Avis de Senior Technical Director chez Imageworks | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Senior Technical Director chez Imageworks

Mis à jour le 24 août 2017

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

3.9
11%
Recommandent à un ami
11%
Approuvent le PDG
Imageworks CEO Robert M. Osher
Robert M. Osher
4 évaluations
  1. « Far Cry From What It Was »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Senior Technical Director à Vancouver, BC
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Imageworks à moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Nice new facility in Vancouver. Great HR! Easy first job in CG at a large studio. Clean Canadian Air. 420 festival is right outside every year! Nordstrom's is in the same building so clean underwear is only an elevator ride away.

    Inconvénients

    Terrible management. Extremely aggressive hiring/firing. Lack of tools support for artists. Garbage projects. Very poor supervision micromanaged by too many levels of underrated leads and sups. The pillage of the Canadian tax credits, to coffer the pockets of studio execs, only to pay the artists such a small wage is disgusting. Film credits are given to those who they want to and not those who deserve them.

    Conseils à la direction

    Break away from corporate Sony. Shut down. Relocate to China. Make an Emoji movie. Make more money! Collect more underpants!

    Imageworks2016-07-13
  2. « Technical director »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Senior Technical Director 

    Je travaille chez Imageworks à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Work with a great group of talented people on interesting projects.

    Inconvénients

    Can be demanding work load.

    Imageworks2017-08-24
  3. Utile (2)

    « I watched this place slowly die »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Technical Director à Culver City, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Imageworks à temps plein plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    There were a lot of talented people here when I began and I had the opportunity to work on big titles.

    Inconvénients

    Over time management decided to shift employees to Canada for cost savings. They were never very honest about their plans and over time showed they cared less and less about the staff.

    Imageworks2016-10-31
  4. Utile (2)

    « Company's best days are in the rearview, shell of its former self. Sinking like a stone. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Technical Director à Culver City, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Imageworks à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Used to be an inspiring place to work, employed intelligent, top notch industry leaders.

    Inconvénients

    Along with the greater VFX industry, Imageworks has gone down the tubes. There is zero job security. Most of the jobs have been relocated to Vancouver, Canada. Those employees left in Culver City fear for their jobs and work plenty of unpaid extra hours, for free. This is largely part of the culture of the company. In 2009, in response to economic changes, an accountant was brought in to run the show. Ever since,... the company is run by beancounters who desperately want to have creative input on story & casting, driven by their ego. The entire company is a train wreck. The CEO is the laughing stock of the company and the butt of all jokes. I don't think this company will be around much longer, at least not in the US.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    It's over. We all know it.

    Imageworks2013-11-23
  5. « Good pay, nice people. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Intérimaire actuel - Senior Technical Director à Culver City, CA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Imageworks à depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    While I have not worked at too many places, I can say that I have always been treated with respect here. The pay is very good and the people are helpful.

    Inconvénients

    The biggest con is simply the new industry paradigm: lay people off or move to where the subsidies are. Also the benefits here in regards to insurance, perks, 401k have been steadily decreasing.

    Conseils à la direction

    Realize that chasing subsidies is a race to the bottom. If things don't change, things will get bleak very soon.

    Imageworks2013-08-15
  6. Utile (1)

    « Best place I've worked at »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Senior Technical Director à Culver City, CA
    Recommande
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Imageworks à

    Avantages

    Salary and overall benefits are the best I've had in the VFX industry. Career growth can be slow since there is a lot of good competition inside, but steady as long as you make the effort. Internal training which allows you to train in any discipline of VFX is excellent. Many different projects and being able to work in both Animated Films and Live Action is something that sets it apart from the rest.

    Inconvénients

    Career growth can be slow due to the sheer number of employees. Management sometimes has no idea of what's going on around them and can be poor at communicating with the artists. Work can be become routine during a project.

    Conseils à la direction

    Be more open and communicate with your artists. Do not leave them in the dark about their future during project ramp downs. Be honest and clear - specially on bad news.

    Imageworks2010-01-31
  7. Utile (1)

    « great people and technology, astonishingly poor executive management, murky future »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Senior Technical Director à Culver City, CA
    Ne recommande pas
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Imageworks à

    Avantages

    Great camaraderie amongst rank and file artists (but many have left). Incredible learning opportunities from some of the sharpest creative and technical people in the industry. Good pay, OK benefits (getting worse though), nice location. Great place to be if you are new in the industry, just make sure you have a job lined up for when your production is over.

    Inconvénients

    Sadly, what has been said here before is very true. There was a time when Imageworks was the place to be if you wanted to work on both feature animation and visual effects. Those days are ending, as we simply cannot compete against Disney/Dreamworks in animation, and the tax-incentives foreign countries are passing out in visual effects. Many of these factors are out of the company's control. But the nail in the... coffin is our astonishingly weak management. While there has been some well needed house cleaning of mid to upper-management, the facility is hopelessly lacking in creative leadership and artist management. There are murky plans for upcoming productions, but the recent exodus of talent and serious nose-dive in morale will make working on these shows (if greenlit) very, very unsatisfactory.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Move on. Keep Sony Pictures Animation as a shell / front door for outsourcing production of 2nd tier movies to India/China/Texas, whatever. SPA never existed to make great movies, but to generate secondary sales for licensed product. I think someday SPA can succeed here. Sell Imageworks to a group of current employees. We'll rebrand it and market the talent & technology appropriately. We can decide what the... bottom is.

    Dérouler
    Imageworks2009-06-06
7 avis trouvés