Most jobs are dead end

    Continuer à lire
    Nuance2016-12-05
20 avis trouvés