Avis sur Main Street Hub | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Main Street Hub

Mis à jour le 20 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

500 avis trouvés

3.3
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
61%
Recommandent à un ami
82%
Approuvent le PDG
Main Street Hub CEO Andrew Allison; Matt Stuart
Andrew Allison; Matt Stuart
339 évaluations
  1. « Great Benefits, competitive job »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Sales Representative à Austin, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    J'ai travaillé chez Main Street Hub à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Great benefits, 401k matching, health insurance, fun work environment, great co-workers and comfortable sales floor. Also free barista and snacks. Base pay.

    Inconvénients

    SUPER COMPETITIVE Can't miss a day of training or you will be fired. Training is a month long.

    Conseils à la direction

    Maybe be a little easier on the missed training days. It's a tough job but it's a good job and I feel like you may lose really good sales reps in your training process.

    Main Street Hub2019-09-19
  2. « Fine For Starting Off »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Marketing Consu 

    J'ai travaillé chez Main Street Hub à temps plein

    Avantages

    - Learn sales skills, marketing. Start up environment and free food

    Inconvénients

    boiler room feel. need to perform right away or get out

    Main Street Hub2019-09-12
  3. « No wonder they shut own in NYC »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Marketing Specialist à New York, NY
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Main Street Hub à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    free snacks, beer, and meeting new people

    Inconvénients

    terrible work-life balance and terrible product being sold

    Main Street Hub2019-09-20
  4. Utile (3)

    « A Sales Baptism By Fire »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Inside Sales Representative à Austin, TX

    J'ai travaillé chez Main Street Hub à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    If you are fresh out of school or wanting to break into sales, this is a pretty good start. I worked here for over a year and though it wasn’t my first sales job, I learned a ton. Training is pretty hands on but after that month you are on a team of 12 people with one direct manager and are pretty much on your own. You will be making 80-100 cold calls to small business owners on a daily basis, setting up demos with... them and closing deals. You are responsible for the full sales cycle. If you try hard, ask for help, attend lunch and learns, and don’t make excuses you can make money. You will meet some really nice people of all different ages and backgrounds and sales skill level. Sr. Managers really try to incentivize reps to perform through daily cash prizes, festival tickets, and team boat parties. Consistency is key at this job if you want to get big paychecks each month. Health benefits are great since the GoDaddy buy out. They only hire from within and there is room to grow your career. However...

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    This will be long but very in depth. This is not an easy job and is designed to reward those are willing to sacrifice personal time. There are 2 different sales floors. One is specifically for Brick and Mortar (B&M) businesses and the other is for Service Area Businesses-SAB (Roofing, Lawn Care, Realtors). The B&M team are very limited in who they can call and are at a disadvantage compared to the SAB... team who can call anyone. However, they are separate in the sales compensation stack ranking. They say they provide you with leads. True. However, the leads they provide are terrible, (if even serviceable). Usually they are business owners who have been called 6+ times before. You have to source your own leads from a GoDaddy lead queue (very time consuming) and this must be done after/before hours on specific days. The stack ranking is separate for each department but is pretty similar. If my memory is correct, each month both floors have the commission broken down by the top 20%, middle 30%, and a bottom 50% of all the reps on that floor. The top 20% (highest earning reps) make 125% of their commission. The middle 30% makes 100%, then the bottom 50% only make 75% of their commission on their next months earnings. So if you have a really terrible month and are in the bottom 50%, that means next month you could be having a killer month and be in the top 20% but still only make 75% of your paycheck. The pay is the exact same for the SAB floor except that they add at 0.9 multiplier to all of your earnings before they add the 125, 100, or 75 percentile to make it more “fair” to the B&M floor. Except they don’t give it to the B&M floor, the company just eats it. I have had excellent managers/Sr. managers and have been on great teams. I have heard horror stories about other managers sleeping with reps, having favorites, and being strict on taking bathroom breaks but depends on what team you are placed on after training. It can feel like high school with all of the attendance rules. You will have to be comfortable selling a product to businesses that might not need it. And once you close the deal the account gets passed to the Account Team who is alarmingly understaffed and consistently under perform because of the staffing issue. This causes the business owners to cancel the service. That means you pay back the deal you earned on a later paycheck or it can mean no residual earnings depending how long they have been a customer. Base pay is very low $20k. Your paycheck depends on the deals you make, ranging anywhere from ($299-998) so you need to start making deals fast. Because everyone is there after hours to make money the line between personal/professional life is very thin. Alcohol and drug (not just marijuana/pens) use is rampant. Everyone sleeps with each other and there is relationship drama that you will know about because it pours over into everyone else’s work life due to the lack of personal/work life separation. This is a work hard/play hard place. It’s straight sales party culture. If you don’t want to be involved in the craziness/office politics just keep your head down, work hard, ask for help, and don’t go to the team/after work outings!

