Avis sur EF English First | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur EF English First

Mis à jour le 13 oct. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

3.1
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
52%
Recommandent à un ami
57%
Approuvent le PDG
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
150 évaluations
  1. « Sales Sales Sales »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Director of Studies 
    Ne recommande pas

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Most of the employees are hard working and really want to make a difference. Some of the academic managers are nice and want to help you develop. Students and parents are friendly and fin, and the facilities are generally well maintained and new.

    Inconvénients

    If you come to Guangzhou is is all about politics, they have fired people on maternity leave (moved them to inferior positions) the GM moves people on a whim, decides she doesn't like someone and then gets rid of them. The experience completely depends on manager. If you are foreign you are not respected, the only thing that matters is the CD and making a sale. They don't care about your opinion, your complaints or... your ideas. The rules are rigid and there is no room for flexibility or creativity. Foreign Director of Studies rarely last long as the sales and marketing teams rule, Academics or very far down on the list. It is a popularity contest, if the GM likes you than a position will open up, they will move people around, demote, promote, get rid of or do what needs to be done to ensure they are surrounded by yes people. Good managers struggle as the current environment favors always saying yes, being beholden to sales and parroting the scripts handed down from shanghai.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    focus on Academics not sales all the time. Treat foreigners with respect and not contempt.

    EF English First2019-07-15
  2. Utile (1)

    « Ehhhhh »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Native Teacher à Jakarta
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    good place to get experience,

    Inconvénients

    the working hours to say the least suck, since it's an English center you are expected to be working from 12pm to 8pm although classes usually start at 3pm , 430 pm, or 630 pm- class times range from 1hr, 1hr 20 min and 3 hrs on week ends. As a native teacher you're first two months you will be expected to work 6 days a week with just one day off. after that you will get an extra day off. Pay in Indonesia is... usually low about 850- 900$ a month relative to the median wage its decent but there are better places to teach English and make money. You only get 10 days paid leave and a handful of holidays.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Working hours should be more flexible, There should be at least two native teachers per branch, more vacation days.

    EF English First2019-06-17

    Réponse de EF English First

    June 21, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for sharing your experience. It's great to hear that you feel you are gaining good experience. Regarding the working hours and schedule, due to the nature of our industry it's important that we schedule classes on evenings and weekends as they are the peak times. We ask teachers to start work at 12:00 so there is enough time to prepare for classes. We recognize that work-life balance and having a sense of community in centers are important for many of our teachers. We are currently working hard to minimize 6-day work weeks and ensure there is more than one International Teacher in each center.

    Réduire
  3. « Low salary not enough benefits »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Foreign Teacher à Jiaxing
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Offer opportunities to further your career. They promise you a lot of things

    Inconvénients

    Long hours on the weekends. We didn’t have any office hours before but the management pressured us to be at the school at 40 hrs a week since few months ago and implemented a fingerprint system. Now this is fine if only it was mentioned in our contracts. When i got interviewed the DoS actually said we never expect you to be at the office you’re not teaching but things changed so quickly after i signed the contract.... As a training center that doesn’t offer nowhere near as high salary as other centers, the only benefit of working at EF was the no office hours rule but now that’s gone. We’re expected to be at work like full time public school teachers who are getting paid twice our salary. Not to mention the peak seasons such as summer and winter course, then we have to be at work from morning till night 6 days a week with no additional pay, no overtime whatsoever. The center i worked at constantly put pressure on teachers, made them compete w each other when it comes to demo sales, retention, summer course sales etc. There is a big board in the office where each teacher has their target number for summer course and retention. Whenever a student of a teacher signs up they add it to their target to ‘motivate’ teachers when in reality it puts so much stress and pressure on teachers. It haunts us everytime we look at it. The management team looks at teachers as assets, means to make money and only that. Never as humanbeings w feelings. You’re only as good as your numbers. That’s how i felt all the time. Also there is a referral system where when you refer someone and they come and complete the probation period you get certain amount of money. I referred someone a yr ago and this person has come and completed their probation 3 months ago. I still haven’t gotten the referral payment and the person who is in charge of this stopped answering my emails so after a lot of unanswered emails i contacted them on their wechat and was left on read. My contract with them is up this weekend and i’m not sure if i’m ever gonna see that referral bonus.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Have your expectations clear and mention everything in the contract. Don’t try to change things up in the middle of contract. Properly reward and compensate your teachers because the turnover rate is insanely high and i believe it’s related to that. Pay the referral bonus or no one will want to refer anyone to the company.

