Avis sur Houghton Mifflin Harcourt | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Mis à jour le sept. 8, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

801 avis trouvés

3.2
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
54%
Recommandent à un ami
79%
Approuvent le PDG
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt CEO John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
John “Jack” J. Lynch, Jr.
119 évaluations
  1. Utile (7)

    « Too many Deciders, not enough Makers. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Design Architect 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Houghton Mifflin Harcourt à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Good work-life balance. Decent health benefits. Good place to work if you have a family to support. Fairly central location. Modern open-plan office with up to date equipment and software. Competitive salary - if you push hard during the hiring process. You can kick back and not a soul will notice.

    Inconvénients

    Multiple layers of management: too many Deciders, not enough Makers. Very slow decision-making even compared to other large corporations. Departments are siloed. I spent more than 50% of my time in large, inefficient inter-departmental meetings. Design decisions made by managers with no training in design and no interest in user experience. If you want any interesting projects, you'll need to... initiate them yourself and prepare for an uphill battle through layers of bureaucratic approval. It took me a good 6 months after leaving to get my mojo back. Don't expect to produce much for your future portfolio. Minimal professional development offered through 3rd party online services (lynda.com, skillshare).

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    If you want innovation, listen to the creative people making your products. Understand that your subjective preferences have no place in decision-making when they are not aligned with your users' experience.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2018-01-30
  2. « Loving it so far! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior User Experience Design Architect à Montréal, QC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez Houghton Mifflin Harcourt à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    I really do enjoy the team, environment, and the projects I've been working on so far. It's great!

    Inconvénients

    I haven't been here long enough yet, so nothing to complain so far.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2016-04-12
  3. « Improving but micromanagement and hierarchy are stifling »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Learning Architect à Orlando, FL
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Houghton Mifflin Harcourt à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Smart, capable peers Work-at-home allowed Some smart change initiatives are underway

    Inconvénients

    Micromanagement stifles productivity and initiative Multiple levels of review/signoff for everything cause delays Inability to make timely decisions destroys schedules

    Conseils à la direction

    Renaming departments and product "innovation" will not solve the problems. The company is too hierarchical and top-heavy overall. Clear out an entire tier of VPs and aim for smaller, nimbler working groups.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-09-08
  4. « Great people »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Publicity Assistant 

    J'ai travaillé chez Houghton Mifflin Harcourt à temps plein

    Avantages

    The people are really great to work without.

    Inconvénients

    Not a lot of room to grow outside your career track.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-22
  5. « Excellent place to work and learn »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Associate Software Engineer à Dublin, Dublin
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Houghton Mifflin Harcourt à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    - Nice and welcoming people - Collaboration and communication in the team and between teams on a very good level - Orientation to use new technologies - Excellent place to work - Opportunities to improve your knowledge in every aspect - Excellent office location - Excellent work-life balance

    Inconvénients

    In 3 and a half months didn't find any cons which could be worth mentioning

    Conseils à la direction

    - Keep good work

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-21
  6. « Great mission »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Director à New York, NY
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Houghton Mifflin Harcourt à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Great vision and leadership

    Inconvénients

    Direction seems to be constantly changing in team

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-20
  7. « Good place to work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Employé actuel - Research Manager 

    Je travaille chez Houghton Mifflin Harcourt à temps plein

    Avantages

    Smart and hardworking coworkers, focused on improving learning

    Inconvénients

    Lots of silos, can be difficult to collaborate

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-19
  8. « Great work, great people »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Engineer(Internship) à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Houghton Mifflin Harcourt à temps partiel moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Got to do a lot more important work than a regular internship would usually allow, was surrounded by a supportive team, and loved the general environment of the office.

    Inconvénients

    Not much to dislike, documentation could be a bit stronger but that's about it.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-18
  9. Utile (3)

    « Fantastic engineering team at Boston, Exciting Time! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Staff Software Engineer à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Houghton Mifflin Harcourt à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Specializing in K-12 education, HMH remains committed to delivering engaging, dynamic, and effective educational content to more than 50 million students worldwide. Providing comprehensive learning solutions to help all students achieve their maximum potential, HMH serves as the leading source for personalized, flexible, and dynamic instruction. With that, it's an exciting time to be part of it! The Boston... engineering senior management model the true "servant leadership" principle, and always lead by examples. Engineers are empowered to explore different technologies and encouraged to have open discussions! Among that a "start-up" spirit has been injected into the culture and the "can do" attitude is always highly appreciated! There are weekly engineering lunch and learn sessions, end of Sprint demos to share knowledge and a comprehensive internship program with personal mentorship was set up last summer successfully and several interns have been turned into engineers. On top of that, the senior leadership goes above and beyond to bring training in house to give week long training to engineers on several cutting edge technologies and tools. Those are very well received! Senior leadership also holds monthly town hall meeting to welcome new comers, gives project updates, offer appreciates to all with job well done, and outlines the challenges and the road map ahead. There are many talented and passionate and hardworking engineers marching towards the great mission. Great location and easy commute. Summer flexible working hours are offered to all by the company. Engineers are friendly, helpful, collaborative adhere to agile process and always work as a team to help to deliver the committed features. It is truly exciting to be part of it!

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The project requirements need to be clarified and thought through, and lots of POs are remote and sometimes it's challenging to get them to answer questions.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep on doing the great job. Speed up the hiring process.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-06
  10. Utile (3)

    « Passionate group of smart people. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - User Experience Designer à Boston, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Houghton Mifflin Harcourt à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    I met so many friendly and smart people at HMH and I learned a huge amount from them in my three years at the company. People in all groups–sales, product, engineering, content and design–have great ideas, and are willing to talk about them. There’s a willingness to learn and to improve. The office is great, managers are flexible about working from home, and the benefits are good. I became friends with some of my... coworkers and I enjoyed going to work with them. It’s a great group of people to work with.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    The company can feel timid in terms of strategy. Engineering is somewhat understaffed, so progress can feel slow sometimes. Unlike many software companies, education is a seasonal industry, so workload and hours can vary a lot depending on time of year. There has been a lot of reorganization in the design and product group, and even though the company is going in a good direction, it’s been a rough trip. There... was one very questionable hire at the design managerial level that led to my departure. Thankfully they left. Salary is okay for the industry but not great.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    People are the most important thing you have. They’re crucial to the success of your products. Show your workers that they matter, and that their contributions have been noted.

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt2019-08-04
801 avis trouvés