Avis sur FRHI Hotels & Resorts | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur FRHI Hotels & Resorts

Mis à jour le 7 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

106 avis trouvés

3.9
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
73%
Recommandent à un ami
87%
Approuvent le PDG
FRHI Hotels & Resorts CEO William R. Fatt
William R. Fatt
33 évaluations
  1. « Business Analyst »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez FRHI Hotels & Resorts à moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Great people to work alongside, thoughtful and well run organization

    Inconvénients

    Diversity within the upper management both in terms of gender and ethnicity

    Conseils à la direction

    Consider growing your executive team to reflect the wealth and diversity of the organization

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-08-24
  2. « Zero stars if I could »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Assistant Manager à Ottawa, ON
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez FRHI Hotels & Resorts à temps plein

    Avantages

    Honestly.... none. Some of the team were amazing people, and I made some solid friendships during my brief but miserable time working for Fairmont.

    Inconvénients

    The worst and most demeaning job I have ever had. Where to even begin? Forget about work life balance. I was paid a $40,000 salary, which was already poor to begin with given my responsibilities, but that was based on the expectation I would be working 8 hours a day, 40 hours a week. Well. I was regularly expected to be at work for 12 straight hours, on most days. Since there was no overtime offered for managers,... that meant I was forced to give these people 4 hours of my work and sweat every day for free. I'd regularly be at work from 5:45AM - 6:45PM. Oftentimes without a lunch break. Speaking of lunch... This was a hotel. They had immense quantities of good quality food around. But the staff cafeteria was a sad hole in the basement, furnished with discarded pieces from around the hotel. The quality of the food was outrageously bad. Stale pasta, greasy cuts of "meat" that were more sinew and bone than anything else, all swimming in oily sauce. Oh and regular staff had to pay $5 for this. I was yelled at every single day by my boss, often in front of people. It was a soul crushing, dispiriting, miserable experience I would not wish on anyone. Fairmont talks a big game about what a great company they are to work for. It's a lie. Unpaid training happens regularly. Abuse from above is constant. Ya the the employee discount at Fairmont properties around the world seems like a great deal. Until you realize you will never have the time to travel. If you're thinking of working for these slave drivers, RUN AWAY. As a parting example, in the past year 4 people came and went in my old position. What a vote of confidence!

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Respect your middle management and your staff. Treat people like human beings. Understand that driving someone into the dirt so that they quit in 6 months and you hire another innocent before ruining them as well is not a sustainable strategy.

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-07-30
  3. « More than a contact centre »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez FRHI Hotels & Resorts à

    Avantages

    Great co-workers Pay Travel perks Benefits Pension Opportunity for advancement-on going training

    Inconvénients

    Shift work is not for everybody, but we have to start somewhere

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-06-09
  4. « Intern »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Opportunités de carrière
     à Toronto, ON

    J'ai travaillé chez FRHI Hotels & Resorts à moins d'un an

    Avantages

    A good company to work for

    Inconvénients

    I'm only just an intern

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-05-25
  5. « Call Center »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
     
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez FRHI Hotels & Resorts à

    Avantages

    If you are english, you get fairly flexible schedule where you can ask for days off and to leave early and have earlier shifts. if you plan on going on a vacation, the rates with certian companies and with the hotels are great for the employees. The supervisors, bosses and people teaching training are all very lovely people who will more likely than not make your day better. You get an evaluation every month and... the supervisors have tact when pointing out your mistakes. Make sure you LOVE talking on the phone to have a good time.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    If you are bilinguals, you will find that they do not hire enough people so you have to asks months in advance for time off. Working night shifts (finishing between ten and midnight) was exhausting to me so I sometimes needed an extra day off in the month but I couldn't get them. The pay is alright and you get an extra dollar if you are bilingual, but you get much more calls than others as French calls are not... counted by the system. If you want to work with them as bilingual, ask if they fixed this, or you will have many more calls than your english coworkers.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Fix the system that count calls and hire more bilingual employees. If you already did, then I am very happy for all your employees! I regretted signing up as bilingual because of this, even if that gave me an extra dollar an hour. The training and staff are lovely however, keep the good work on that!

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-05-13
  6. « Senior Tax Analyst »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à Toronto, ON
    Recommande

    Je travaille chez FRHI Hotels & Resorts à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Growth, Great Team, Work Life Balance

    Inconvénients

    None .None .None .None .None .

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-04-07
  7. « Director »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Director à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue négatif

    Je travaille chez FRHI Hotels & Resorts à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Amazing Culture and Great Perks

    Inconvénients

    Currently being acquired by a large French hotel company

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep the amazing culture you have cultivated over the past 100+ years and don't let the merger interrupt business.

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-03-16
  8. « Awesome Co-Op term »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Marketing Analytics Intern à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez FRHI Hotels & Resorts à

    Avantages

    Nice open office space on the 34th floor overlooking Toronto, amazing coffee machines. Supervisor is nice and experienced in working with Co-ops. Great work-life balance

    Inconvénients

    Gets spikes in workload before major holidays ( in marketing analytics) but otherwise the workload is relatively light.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep up the good work. Great place for Co-op

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2016-01-20
  9. « Lack of trust leads to poor organization and efficiency »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Opportunités de carrière
     à Calgary, AB
    Ne recommande pas

    J'ai travaillé chez FRHI Hotels & Resorts à

    Avantages

    I worked at the Fairmont Palliser in the food service department. I'm afraid there were few pros to the job, especially because I did not receive benefits because I was not full-time. You are provided a free hot meal during your shift, and sometimes even the leftovers the guests do not eat.

    Inconvénients

    I found the management was disorganized at times and rarely trusted servers to make decisions, especially in banquets. If you expect to hold a tight leash on your employees then you must provide them with adequate resources, training, and event information so they can perform their duties to the best of their ability. Otherwise, they will be left ill-equipped and inefficient. Due in part to the unionized... environment, seniority was a major issue and newer employees were ignored or patronised by senior employees and given the least desirable jobs and shifts. They are also always cut first, even if it means a senior employee will then have to be given overtime. I understand the "pay your dues" expectation found in much of the hospitality industry, but you cannot expect to improve employee retention if you make new employees feel so unwelcome and unappreciated.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Nurture your employees and appreciate them. In a unionized environment it is paramount that management ensures all employees feel welcome regardless of their seniority.

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2015-10-24
  10. « leadership development participant »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez FRHI Hotels & Resorts à temps plein

    Avantages

    always a learning curve great exposure to how a hotel functions really friendly and outgoing staff

    Inconvénients

    too many politics between departments

    Conseils à la direction

    Senior Management needs to be held more accountable for their actions

    FRHI Hotels & Resorts2015-11-13
106 avis trouvés