Avis sur BounceX | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur BounceX

Mis à jour le 9 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

111 avis trouvés

3.9
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
59%
Recommandent à un ami
64%
Approuvent le PDG
BounceX CEO Ryan Urban (no image)
Ryan Urban
101 évaluations
  1. Utile (2)

    « Exciting time to be a part of the company. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Art Director/Graphic Designer à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez BounceX à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Smart, driven and kind group of fellow employees. Work-life balance is best I have had. Amazing benefits.

    Inconvénients

    There has been turnover lately, but luckily my department is committed.

    BounceX2019-09-03
  2. « Great teams and good vibes »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - --- à New York, NY
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez BounceX à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    BounceX has great teams of people doing great work. As with any maturing start-up, it's been going through some transitions. And honestly, a lot of negativity has departed the company, and it's just been better vibes at the office. I don't mean to discount anyone's experiences in the other reviews, it's just not what I've seen. The space is beautiful and everyone is truly collaborative.

    Inconvénients

    Honestly, I think if you have a lot to complain about here you don't have a ton of other work experience. The product org has been making some great strides finding its footing again over the past few months.

    BounceX2019-09-09
  3. Utile (16)

    « "Like a family" - an extremely dysfunctional one »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Engineer 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez BounceX à temps plein

    Avantages

    The people! If nothing else, I walked away from this company with some lifelong friends. BounceX is fantastic when it comes to hiring smart, down-to-earth, fun and interesting people. Also, if you work on one of the newer products the tech stack is pretty cool - Go, Docker, Kubernetes etc. BounceX is dealing with some really interesting technical challenges at scale, which is compelling from an engineering perspective - but not nearly compelling enough to mitigate the extreme dysfunction.

    Inconvénients

    I'd describe BounceX's operating model as "third world tin-pot dictatorship." Senior leadership is nonexistent after a string of high profile departures this summer. The company once had a promising leadership team but after the recent turmoil many of the remaining leaders are unqualified and were promoted only because of personal relationships. This is particularly true of the product and engineering teams; I have never worked in a more dysfunctional tech org in my life. BounceX went through two CTOs in a span of six months, and when the second one (a fantastic leader for whom we all had high hopes) departed in May all hell broke loose. Actual engineering leaders were completely sidelined by a couple of people who wanted to bring the company back to the way it was run in 2013 when it was a tiny startup operating with no product team, no process, and no concern for scalability. It was truly wild, like a plot line on Silicon Valley, and it completely obliterated morale on the team. Don't just take my word for it: ~50% of the product and engineering org has quit since June.

    Continuer à lire
    BounceX2019-09-02
  4. Utile (8)

    « Fix Management »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez BounceX à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    We get a lot of vacation days and the office has a nice view.

    Inconvénients

    The management is severely lacking. People are promoted not based on skills, but if they threaten to quit. They have been talking about career pathing for years and nothing has come of it. There is a lot pomp and nothing to show for it.

    Continuer à lire
    BounceX2019-08-14
  5. Utile (13)

    « Great Employees, Poor Management, Struggling Product »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    Ancien employé - Former Employee à New York, NY
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez BounceX à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Employees truly care about each other and often end up making lasting friendships Employees support one another, help each other out, and they're usually not competitive with each other Company really cares about its clients and providing superior support for them Many clients love the company and get good performance from the product Company has done a great job with diversity & inclusion and employee resource groups New office in One World Trade is beautiful

    Inconvénients

    Senior management is inexperienced, immature, and constantly disagreeing on the future, causing the company and its product to stagnate Product and engineering teams are a mess There is no product roadmap or vision of where the product is going In the past 2 years, the core product hasn't been changed at all and no truly successful new products have been released The engineering team often feels undervalued and is full of internal chaos The company has been talking about rolling out employee goals and career-pathing for the past 3 years, but has yet to do so, leading many employees to feel undervalued and leave the company At times the culture can feel like it's full of high school cliques

    Continuer à lire
    BounceX2019-07-02
  6. Utile (13)

    « Losing momentum, engineering and product in disarray »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Engineer à New York, NY
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez BounceX à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Some genuinely great people work here so it's easy to make friends. Friendly, social office environment. Free Friday lunches are a nice perk. Good place for a first engineering job (go in with the expectation that is is not a place to stay long-term).

    Inconvénients

    There is no product vision, the company has gone through several CTOs in the last two years. No new products or features are coming out because there are entire "engineering" teams devoted to writing custom code for the legacy product. There is absolutely no room to move up and promotions are given to placate people. Low salaries and general devaluation of engineering by upper management.

