Avis de PhD Candidate chez Cornell University | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : PhD Candidate chez Cornell University

Mis à jour le nov. 15, 2017

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

4.7
100%
Recommandent à un ami
100%
Approuvent le PDG
Cornell University CEO Martha E. Pollack (no image)
Martha E. Pollack
1 évaluations
  1. « Everything is great except the town. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - PhD Candidate à Ithaca, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cornell University à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Highly professional. Friendly. A lot of resources.

    Inconvénients

    The town. The cold. A lot of undergrads.

    Cornell University2017-11-15
  2. « Friendly environment »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - PhD Candidate à Ithaca, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cornell University à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Excellent people, positive environment, friendly community, fair opportunity.

    Inconvénients

    Bad and expensive food on campus

    Conseils à la direction

    think serious what's a fair summer stipend

    Cornell University2017-05-31
  3. « Great Environment »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - PhD Candidate à Ithaca, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez Cornell University à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Multidisciplinary, very easy to access different faculties as they operate through a "field" system more than a "department" system, making faculty cross-listing easy and common.

    Inconvénients

    I would imagine some people might resent being so far away from large cities and having a killer winter.

    Conseils à la direction

    I have no reason to believe management should change anything right now.

    Cornell University2016-04-20
  4. « Great place for Graduate School »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    PhD Candidate à Ithaca, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cornell University à

    Avantages

    The professors you work with are very hardworking and very accomplished Ithaca is a very nice city to live in during graduate school Because Cornell is a big school, it has many amenities that make life easier for a graduate student

    Inconvénients

    You have to work a lot as a graduate student, so if you do not enjoy working, you should not come here :) You will also not be payed a lot, but that's also part of being a graduate student.

    Conseils à la direction

    The school is doing great in terms of supporting students.

    Cornell University2016-03-17
  5. « Cornell PhD Candidate »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - PhD Candidate à Ithaca, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez Cornell University à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Cornell is a huge organization, so I can only speak for the Chemical Engineering department. The research base of the department is very large, covering everything from cancer treatments to solar cells. The diversity of collaborations is very valuable, but you will need to reach outside the department to find specialized people to work with.

    Inconvénients

    Coming from NYC, Ithaca is the smallest town I've ever lived in, and it pinches sometimes. The combination of icy winters and steep hills is not great. But these are problems with the setting, not the university per se.

    Cornell University2016-02-17
  6. « PhD Candidate »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - PhD Candidate à Ithaca, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre

    Je travaille chez Cornell University à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Great environment to concentrate on your studies

    Inconvénients

    Not much entertainment around Ithaca

    Cornell University2015-04-29
  7. « Good graduate programs in physics/astronomy (relative to others like it) »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - PhD Candidate à Ithaca, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cornell University à temps partiel depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    High salary relative to cost of living. Good policies that many other comparable programs don't have, like good family leave and medical leave policies. Great health insurance. The committee system is good, and there are ways to be able to go around your adviser if you have a bad one, so that you aren't left isolated and alone in a bad situation. Very, very easy to take classes in any department and collaborate with... anyone.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Very high stress. Academia isn't really for me, so I probably had a harder time than some.

    Conseils à la direction

    Make it more obvious to students in physics and astronomy that the job market is currently bad, and make it easier to explore non-academic career options. (This is getting better, though, and Cornell is better at this than many other schools.)

    Cornell University2014-10-14
  8. « So far so good »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - PhD Candidate à Ithaca, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Cornell University à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Beautiful campus, quiet place, nice place to do research

    Inconvénients

    The school is really dragged down by the location

    Conseils à la direction

    More interaction with the campus in New York

    Cornell University2014-01-09
8 avis trouvés