Avis de Lead Technologist chez Booz Allen Hamilton | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Lead Technologist chez Booz Allen Hamilton

Mis à jour le 28 sept. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

2.8
50%
Recommandent à un ami
76%
Approuvent le PDG
Booz Allen Hamilton CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
13 évaluations
  1. Utile (3)

    « Booz Allen is a Criminal Organization that Steals from their Employees and Commits Federal Fraud »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Lead Technologist à Fairfax, VA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Booz Allen Hamilton à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    No, do not work here.

    Inconvénients

    Booz Allen steals from their employees and defrauds them. Booz Allen is a broker for the federal government and federal contractors. Their business model is to win contracts and then to advertise those jobs. The way Booz Allen steals from their employees is that they will assign a different level of service on each end of that transaction for a significant portion of their workforce. So, for example, if an... employee gets offered a job they will give you a different job than the one you accepted with more responsibilities and experience required, but at the original pay. Also, when you get another position in the company at a higher level they will tell you to wait for the promotion in their internal process to the end of the year. Meanwhile you are selling service at a higher level for a whole year. Then at the end of that year they will often decide not to give you a promotion to match the title and job you are already doing. This is company policy that your job rank and title on a contract does not need to match your rank in the internal system and corresponding pay. In this way Booz Allen can pocket the difference in service levels, or provide the government with free labor and they can win more contracts by stealing and defrauding their employees. It is no different than if the federal government said they want to buy gold and Booz Allen puts out a bid for gold. Somebody then sells Booz Allen gold, but Booz Allen only charges the government for silver and pay the vendor for silver. The government then gets gold at a low price. Likewise they can also charge the government for gold, but only pay the vendor for silver. But, if the vendor is a human being selling labor, instead of materials, there is little they can do to prosecute because of the lack of employee protections. This is what they do with employees instead of materials. The only difference is that doing fraud like this cannot show up in any audit because nobody compares the job levels on the contract with those in the HR / pay system. Also, it may not be illegal under regulations, so it would be very difficult to prosecute independently, so they can get away with it. Also, since there is no law requiring an employment contract after 90 day or 6 month trial period, they can just say if you don't like getting scammed, then you can walk away. They will try to pin this on individual managers, but it is company policy. They do not tie your rank to the rank on the contract. So, you can be a Tech Lead (level 4) on a contract, but could be a level 3, or even level 2, and technically nothing is stopping them from making you a level 1 in the HR system. This of course will determine your pay. Also, you won't show as being severely underpaid in any audit because they put the wrong rank in the HR system. I think this is alarming for all individuals, but of course could be used to hide any discrimination based on race, or sex, in addition to just being used to scam employees and pad the wallets of the stockholders and management.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Pay the money to your employees that you stole and stop defraud and stealing from your employees.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-29
  2. « Firm has forgotten its employees »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Lead Technologist à McLean, VA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Booz Allen Hamilton à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Flexible work arrangements, decent PTO accrual

    Inconvénients

    Benefits continue to get precipitously worse, internal teams are absolutely useless

    Conseils à la direction

    Get the same great minds you get to consult your clients to consult your internal teams. Make the Speak Your Mind tool actually have some authority over other teams rather than just arbitrate disputes. Internal teams are absolutely useless, from HR, to benefit operations, to accounts payable and information services. None of these teams appreciate employees or provide decent service to internal clients.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-26
  3. Utile (6)

    « Not The Company You Think »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Lead Technologist à Seattle, WA
    Ne recommande pas

    J'ai travaillé chez Booz Allen Hamilton à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Good pay, good boss (in my case).

    Inconvénients

    100% travel, frightening instability of the culture, when anything goes wrong they don't investigate, they act like a man on fire desperately trying to put it out at any cost, and you will be that cost.

