Avis de Team Manager chez Financial Ombudsman Service | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Team Manager chez Financial Ombudsman Service

Mis à jour le sept. 15, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

19 avis trouvés

1.1
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
3%
Recommandent à un ami
64%
Approuvent le PDG
Financial Ombudsman Service CEO  Caroline Wayman  (no image)
Caroline Wayman
12 évaluations
  1. Utile (4)

    « lost it’s way »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Team Manager à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Financial Ombudsman Service à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Some great people (not at exec level), decent benefits, good location.

    Inconvénients

    Poor change management, atrocious regard for employees (both in the ‘new world’ and not

    Conseils à la direction

    too far gone to help

    Financial Ombudsman Service2019-09-15
  2. Utile (20)

    « started to go downhill »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Team Manager 

    J'ai travaillé chez Financial Ombudsman Service à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    was a highly respected organisation which prided itself an being experts in individual fields of financial services. was balanced and fair in it approach

    Inconvénients

    started to shift away from principles to be more focused on quantity instead of quality. organisation change not managed well. lack of communication. promotions for those within limited experience of senior management roles and jobs all round for the 'old boys'

    Financial Ombudsman Service2019-07-18
  3. Utile (27)

    « By the time fools have learned the game, the players would've dispersed. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Team Manager à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Financial Ombudsman Service à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    My direct colleagues, friends I've made - in general, the mere mortals who keep this ship floating are good people.

    Inconvénients

    Once upon a time, the organisation sold this dream of fairness, transparency and strong values - and it was almost believable. Today, you question the integrity of it's values and find yourself struggling for answers. You have leaders (not all) who lack people skills and got to where they are by sheer luck or a quiet nudge through cronyism. I say this objectively because I've been here long enough to see and... understand the mind-set that plagued even the once honourable of leaders. Constant changes is not the problem. The driver for this organisation with our customers is good communication. Internally however, this stinks of hypocrisy from the top. Staff development and investing in their people is all but a reactive thought rather than a primary intuition and initiative. I give Caroline her dues and it’s almost unfair she has to pick up the slack with the wrong doings of her peers. But it’s secretly known among the vast number of trusted and loyal employees, that her execs will rather pour poison in her ear or covertly betray her vision than be honest to the realities of the work place. Some say it’s desperate self-preservation of their positions, but I call it spineless adults who’ve forgotten there’s honour and respect in being humble about their mistakes. Yet, the wheels continue to wobble with the same leaders at the helm, who seem more engrossed with posturing than actually putting things in action. Eventually, people will stop caring. There is no decorum in this organisation’s lazy attempt at changing with the times. Intellectual evolution is not a right, it’s fought and earned with hard measures of better engagements and trusting in the people. But this statement may as well be a pipedream. The place I once gave my heart and soul has let me and many down. And it may well be my time for self-preservation to consciously protect myself from this environment.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Remind them that staff are also customers and how we're treated should be equal to the efforts we give our consumers.

    Financial Ombudsman Service2019-05-23
  4. Utile (25)

    « Why no changes to senior management team? »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Team Manager à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif

    Je travaille chez Financial Ombudsman Service à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Non-salary benefits are good. If you're desperate for a job, these are worth looking at. But look for work elsewhere first.

    Inconvénients

    In a previous review concerns were expressed that there is no accountability, at senior level, for the mess the Financial Ombudsman Service has become. By senior level I mean board & executive level, directors of casework and head of levels. This applies across all departments in the organisation including the inept Stakeholder Team. It's clear many staff ridicule senior management. And this has rapidly... turned to disgust because the quality of senior management hasn't improved and there has been zero accountability of senior managers demonstrated. Unfortunately, there’s precious little evidence that incompetence (including in the Stakeholder Team) has been dealt with. It’s clear that staff attitude to senior management has deteriorated from ridicule – to disgust and in some instances, contempt. Why? Because they just carry on without any challenge or sanction. How do all the executives, directors of casework and heads of retain their highly paid jobs? It’s really quite astonishing. I think it’s because they’ve all got each other’s backs. They know they can't risk be taken on by other organisations and would lose massive salaries that they’d never have achieved with any other employers. There have been strong indicators for several years that the ability of senior management has been lacking. The evidence and indicators were clear. For example - poor feedback in staff engagement surveys, abysmal feedback from focus groups, high staff turnover, dreadful reviews on Glassdoor, the publicly available independent report commissioned following the embarrassing Dispatches documentary and now the concern expressed by the Treasury Select Committee. And yet many unqualified, inexperienced and incompetent senior managers carry on regardless. It's quite obvious our CEO needs to undertake a wide ranging shake-up of her executive team and other senior mangers. There are now some doomed attempts to pull the service out of its nose dive. For all our sakes let’s hope they work. But surely you don’t then leave the executives and senior management whose misjudgements caused the mess in the first place, to remain in post. No wonder many staff feel contempt towards lots of them. Move some on for all our sakes; our CEO and Chairman must demonstrate they won’t tolerate individuals whose incompetence has let them down so badly. Replace them with dynamic, forward thinking, academically and managerially qualified people who have proven track records of turning failing organisations round. It's hard to see things improving quickly enough unless this happens.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    There needs to be an urgent review of the quality, competence and qualifications senior managers and heads of have. Our former CEO put all junior managers through assessment centres when she arrived because she wanted to know the quality of her resources at that level. I don’t believe she subjected her senior management team to such examination. Now is the time to do so. Audit the qualifications (academic /... management / professional) of senior staff first. External consultants will then be needed to run rigorous assessment centres reviewing the abilities of senior staff. Don’t leave the Stakeholder Team out of this. Move those that fail on and bring in a fresh management team to move things forward. The sigh of relief from everyone else will be audible. Let’s hope Glassdoor reviews aren't so negative in 12 months time. They will be if the same old senior managers are still there!

