Avis de English As A Second Language Teacher chez EF English First | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : English As A Second Language Teacher chez EF English First

Mis à jour le Sep 12, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

5 avis trouvés

1.4
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
2%
Recommandent à un ami
4%
Approuvent le PDG
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
3 évaluations
  1. Utile (1)

    « more cons than pros »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - English As A Second Language Teacher 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    sense of community in the office, lovely to work with local teachers

    Inconvénients

    Your salary hardly goes up, there are no HR resources at all, paid way less than other teachers at language centres, duties far exceed what one it told in the beginning, no paid sick leave, some centres very rundown compared to other high tech and comfortable ones.

    Continuer à lire
    EF English First2019-09-13
  2. « Pick another school »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - English As A Second Language Teacher à Jiaxing
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Paperwork once you land is mostly done for you.

    Inconvénients

    From worst to least worst: * EF Management will not keep their word. I worked there for 9 months then put in my two months notice and even have screenshots of my DoS saying my work visa would be transferred to my new school. EF waited until my last week to tell me they, and the investors, were refusing to transfer my work visa and I’d have to return to the USA in a few days or I’d be in the country illegally and face jail time. I am now in the US. * EF will go behind your back and cancel your permits without your consent or knowledge but inform you last minute. * You aren’t actually trained but are instructed to observe a fellow teacher and after a week begin co- teaching then receive the classes from the teacher who left before you. I went without a Senior Teacher observing me ever for 8 months and received no feedback. * The curriculum is very slow moving and poorly planned. Students in Small Stars (whether in Blue, A,B, or C) will learn to parrot questions and answers but aren’t actually learning how to have a conversation. It’s almost as if the authors of the curriculum spread out a course book over several courses and levels. Students in Small Stars, version 2.0 or 3.0, will learn the “what is it? It’s a ___” structure and really only two other structures which are “do you like____? Yes I do / no I don’t” and “how many___? 3 ___”. They can’t actually ask a native English speaker about themselves but they can ask “what time do you go home in the evening?” Even after going from Small Stars Blue through Small Stars C. It’s not conducive to interacting with native English speakers or foreigners. * The schedule for the following week will be made Sunday evening or even Monday of that week. * Newest teachers will be assigned Marketing Events due to their free schedule. Marketing at EF Jiaxing was a nightmare where I would speak to someone a week prior about an event I was assigned to only to be told nothing was needed of me except my attendance and participation. Come the day of the marketing team member would frantically ask me to prepare something like a report to read students or flash cards for a recent holiday then tell me the event isn’t 30 minutes as on my schedule but two hours. Also it isn’t in the center anymore it’s at a library on a stage. * The weekly workshops at EF Jiaxing contain no development or educational value. They are workshops for 3 hours that contain menial tasks corporate didn’t want to bother with and handed them down the ladder.

    Continuer à lire
    EF English First2019-09-05
  3. « Such a shame »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - English As A Second Language Teacher à Pékin, Pékin
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Get to work in multiple locations abroad.

    Inconvénients

    They lie about paying you back for flights (I was told this would happen as soon as I arrived but it actually comes in monthly installments). Seriously overworked and underpaid. They claim to offer language lessons, but with the great firewall of China none of us can access online lessons - pointless. Don't offer any help/guidance after first week. Upper management typically don't speak English at all, so if you have a problem with your boss there are very few solutions. Racism is a problem within China and although I never encountered this I was told it happened to other people within other EF offices.

    Continuer à lire
    EF English First2019-07-08

    Réponse de EF English First

    July 12, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank-you for your post. We are sorry to hear that you are unable to take advantage of our online Chinese language lessons. We did some initial testing from Beijing this morning and didn’t experience any problems using a PC or Mobile. We did, however, experience some delays accessing the online classroom. We have escalated this issue to IT, for more expertise testing and they will follow up with the IT team in Beijing to further test any potential firewall issues. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we apologize for the inconvenience. It would be great if you can reach out to me personally so we can further investigate this issue. In terms of your flight reimbursement, please reach out to me as well at Mario.Bermeo@ef.com so I can collect the needed information to look into this matter.

    Continuer à lire
  4. « It was fine »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - English As A Second Language Teacher à Hangzhou, Zhejiang
    Ne recommande pas

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    I loved the people I worked with. I thought the salary was pretty decent. I liked the shift work. It was great getting Thursday and Friday off.

    Inconvénients

    None that won't make me sound like I have an ax to grind so nevermind. Thank you for the opportunity and I'll leave it at that. Cheers.

    Continuer à lire
    EF English First2019-01-05

    Réponse de EF English First

    March 24, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for your very positive post. We are happy to hear that you loved the people you worked with, as this is very important in any job. We are also very pleased to hear that you were happy with your salary and enjoyed having Thursday/Friday as your days off. If you have any further feedback, we encourage you to share it with us at teacher.feedback@ef.com. Although we love positive posts, we also appreciate learning about areas where we can improve.

    Continuer à lire
  5. Utile (2)

    « Overall a Pretty Good Place to Work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - English As A Second Language Teacher à Bengbu
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    -Decent pay that arrives on time -Lots of support and training once you arrive -Help with living and navigating life overseas -Chances for advancement are possible with hard work - Interesting coworkers and a good working atmosphere

    Inconvénients

    -High turnover, lots of people stay for just a year and then move on -Sometimes can get a bit hectic and stressful, especially during the busy summer months when you have to teach your normal course load plus summer classes during the week -Sales pressure creeps into the lives of teachers a bit more than it should- generally the business and education goals of the company are balanced but sometimes the former is given too much importance

    EF English First2018-11-03
5 avis trouvés