    EF English First2019-07-09

    Réponse de EF English First

    July 12, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your detailed post. Our recruitment team works hard to set clear expectations, particularly when it comes to teaching schedules and office hours. We regret if this was not the case for you. In terms of your referral bonus, we are happy to look into this for you. Perhaps we could schedule a call to learn more about your experience? Please reach out to me at Mario.Bermeo @ef.com

    Réduire
  4. « Such a shame »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - English As A Second Language Teacher à Pékin, Pékin
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Get to work in multiple locations abroad.

    Inconvénients

    They lie about paying you back for flights (I was told this would happen as soon as I arrived but it actually comes in monthly installments). Seriously overworked and underpaid. They claim to offer language lessons, but with the great firewall of China none of us can access online lessons - pointless. Don't offer any help/guidance after first week. Upper management typically don't speak English at all, so if... you have a problem with your boss there are very few solutions. Racism is a problem within China and although I never encountered this I was told it happened to other people within other EF offices.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    1) Keep your promises 2) Pay fair wages/ set realistic working hours 3) Listen to and ask for staff opinions

    EF English First2019-07-08

    Réponse de EF English First

    July 12, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank-you for your post. We are sorry to hear that you are unable to take advantage of our online Chinese language lessons. We did some initial testing from Beijing this morning and didn’t experience any problems using a PC or Mobile. We did, however, experience some delays accessing the online classroom. We have escalated this issue to IT, for more expertise testing and they will follow up with the IT team in Beijing to further test any potential firewall issues. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we apologize for the inconvenience. It would be great if you can reach out to me personally so we can further investigate this issue. In terms of your flight reimbursement, please reach out to me as well at Mario.Bermeo@ef.com so I can collect the needed information to look into this matter.

    Réduire
  5. « English Teacher T2 »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - T2 Englishness Specialist à Pékin, Pékin
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Visa service is good, the job is easy, and the workplace is very social.

    Inconvénients

    The pay is low, the holidays are minimal, the benefits are non-existent, and the way they treat employees is gross. The schedule is also terrible, working on weekends sucks.

    Conseils à la direction

    Treat your employees better, and pay your employees better.

    EF English First2019-07-07
  6. « Overview of being an international teacher at EF »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - International Teacher à Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    - VISA process is super easy, to a point that all you need to do is provide what they need and it will be done for you - opportunity to learn the local language - career mobility within the company - initial teaching certificate provided and then if you want to advance, you will have a 50% off in the more advanced certificates - lots opportunities to travel - great healthcare and employee benefits and perks -... very supportive recruiting team to help before your arrival

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    - salary is not the best - work hours can be long if you work at kids school (not teens school, and not sure about adults and online) - not being able to have saturday and sunday off, but instead you get two days during the week off

    EF English First2019-05-28

    Réponse de EF English First

    June 3, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for sharing about your experience at EF. We are thrilled to hear about your positive experience relocating to China and that you've felt supported through the certifications, training programs and benefits provided. We take pride in this and ensure teachers receive ongoing development and opportunities for career growth. We know that teachers work very hard at EF and we value everything they do. We understand not having Saturday and Sunday off work can be unconventional for some, however, weekends are our peak hours due to the nature of our business. We do make sure everyone gets two days during the week as you've highlighted in your post.

    Réduire
  7. « More cons than pros. They sell you faulty dreams. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - English Teacher à Pékin, Pékin
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    I do not have many pros to say about the company. A good experience to live in another country and to gain teaching experience.

    Inconvénients

    I am going to be completely honest. The pay is not good at all. EF will tell you they have a competitive pay in China but they do not. EF cannot keep teachers because of the pay. You earn 13,000 yuan and jobs pay more than 20,000 yuan with free housing. When you arrive in China with EF, they will offer you a loan for housing to move in but they will deduct your pay every month. China tax your pay, you have to pay... for housing from your check, and your own health insurance. By the time you pay for housing, taxes, and insurance, you have lost more than 60% of your pay. They only give you 10 leave days and depends on when you arrive that year, you may not get the full 10. Schools give you weeks of leave pay. They also overwork you without pay. Overtime pay is not worth it and you do not see a difference in pay. If you are a colored person, be ready for racism. You work all day on the weekends. Don't expect to travel a lot because you don't have time or enough money. In order to get a raise, you have to wait months and take TK exams to earn extra pay. And you have to pay 500 yuan for each exam. It can take over 6 months to see a 2,000 yuan of extra pay. Save your time and energy and work for the right company.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Better pay and better management.