    Dérouler
    Financial Ombudsman Service2018-08-13
  5. Utile (33)

    « Lost it’s way! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Team Manager à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Financial Ombudsman Service à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Great people, good benefits. Rewarding job, helping others.

    Inconvénients

    In a downwards spiral. Everyone understood a need for change and relevance and sustainability but the direction chosen by the powers that be has turned the place into turmoil. They seem to have lost a sense in direction and continue to press ahead. One of the major things is sustainability yet the cost per case is at an all time high. Staff from senior management to support staff are feeling thbetter strain and... lack the relevant support. They’ve taken on 200 external investigators whom have been stuck in an academy getting all the support they can when their existing investigators have been poorly trained and lacked support due to leadership from Ombudsman Managers who were out of their depth to begin with. They have sacrificed or reduced departments within the organisation whose support was fundamental to the running of the service, this has been replaced to overstretched staff juggling too many things at once and in turn this is affecting the consumers. Latest is that an undercover journo has infiltrated the service to expose the poor training, this is to be aired on TV in the next 2 weeks. Such a shame and an embarrassment.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Start again, bring in some fresh ideas that are relevant and help to make the organisation sustainable. Plenty of great people and experi nice on the place, rather than go for an 80’s sales theme (which clearly isn’t the answer), courtesy of PWC who haven’t a clue - utilise the knowledge you have in house.

    Financial Ombudsman Service2018-02-21
  6. Utile (61)

    « Never push loyal people to a point they no longer care. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Team Manager à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Financial Ombudsman Service à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    There are some amazing people working here at a first-line manager level and as adjudicator/investigator. I have no idea why they're still here, because they're far better than this place, but they're the ones doing the hard work to hold it all together. I'm NOT talking about the senior leaders group, just to be clear. Also there's a free gym, if you hadn't picked up on it from all the other reviews.

    Inconvénients

    1. Caroline. In my 15+ years of professional life I've never encountered a leader so uninspiring and so uninvolved with the day-to-day goings on of the place. An example: a massive organisational restructure that is handled poorly and results in hundreds of people suddenly losing their planned career progression route and therefore investment in the organisation. When faced with the resulting sudden spike in... attrition / questions from the media (about this site in particular), she then commissions survey after focus group after survey about 'engagement' as a way to pretend she's "listening" but in reality is just asking the same questions again and again in the hope of finding an answer she likes. When the feedback inevitably comes back as "we understand change is sometimes necessary but you handled that awfully and we're feeling really insecure in our jobs", she then sends an email round to all front-line management saying THEY have work to do. Leadership. 2. Every department/area has their own narrow-minded objective which seemingly isn't coordinated by any senior leadership. It is a rarety to find individuals who are strategically-minded enough to think outside only their own area of responsibility (read: not lazy) but those that do - almost exclusively at adjudicator/investigator/team manager level - are unrewarded and unappreciated by their own short-sighted and lazy senior managers. 3. Recruitment. It's a joke. External - wrong job title/salary advertised by HR/Resourcing , no coordination of criteria or standards across interviewers, laziness & incompetence in processing of candidates leading to delays in start dates. Internal - "hey you're an entry-grade ombudsman with no managerial experience would you like to be an 'ombudsman manager' now with the responsibility to manage 5 people? oh don't worry you don't need an interview or to wait for us to actually advertise vacancies, it's yours because it's quicker". "Yes I know it's taken 8 months to give you generic feedback on your unsuccessful application to an internal role but even though a vacancy has opened again now you can't reapply because you haven't had time to take the feedback on board yet".

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    1. Front up. Be honest with decision making - if it's going to be a tough message, just deliver it. If mistakes have been made, then acknowledge that and explain the plan to get out of this mess. 2. LIVE THE VALUES. Remember those? Do what we say we'll do? Treat people well and respect their needs?