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    The problems aren’t something management can fix because they are spread the thinnest. This is a company that has a culture problem. Due to reality check reps face the first few months on the phone there is a huge burn out and alarmingly high turn over rate. They say they are helping local hero’s but need to realize that it’s service isn’t a fit for every business. They need to provide sales reps with the tools they... need to be successful during working business hours and not shift the blame to the rep for “not wanting it enough.” Also,set up real expectations with new hires so there is less turn over and a strong company culture is rebuilt.

    Dérouler
    Main Street Hub2019-08-06
  5. Utile (1)

    « Get Your Experience...... Then Leave »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Social Media Advisor à Austin, TX
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Main Street Hub à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    It's a very millennial friendly office with awesome benefits. You get great dental, health, and vision insurance benefits plus a 130 dollar a month transportation credit to help you get to work that can also be used for personal use as well. As stated before it's a very young office so if your just beginning your career journey it's an excellent opportunity to meet people your own age. Since they don't have much... previous requirements in terms of prior experience it's an amazing opportunity to get some experience on your resume that you can discuss with future employers. If your good at the job there is great opportunity to make 70-100 K because the compensation plan is set up to reward producers and eliminate dead weight (as most sales orgs are).

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    So most of the reps who usually complain about the company are often times people who just didn't really produce at the end of the day when things boil down to it. I had a fairly successful career during my time at MSH/GoDaddy missing out on President's Club by a few spots so give that some thought as you read the negative portion of my rating. I would say overall Main Street Hub was a great first job but was not a... job I would ever consider a long-term career with. The attrition rate is terrible as on average more than 90 percent of your classmates from training will most likely be gone before their first year. There are many reasons for this ranging from low base pay, unstable monthly pay, monotony of job, inexperienced management etc. Since the company is trying to keep expenses down they essentially hire a mass of recruits for their training classes with the hopes of finding those 1-4 reps who can really be a producer. They offer a low base salary to ensure that they don't invest much in the other 40 plus reps who they know will no longer be with the company a year later. Since commissions are the only way to really survive the sales floor can get very toxic at times because since the GoDaddy merger your only allowed to call into the GoDaddy clientele. Since more than 40 percent of GoDaddy's Customers do not have a physical location that alright hits a significant portion of the eligible customers you can call. In order to compensate for the limited number of leads they had management had to really restrict the number of leads the reps had as well making sure the same leads were called repeatedly to ensure they weren't being wasted. As we were saying before, since the company relies mostly on people who are either new to sales or are just starting out their journey the same issues come up with entry level managers since a lot of them just don't have much experience leading teams. The company can sometimes make the mistake of assuming that a great rep will make a great manager and this is just not the case. I think ethics could also be a question at times as the product only seriously works for maybe 5 percent of the clients we call but when your manager is call-coaching you through a close they are going to make it seem as if this is the product that will be the be all end all for that business owner even though you know full well the best case scenario is that the business owner will not have to worry about spending time on their social media anymore. After merging with GoDaddy they opened the company up to calling Service Oriented Business so that was a market segment that had a lot of opportunity. As a result tons of businesses were being brought on but the company was not hiring enough Account Managers to help manage the increased load. This led to many account managers being spread thin as they were forced on so many more accounts than they were used to as MSH. This definitely impacted the overall customer experience of our product because the content team could not just invest the time in an individual business leading to very generic content and review responses.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    You know good well not every business owner needs this product however you continue to play with the ethical line of posing the product in a manner that will meet the needs of that business owner. Add more people to the customer experience team so that the current team is not spread so thin and they can somewhat meet the promises made during the sales presentation. Also please stop having managers brag about the 95... percent customer retention rate when that is working off only the first 3 months. Raise the retention rate threshold to a year plus so that we can truly get a better understanding of how affective the product has been for local businesses.

    Dérouler
    Main Street Hub2019-07-29
  6. « Fun »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Marketing Executive à Austin, TX

    J'ai travaillé chez Main Street Hub à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Like most sales roles it was a fun stress free job if you could consistently hit your sales goals.

    Inconvénients

    Selling a garbage product/service to small businesses that didn't need it.

    Main Street Hub2019-07-22
  7. Utile (2)

    « Things were better before GoDaddy »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Content Specialist 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Main Street Hub à temps plein

    Avantages

    - coffee bar - snacks - flexible work space - huge office space

    Inconvénients

    - low pay - high stress - employees not valued - no room for advancement - lack of flexibility since GoDaddy took over - not treated like adults

    Conseils à la direction

    Go back to the way things were before GoDaddy and allow employees flexibility and give them respect. Bring back the tier system.

