Avis sur EF English First | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur EF English First

Mis à jour le 16 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

381 avis trouvés

3.1
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
55%
Recommandent à un ami
66%
Approuvent le PDG
EF English First CEO 	Jacob Toren (no image)
Jacob Toren
144 évaluations
  1. « English Teacher »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein

    Avantages

    Great company atmosphere and people.

    Inconvénients

    No comments. Great culture and communication.

    EF English First2019-02-10

    Réponse de EF English First

    March 24, 2019Vice President

    Thanks for your feedback! We're so happy to hear you enjoy and appreciate our company culture and environment. One of the things we really focus on is making sure our teachers have a happy environment to work in and we try to create a culture of open communication to make sure all ...

    Dérouler
  2. « Foreign English Teacher »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Foreign English Teacher 
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Excellent compensation. There's also excellent support from local staff for help with visas, settling in, housing, healthcare and more.

    Inconvénients

    The workload is too high. Teachers very often teach more than 24 contact hours each week, which is exhausting and unfortunately makes teaching quality lessons to all students impossible.

    Conseils à la direction

    Hire more teachers, both foreign and local, so that the teachers can have a more manageable workload and not be overworked. Invest more in training support staff (teaching assistants) so that they feel confident when working in the classroom.

    EF English First2019-01-18

    Réponse de EF English First

    March 24, 2019Vice President

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at EF. It's a big commitment to come to China, and we do our best to make the relocation as smooth and worry-free as possible. We are therefore very happy to hear that you had a very positive onboarding and felt well looked after ...

    Dérouler
  3. « Teacher »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein

    Avantages

    a lot of opportunity

    Inconvénients

    does not pay for accommodations

    EF English First2018-05-30
  4. Utile (2)

    « A Great company to work for! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    ESL Teacher 
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à

    Avantages

    They allowed me to work independently and come up with my own ideas for Life Clubs. Fellow employees were very friendly and worked together as a team.

    Inconvénients

    Had to spend downtime in the office when we didn't have any classes. Management wasn't always flexible about giving us the ability to change our schedule.

    Conseils à la direction

    From what I have heard, the management structure has changed and improved since I left.

    EF English First2016-09-05
  5. « Great Environment »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Education Manager à Canton, Guangdong
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    - Great Environment - Great Company Culture - Friendly Co-Workers (I would call them my brothers-in-arms) - A lot of training (optional, not mandatory ) -

    Inconvénients

    - Promotion Structure is by seniority - Managers never leave so harder for people to get promoted

    Conseils à la direction

    Create more vertical & horizontal job opportunities

    EF English First2019-09-16
  6. « A good first job »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Teacher à Moscou
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    -living abroad -good colleagues and work environment -continual training and professional development -yearly promotion to next band

    Inconvénients

    -hectic daily and weekly schedule -low salary compared to dollar -high teacher turnover

    Conseils à la direction

    Find ways to keep teachers longer than a year: better pay, improved benefits, more reasonable schedulig.

    EF English First2019-09-16
  7. « Not for everyone »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - English Teacher à Shanghai, Shanghai
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Helpfull assimilation process 2 week hotel stay on arrival

    Inconvénients

    They did not cover my flight expenses while "Free Flights" is advertised almost anywhere you look

    EF English First2019-09-14
  8. « more cons than pros »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - English As A Second Language Teacher 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    sense of community in the office, lovely to work with local teachers

    Inconvénients

    Your salary hardly goes up, there are no HR resources at all, paid way less than other teachers at language centres, duties far exceed what one it told in the beginning, no paid sick leave, some centres very rundown compared to other high tech and comfortable ones.

    Conseils à la direction

    make sure all schools and offices are at the same level of comfort and efficiency.

    EF English First2019-09-13
  9. « Depends on location (mine was Chile) »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - English Teacher à Santiago
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre

    J'ai travaillé chez EF English First à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Great colleagues, nice students, some flexibility with timetable

    Inconvénients

    Dishonest, arrogant management, who don't keep their word. Pay is crap.

    Conseils à la direction

    Treat staff with more respect

    EF English First2019-09-11
  10. « 2+ years in and would still probably recommend »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - ESL Teacher à Shenzhen, Guangdong
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez EF English First à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Can't speak for everyone, but I had a well-organized and professional onboarding process. Actual teacher training. They give you support to integrate in China more effectively (whether everyone makes use of it is another story). The products and materials to teach are useful and well-structured. Opportunities to study further within TESOL are prominent.

    Inconvénients

    The workload can be heavy at a rate that's not really proportional to the pay. Especially during busy summer and winter periods. At a larger school, opportunities for career progression/promotion have been painfully slow, though this always depends. School operations tend to be more sales focused; sometimes requiring teachers to put aside academic quality.

    Conseils à la direction

    Excellent teachers do not necessarily make excellent managers. Show concern for the work-life balance. Also would be nice to have more career pipelines available other than just becoming a manager, more on the 'academic' side.

    EF English First2019-08-25

    Réponse de EF English First

    August 30, 2019Teacher Welfare Director

    Thank you for your 2+ years of dedication and hard work. We are happy to hear that you had a well-organized and professional on-boarding experience. Your advice to extend our current Academic Career Ladder to more non-management positions is a good one, and something we are currently ...

    Dérouler
381 avis trouvés