    Financial Ombudsman Service2017-08-28
  7. Utile (43)

    « The sad truth »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Team Manager à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Financial Ombudsman Service à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Current and former staff have found a medium to express their sadness and disappointment with the direction we've taken as an organisation through this site - today ranking second lowest in the telegraph's some of the worst 10 companies to work for - according to its own staff.

    Inconvénients

    When I joined the service I was very proud of us, my job and our role in society. Our previous CEO had a clear vision, believed in our people, our leaders and our technical expertise. We valued our colleagues in the support/front line areas. We wanted to do our best for the consumers and businesses who relied on us to be professional and fair. When PPI erupted we knew we had to change our business model. We accepted... the changes that happened - and we were kept well informed. And we accepted change would happen again when PPI's end was in sight - as it now it is, when the FCA's time limit kicks in August. But the changes that have been implemented have been poorly communicated and as many have already said on here simply isn't working for our more complicated cases. Time and time again we're seeing mistakes made by colleagues who simply don't have the skills, knowledge and experience needed. Our CEO is a disaster, we're becoming unfit for purpose, a shadow of our of former selves and if you're a consumer it seems we'll say anything to get rid of you as quickly as we can. We don't care if you have a genuine case, we just want to get shot of you as soon as we can. Businesses - you know far more than your customers, so please, we'd be grateful if you could just make clever arguments for us so we can cut and paste... helps us meet our targets to get rid of cases asap. And please bear with us if we put you on hold for 20mins/offer to call you back - we're just checking Wikipedia or Google because we haven't a clue...

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    The message given to us managers is that we're a waste of space. So I give this advice - offer us redundancy. And if you're a member of our board reading this, shame on you. In the past two years, despite the various negative reviews on here, the feedback from focus groups and surveys, we've had absolute silence from you on the issues raised about how the changes have been handled. I really look forward to the next... time you tell us what a great job the 'leadership team' have done and how great our managers are doing... to be later told the reason behind all the changes is in fact because we're all rubbish . My advice to all of you in top jobs is to keep milking it for all it's worth. Very few of us who actually care about the service can do anything about it other than slate you here - and on our 'internal' surveys.

    Dérouler
    Financial Ombudsman Service2017-07-05
  8. Utile (27)

    « Was the best place ever to work for ....... »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Team Manager à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Financial Ombudsman Service à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    The amazing people, the fab gym, the location and the good benefits .......no more words to put here but have to

    Inconvénients

    Honestly, pretty much everything written on here is true. This is no longer the place it was, the values we had and the respect for the staff has gone. The service given is appalling and I don't think anyone knows how to get out of the mess it now is. Sad sad times as this was without a doubt the best place I ever worked. Saying that I made the best decision of my life to get out. I only hope all my friends still... working there are going to be ok.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Admit you are wrong, rethink your strategy and get the place back on track

    Financial Ombudsman Service2017-07-06
  9. Utile (17)

    « Was a nice place to work but Is going the wrong way »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Team Manager à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Financial Ombudsman Service à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    BUPA easy to get to reasonable benefits nice people was a good place to work but not now lots of people leaving

    Inconvénients

    I had to leave this place. I spoke to a colleague who is an investigator and he told me he is subject to the PWC charts. They spend time creating charts or the best one which supposedly motivates you. Remember to bring your crayons at the next .huddle To be honest the place is losing its grip. It is more obsessed with diversity and charity rather than look at its employees. I hear your training for an investigator... is very short and then you are an expert. I hope the IFA's are aware of the"expertise " at the FOS making decisions on their complaints. I bet the ones who are going to mass claims cannot wait for when the red flag cases have to be dealt with by the investigators. Those adjudicators that are waiting to go to mass claims should limit the cases they take on going forward it might help. Good luck but don't sit back for redundancy as it won't happen.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Stop listening to people who will always agree with you. It's not the fashion take what has with Brexit and Trump

    Financial Ombudsman Service2017-01-28
  10. Utile (47)

    « Crack on! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Team Manager à Londres, Angleterre
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Financial Ombudsman Service à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Lovely people, thank goodness for them! Office space is really nice and colourful and great gym with cheap classes. Free tea and coffee.

    Inconvénients

    Crack on, the CEO's most recent catch phrase. It's about time some heads were cracked together! What on earth are the exec doing to the service? They say the new way is working, if it really was - I am sure they would showing us the statistics, I've never seen any of them. Seen plenty of horror stories where we clearly are not giving a good service, that's for sure. All this feedback that's being given as to how... it's not working - the board and exec should be ashamed for not getting involved and getting a message out to staff to either reassure them or explain themselves. Burying their heads in the sand? No one sees hide nor hair of any of them. We've been told we should all know our fate just before Christmas- well done it's only taken you over a year to tell us. It's such a shame as it used to be an amazing place to work, we are losing so many experienced, good staff because of all of these changes. I love change, does us all good - but it needs to be a change that will benefit our customers. This one isn't.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Come out of the basement where you are all hiding and face facts this isn't working.

    Financial Ombudsman Service2016-10-27
19 avis trouvés