    Main Street Hub2019-06-28
  8. « Great company, lots of room for growth -- fast pace, transaction sales! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Social Media Advisor à Austin, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Main Street Hub à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Lots of opportunity to grow

    Inconvénients

    Clientele can be very emotional and hard to get a hold of on a set schedule. Small business owners have random schedules.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep up the good work. Try to train leadership to develop more than apply direct help.

    Main Street Hub2019-06-13
  9. Utile (3)

    « Great place to get your foot in the door in sales »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Sales Representative à Austin, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Main Street Hub à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    This is a great place to learn a fair amount and grow some thick skin in the wake of a collapsing office structure. View it as nothing more than a stepping stone to more palpable yet lateral jobs in sales that require experience. If this is your first sales job, you will learn a lot about the transactional process and even become inspired by the businesses you work with. The management is young and full of energy,... and you will probably make some of your best friends here. Commission structure is modest (but only 10% of people really benefit from this) but it barely offsets the HORRIFYING 20k base. There are occasional happy hours subsidized by your manager’s dime, if you’re lucky.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Extremely maniacal expectations. Your work hours are 8:30-12, 1-5:30, and during those hours, you are expected to only be dialing, which the occasional (quarterly?) one on one coaching session with your manager. There is excessive amounts of pressure from management, with virtually no contact to upper level management beyond the sales floor. They absolutely abuse the ambition of their reps (this is no fault of the... senior management in the sales office) and do not pay you for the “not mandatory, but if you want to be successful, you better show up” trainings, which makes the occupation of management incredibly exhausting and they’re left spinning their wheels. There was a lot of promises made to reps during the acquisition, which inevitably fell flat. Half of the floor is left calling into the same batch of leads with business owners who have already expressed disinterest and yet, we are still calling them every 60 days to beg for their business. You are able to source from these leads, but only on your own time. The resources that are available to you to be successful are overwhelmingly only available before or after shift, which perpetuates the lack of work-life balance. The company is divided between two radically different floors, and alcoholism and drug abuse is rampant for the sales reps and management. Don’t even get me started on the actual process...yes, you will learn valuable cold calling and communication skills, but you have to be downright offensive at times. I can only imagine the burden to a business owner who gets called up by a random stranger, claiming to have a relationship with them (also the communication between this office and the Scottsdale office is a joke, GoDaddy has done literally NOTHING to educate their account management of the acquisition or our sales process, leading to many reps being burned by mistrust from the clients). They are bringing in an incredibly high volume of clients that the account management and content teams can’t keep up with, and our retention is purely thanks to high pressure sales, auto renew, and an excessive amount of red tape to cancel. I’ve had nearly 80% of my accounts cancel within a year, and I’ve put a ton of work into setting the expectations that the company demands we lie about. We oversell the entire process, and fail to perform for our customers roughly 95% of the time. We knock it out of the park for others, by the grace of god in case someone asks to see an example of our work. If you are looking to HELP local businesses, get far FAR away from social media marketing. GoDaddy Social, Outbound Engine, Kakui, Yelp ads, Dr. Genius, etc. are all designed to make their money in up front contracts and DO NOT PERFORM TO RETAIN CUSTOMERS. The warning system is assanine and you can make the company $5000 one month, and lose your job 2 months later. They do not care about your track record, and they will make you feel absolutely inadequate if you cannot suck it up and finagle some desperate business owners. You will be fired for not making money off their recycled, garbage leads and you will be ridiculed if you cannot invest your life into this company.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Stop being so half in, half out. If this is a professional job with insane expectations, stop dignifying the foolishness of unqualified and toxic employees. Stop allowing the company to exploit the talent of tenured reps by burning them out. Hire more people on the accounts and product side so we can actually perform on what we promise. Stop viewing employees on the grand scheme as replaceable. STOP PROMOTING... UNQUALIFIED MANAGERS WHO DONT PERFORM AND ONLY TERMINATING THE REPS WHO ARE SO UNFORTUNATE TO WORK FOR THEM. Get us more leads. And last, but not least, educate the account managers in the other GoDaddy locations so we don’t shoot our selves in the foot when customers call to verify our credibility. This is crushing morale

    Dérouler
    Main Street Hub2019-06-15
  10. « Grind »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Sales 

    J'ai travaillé chez Main Street Hub à temps plein

    Avantages

    It is easy to meet people and make good friends.

    Inconvénients

    The job is extremely past paced and sales cycle are unrealistic.

    Main Street Hub2019-07-01
500 avis trouvés