    Continuer à lire
    BounceX2019-07-03
  7. Utile (28)

    « Disorganized & toxic engineering culture »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer à New York, NY
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez BounceX à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    - Chance to work with relatively modern tech (Go, Kubernetes, Google Cloud, Bigtable, BigQuery, etc). But beware the legacy mess that is tangled into even most of the new stuff. - Recent (past 3 months), there have been big wins on the infrastructure and testing side of things, and the future might be brighter there. - A lot of great people (unfortunately, many of them won't be around for much longer) - Things are so bad that it's sometimes comical, like you are in an episode of Silicon Valley

    Inconvénients

    - The culture is toxic. Within weeks of joining the company, new employees get caught up in it: failing to communicate with others, becoming jaded, launching rogue projects. It's disturbing to watch good people come in and change so fast. - Repeated turnover at the senior leadership level in Engineering have led to conflicting visions and 1-year projects being discarded. Every 3-6 months there's another impassioned plea to "Give us one more chance to do it right". - Constant reorganization, often leaving people without managers or product tasks to do for weeks/months at a time. - The past business/revenue success has been driven almost exclusively by hustle on the Accounts and Sales side of things. (Meaning those departments have ungodly stress and/or hours.) The legacy product actually generating revenue has not received any significant feature releases in over 2 years, and is impossible to refactor due to the 100s of custom client hooks into its worst features. - Recent events have shown that anyone disagreeing with the CEO are shown the exit door.

    Continuer à lire
    BounceX2019-05-31
  8. « Smart People »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez BounceX à temps plein

    Avantages

    Lots of smart engineer and great culture.

    Inconvénients

    Saas/MarTech is a challenging business

    BounceX2019-05-10
  9. Utile (19)

    « Not small enough to be a startup, not mature enough to be a real tech company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme à New York, NY
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez BounceX à temps plein

    Avantages

    Note: "Company is in the midst of an identity crisis" is the most accurate review for the tech org. This will also be more focused on the tech org as there seems to be a great disparity between the experiences of those on the sales/ops/customer side and those on the engineering/product/analytics side. Pros: Amazing people that make the cons a little more bearable. The amount of interesting, intelligent, and genuinely great people working here is the main reason why I still look forward to work every day. Company benefits package is quite extensive (maternity/paternity, bereavement, pawternity, medical, etc.) Free catered lunch on Fridays and dinners on late nights. A lot of company events here and there that are fun and well-organized--again, a result of great people. Diversity varies by department, but in general better than expected. CTO and Directors in tech org are all people of color which I didn't expect. HR does a great job of soliciting feedback at every opportunity available and for the most part I feel that our voices are heard. WeWork for now, shiny new office in World Trade Center later this year. Lastly, you learn a lot from dealing with the cons.

    Inconvénients

    "Great product but... "-- most in the tech org would not agree. In the company's glory days, there was very limited investment in building quality products and now we are working twice as hard to play catch up and build "bubblegum and scotch tape" into products and processes that meet SaaS industry standards. Progress is being made slowly, and there is a lot of work to be done. Mismanagement is a problem that permeates top to bottom. The leaders of the company don't have a clear vision for the future and hardly a steady pulse on the reality of the present--even they know this. On top of that, huge re-orgs aren't communicated until the last minute, leaving department heads scrambling to come up with a plan. Lots of office politics and rumors about infighting among leadership, which isn't a good look. Favoritism is obvious and you generally learn to accept it. Professional development doesn't really exist, and having ambition may hurt more than it helps. It seems that unless you play office politics and become buddy buddy with the right people, initiatives to do more for the company beyond the purview of your role are often not supported, and instead discouraged by the (often inexperienced) middle managers. With no clear career paths upward or opportunities to grow skillsets for lateral moves, it's so easy to feel trapped. With a headcount of 300+, budgets are tightening. A lot of the culture perks e.g. free office massages, professional coaching services, and annual company retreats to Cancun are a thing of the past. This isn't surprising for a company striving to be profitable, but if the perks are the main draw for you to take the offer, think twice.

    Continuer à lire
    BounceX2019-04-05
  10. Utile (3)

    « I Love It »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Employé anonyme 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez BounceX à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    (To squash any rumors: I am not an executive writing this). I've been at BounceX for a bit over a year, and I'm still incredibly impressed. This place is special, there's no denying it. Another reviewer said it best: getting a job here is competitive, but internal competition isn't an issue. People are genuinely supportive of one another and the general attitude is that everyone here wants everyone to succeed. Arguably the biggest pro of working at BounceX is that we truly become a necessary part of most of our clients’ business. We make a difference, we’re respected, and we get to collaborate as partners and not just as a vendor. People work very hard here. It’s hard to stand out because everyone is so damn driven. If you’re looking for a company where it’s easy to shine, BounceX is not the place for you. Most people are high-performers and it’s not part of the culture to seek out public praise. People works as teams, not individuals.

    Inconvénients

    There isn’t pressure to stay late, but there is a lot to get done. Work-life balance can be a challenge but, at least for me, the work is exciting enough that I’m happy to dedicate much of my time to BounceX. People are a little less social than normal because we’re in a temporary working space. However, I’d emphasize that this is a temporary problem and really isn’t that bad. Transparency into the product roadmap has been limited at times, but this is definitely improving.

    Continuer à lire
    BounceX2019-02-04
111 avis trouvés
</>Intégrer