Avis de Software Developer chez MPC | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Software Developer chez MPC

Mis à jour le août 22, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

8 avis trouvés

3.0
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
64%
Recommandent à un ami
MPC CEO Mark Benson (no image)
Mark Benson
0 évaluations
  1. Utile (2)

    « Eh. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Embedded Software Developer à Montréal, QC
    Recommande
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez MPC à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Insanely talented artists and developers at all levels and departments. Plenty of really cool people to meet, and most people are really helpful. Beer o'clock on fridays, all the free coffee you can handle, free breakfast every morning, the studio is in a great location.

    Inconvénients

    Senior management and production have absolutely no idea what goes on in the departments. They make ridiculously tight schedules and make promises to the clients that the artists have to keep and their attitude is basically "Well it's your problem now. Figure it out" while having no knowledge of what anything entails. You're basically just a number on a spreadsheet. Pay is absolute trash

    Conseils à la direction

    You can't just "throw more artists" at every problem and assume they'll be up to speed their second week.

    MPC2019-08-23
  2. Utile (1)

    « R&D Software Developer »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - R&D Software Developer à Montréal, QC
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez MPC à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Great shows to work on. People are generally nice. And lots of chance to know different stage about film making.

    Inconvénients

    Ridiculous low salary for software developer

    Conseils à la direction

    The salary for software developer must be fixed. You paid such ridiculous salary to software developer in film & game industry

    MPC2019-04-12
  3. « Mostly positive experience »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Developer 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez MPC à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Interesting projects Nice, hard-working team Located at heart of Soho

    Inconvénients

    Work environment quality could improve Salary not competitive enough Career growth unclear

    Conseils à la direction

    Need to be more involved

    MPC2019-07-15
  4. « Bad Management »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer à Bangalore
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez MPC à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Got to work on cool stuff with an incredible on-site team.

    Inconvénients

    The local management is downright bad. I was skeptical when I was told about it in the beginning when I had joined. But over time, I have encountered a lot of mis-management making the work experience here just not worth it. Also, their pay scale is a joke. This shows rather clearly when it comes to hiring leaders.

    MPC2019-07-25
  5. Utile (1)

    « Great workplace! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Developer à Londres, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez MPC à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    - Great people - Fantastic learning environment - Shows worked on are great - Working hours are very decent

    Inconvénients

    - Financial package isn't that great - Administration could be organized a bit more

    MPC2017-10-20
  6. Utile (2)

    « Great opportunity to get good experience, but watch for interference from senior management »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Developer à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez MPC à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    The Software Department is amazing. They are knowledgeable, friendly, and great to work with.

    Inconvénients

    MPC has grown very quickly over the last couple of years, unfortunately the management style has not adapted to this yet, and as a result the senior management continue to run MPC like it is a small company, specifically in their interference with some of the departments. While I am sure they do this with good intentions, the consequences are dire and have caused a massive churn in employees (which is totally... unnecessary).

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep the software department ring-fenced in terms of employee benefits/salaries from the rest of the company. Also don't interfere with the day to day running of the department, they know what they are doing, let them get on with the job.

    MPC2017-03-13
  7. « Good experience overall »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Developer à Londres, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    J'ai travaillé chez MPC à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Lots going on, big projects. People are young, attitude is relaxed and informal. Great pipeline and software stack, with serious vision for technology.

    Inconvénients

    HR was terrible. I was told every year how the work I did was great but hardly ever got any increase. Long hours but that's pretty standard in the industry, had to work weekends sometimes but that was rare and got paid or in-lieu for it.

    Conseils à la direction

    As I left some pretty terrible appointments were being made for senior management. From what I know it didn't get better. Appoint managers who know a thing or two about the stuff the people they manage do.

    MPC2016-10-26
  8. « Good hours (for vfx), below market rate pay »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Developer à Londres, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez MPC à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Software tickets are triaged fairly well, most nights you will be able to leave on time, unlike show support TDs at other companies. Not too much ego or politics, leads/HoDs generally friendly and reasonable. Quite advanced for vfx in terms of software development - code reviews, using some aspects of agile.

    Inconvénients

    Pay is below market rate. No technical training or mentoring is offered. Employee turnover in London is high.

    Conseils à la direction

    Grow your own, rather than hiring external candidates.

    MPC2014-09-06
8 avis trouvés