Avis de Actor chez Merlin Entertainments | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Actor chez Merlin Entertainments

Mis à jour le août 3, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

2.6
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
20%
Recommandent à un ami
20%
Approuvent le PDG
Merlin Entertainments CEO Nick Varney
Nick Varney
4 évaluations
  1. « If you are going to do it, do it for the friends you will make »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien intérimaire - Actor à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Merlin Entertainments à moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Hiring personable actors. Some Management staff are nice but even they are being pressured by higher personnel. Some good benefits such as the Merlin Pass

    Inconvénients

    Needs better pay and a need to understand the role you will be undertaking. The actors are more entertainment staff and should be treated as such. Acting is a different kettle of fish and a lot of management know it.

    Conseils à la direction

    Please listen to your staff. In reviews and end of contracts please do not be picking up on every single detail an actor has said because you never know what kind of day they were having

    Merlin Entertainments2019-08-03

    Réponse de Merlin Entertainments

    August 5, 2019Recruitment Marketing Coordinator

    Hi there! Thanks for reviewing us, your feedback will be passed on to the right team.

  2. Utile (1)

    « Depressing »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Actor à San Francisco, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Merlin Entertainments à temps partiel plus d'un an

    Avantages

    I didn't have to do much. Lots of hours

    Inconvénients

    Toxic environment, depressing work conditions.

    Merlin Entertainments2019-07-01
  3. « Great »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Actor à Londres, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Merlin Entertainments à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Great perks, fun team, good career progression (hire from within company), lots of sites to work at, family friendly material, good work perks

    Inconvénients

    All-year round attractions so working on holidays, peak visitor periods stressful, work on weekends and rarely two days off in a row

    Merlin Entertainments2018-04-17
  4. Utile (4)

    « Make sure you read the labor laws »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Actor à San Francisco, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Merlin Entertainments à temps partiel plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Paid to act International company They give you a Merlin card which is good for visits at any Merlin attraction

    Inconvénients

    Low pay, super overworked. Many people at my location worked 6, 12 hour days a week in December. (And then management told me to remind the rest of the actors it wasn't actually a twelve hour day because we had two lunch breaks (as required by LAW), even though we were still there 12 hours. They were worried about opening fast rather than opening well, and that seemed to be a motto for them - just get people... through and manage rather than do a good job running the place Hours of operation kept changing Management kept changing Whole location was perpetually understaffed. Great for overtime, not great for anything else. Didn't have a plan on how to keep actor area clean. Or cheerful enough to make you not hate everything. Morale was constantly low because there was no sunlight and we were working long hours in a dimly lit, black walled corridor. Costumes didn't get washed for 6 months. At our location things were so bad almost the ENTIRE acting team was ready to strike (36 out of 38 people). HR was brought in and told me to not bite the hand that feeds you. I reminded her we weren't getting the ten minute breaks as required by law and people had been forced to work, off the clock, on their lunch break. Insane amount of turnover, at every level at the local location UK management completely out of touch with what is happening at local level. Opened without really making sure management knew labor laws. And they broke them frequently because they didn't know them. We didn't have a local HR person for months. Didn't do much to protect their workers from drunk and unruled guests, putting workers in danger. Promotions often make no sense.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Learn the labor laws when you expand. Really really learn them. Breaking them is a really bad thing. Follow your own corporate guidelines. "We care?!" It never looked like it.

    Merlin Entertainments2017-09-06
  5. Utile (3)

    « Awful »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Actor à San Francisco, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Merlin Entertainments à temps partiel moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Not a bloody thing, nope.

    Inconvénients

    They literally broke the law. When we started out we didn't even have lunch breaks the management was so bad. I was told to "shut up" when I complained. Never even got my contract.

    Conseils à la direction

    Stop breaking laws?

    Merlin Entertainments2017-04-14
  6. Utile (1)

    « Place is gross. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Actor à San Francisco, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Merlin Entertainments à temps partiel depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    The people are good and the work is fun. That's about it but there's a twenty word limit so, uhhh--sometimes they make us pancakes to try to cheaply raise morale. Pancakes are nice.

    Inconvénients

    It's totally dead-end, tourists think it's fun to grope the local talent, and everyone here is always sick. We work in this dingy basement with this big reservoir of standing water and foreign tourists milling through day after day but they pressure us to come to work sick and we all get sick in these tiny quarters and spread it around

    Conseils à la direction

    I dunno, I guess stop pressuring people to come to work sick, and get rid of that disgusting boat which never works anyway and attracts pests, and maybe install some kind of air purification system. When I got here there were 2 people working here who had been told they were immune-compromised. I wonder if they were just sickly because they were working here.

    Merlin Entertainments2016-04-08
  7. Utile (1)

    « Paid well below fair rate, management shambolic »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Actor à Blackpool, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Merlin Entertainments à temps plein

    Avantages

    The job I had was quite fun itself, and we generally had good team camaraderie. Shift swapping permitted, and usually easy to book time off, so work hours quite flexible.

    Inconvénients

    Pathetic pay (barely above min. wage for a qualified job that pays better elsewhere for less work). Management ignorant to staff concerns (concerns often treated as unwelcome, in fact), hypocritical, as well as generally lacking competence. No real incentive to do your job any better than anybody else. Disciplinaries given to several people for ridiculous reasons whilst other, more severe transgressions would be... overlooked- especially when committed by management. Whilst in some areas you can progress through promotion, in other areas career options are very limited. And management are not paid very well either, so even that isn't very appealing.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Listen more to your staff, stop managing so egotistically, and pay your employees fairly!

    Merlin Entertainments2014-07-09
7 avis trouvés