    EF English First2019-06-30

    Réponse de EF English First

    July 7, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    It's good to hear that you enjoy living abroad and value the teaching experience you are gaining. We review salary structures on a regular basis to ensure that they are competitive and allow our teachers to live a comfortable lifestyle in the larger cities. In addition to the base salary we ofter performance and qualification bonuses, and a comprehensive package including, but not limited to, paid visas, flight allowance, annual leave, national holidays, health insurance, and ongoing training and development opportunities. EF is an equal opportunity employer, and we do not stand for discrimination of any kind. If you feel that you are being discriminated against, please reach out to us at compliance.china@ef.com to discuss.

    Réduire
  8. « Good starter job »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Foreign Language Teacher à Shanghai, Shanghai

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Organized and helps you set up easily.

    Inconvénients

    Long working hours and experience can vary wildly in different schools/cities.

    EF English First2019-05-24
  9. « Don't come here for money »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Teacher 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    -The children are incredible and a joy to be around -They take care of getting you to China

    Inconvénients

    To start with, most of the things they tell you and advertise to get you here are a lie. Even the contract says you will have all PRC holidays off yet you are required to come in to sit at your desk twiddling your thumbs for five hours just because. Against what the contract says. Out of the other jobs in my city we are paid the very least even though going to the school is the most expensive in the city. We have... the fewest off days for holidays and sometimes they are split (so mark off all the vacations they say you can go on). We work more than the other schools in the city even over 40 hours weekly yet no extra pay for that. They discourage any friendship in the office. We were even told not to associate with non-EF employees. Please do not get trapped here.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    You wonder why your teacher turn-over rate is so high yet you treat your teachers like trash you can throw out at any time. Show your teachers you actually value them and let them have the life you advertise. If not then start being honest before hiring people. That's an immoral way to run a business.

    EF English First2019-06-28

    Réponse de EF English First

    July 7, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your post. We are happy to hear that you enjoy being around your students and that you appreciate our assistance regarding your relocation to China. The Public holiday calendar is set by the Chinese government, and unfortunately, holiday days are sometimes split. All full-time EF positions, teaching, and non-teaching are based on a 40 hour work week. For teachers, this allows sufficient time for lesson planning, administrative work, and training and professional development sessions.

    Réduire
  10. Utile (2)

    « EF Nanjing, the place to be if you have zero self respect and a lack of basic human decency. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - T1 Teacher à Nanjin, Jiangsu
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Paid on time. Jeff. Fantastic trainer and a genuinely great and supportive guy. It's a shame the company isn't built on his values.

    Inconvénients

    Low salary. Terrible holiday policy. 3 month notice period if you want to leave. Threatened multiple times that they wouldn't give the documents they are legally obligated to provide if I didn't do exactly as they want. Uncooperative and rude toward the company I joined after. Overworked. Terrible working environment. An overcrowded office with no windows, classrooms with no windows. People are constantly sick... all year round. They lie in their advertisements. They lure you in under the pretence that you will be able to come to China and travel but the reality is you never have time. Your days off are Monday and Tuesdays and work hours are anti-social. 10 days of holiday a year is a joke considering you can't use them for 5 months of the year, speaking of which you are forced to work 6 days a week during and no additional pay. They don't care about the service at all, all they care about is how much money they can get out of the parents no matter the means. They have consistently lied and refused to give refunds when found out. Insanely high turnover off staff due to poor contract and poor treatment. The PA's are forced into telling lies constantly to parents, When people who gave 3 months notice left the company the parents were only told the day before they left. Excuses like a family member died or they are leaving to get married were used often. Promise everyone there are career advancement opportunities. The reality is there's not. With 1 position opening up are all 20 promised going to get the promotion? On top of that the contract is still laughable with almost no increase in benefits.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Teaching is about kids not how much money you can extract from the parents. Don't expand so aggressively if your only choice is to constantly push for parents for more money. (3 months in to 12 months of classes and you are pushing PA's to get the parents to buy more... Come on..) You are never going to keep good teachers while the contract remains so poor. Doesn't really seem like a priority though, the business... model clearly relies on getting fresh graduates,

    Dérouler
    EF English First2019-06-21

    Réponse de EF English First

    June 26, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your post, and recognizing your trainer Jeff for his great work and dedication. You raise a number of concerning points. We would value the opportunity to speak with you by phone or by email. Please reach out to us at teacher.feedback@ef.com.

392 avis trouvés