    Conseils à la direction

    I was hired on into a high-level technical position in the Cloud Security Practice. I have 22 years' experience in enterprise-level clusters and cloud systems, specifically in advanced InfoSec. You must be a straight-arrow when doing this kind of work. Went through onboarding, where honesty was emphasized repeatedly -- See something, Say something. My first engagement was at a major client in Texas which is... migrating to AWS. Four of us carpooled daily from the hotel to the client site and back. The manager of our group early on said during one of these carpools that next week he'll try the Renaissance Hotel, rather than the Westin Hotel where we were staying. He said that if we want to move too to use the discount code "JCP, for JC Penny since that discount is larger than BAH's discount." Without thinking I said, "I don't like that," meaning to falsely use a discount code which has nothing to do with our engagement. And everyone in the car heard. That week this manager was brusque toward me, sometimes sharp. He didn't tell me things I needed to know, and I was given virtually no work. I did everything I could to mend fences, humor, being nicer than he was, absorbing the hits and not complaining, but nothing worked. He is just emotionally-driven and can not be reasoned with. I didn't find out until later that the whole time he was giving bad news about me to his boss, the engagement chief. It seems that this manager considered me a threat, that I might report his false use of an unrelated discount code. The irony is I wasn't going to report him -- I felt that pointing it out at the time was enough. Then on Thursday he told me to not return next week. During the carpool to the airport he said that he is supposed to hire 8 people. That there are lots of qualified senior people but he doesn't -want- senior people. He wants junior people. I decided to decide that he was not aiming that at me. (I am 65 and he knew it) Friday when I got back to Seattle I got an email from the engagement chief instructing me to log -no- more time and do -no- more work on that client's charge code. I acknowledged and asked if I'd done something wrong. No response. I forwarded this to my boss (a good dude) who was not at the engagement, explained the above, and he said he'd look into it. Monday morning at 5:30am I got a call from HR asking me what happened. I explained the above and named the two others in the car who would corroborate. She said she'd check with them, and that this is no big deal. Apparently my boss saw a potential EEO problem and turned it over to HR. That afternoon I got notice of an emergency conference call from my boss and HR. I was fired. HR said that this was for PERFORMANCE reasons, and I responded that I was given almost nothing to do. That the manager had been emotional and erratic toward me during the engagement, presumably because he thought I was going to report him for dishonesty. Didn't matter. I pointed out that with nothing to do, I worked on a slidedeck which was a framework for doing cloud security engagements in a standardized way, based on Cloud Security Alliance and NSA recommendations, and which could be used by less experienced consultants to give a consistent and comprehensive offering. HR criticized me for doing this on Toyota time, but I pointed out that for this I had used the 'G' charge code. Didn't phase them. Again they went back to the PERFORMANCE issues. I tried to explain that this manager had been deriding me to his bosses behind the scenes the whole time. That I was being FIRED FOR POINTING OUT DISHONESTY. It didn't matter. I said, "Well maybe this -is- an age discrimination issue then." (As alluded to by that manager) HR ended the call, I turned in my laptop and badge and left, devastated. In retrospect I am very surprised that BAH is so internally unstable. They reacted like someone on fire, desperately doing anything at all to put it out. There are more indications of dishonesty of this manager but not worth recounting. They are protecting this guy because he's been there 4 years and is best buds with the engagement chief, whose two emails to me had a tone of fury behind them, when I had never met him. I am a rare highly technical and studious technical resource and was sacrificed for this non-technical and highly emotional manager. The little bit of work I saw during the engagement was kind of a mess. The client is now resisting a new SoW and from our work I see why. I could have recovered that client over time as I have long experience with high-level clients and am deeply technical, which my boss recognized me for and hired me, but now I suspect that BAH will end up with an embarrassing failure on this first large engagement for the commercial InfoSec practice. Not many people have the skills and experience to do this work.

    Dérouler
    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-07-17
  4. « Lead Technologist @ Booz Allen, Washington Metropolitan Area, DC-VA-MD »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Lead Technologist à Washington, DC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Booz Allen Hamilton à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Opportunities to work with Federal civilian and DOD agencies and leaders.

    Inconvénients

    Booz Allen is a large and complex organization serving a large, complex and challenging U.S. government client. Provides many opportunities, however these opportunities often bring challenging and stressful situations.

    Conseils à la direction

    Continue to demonstrate, prioritize, encourage and reward collaboration.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-04-13
  5. « Great employer »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Lead Technologist à Washington, DC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Booz Allen Hamilton à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Flexible, decent benefits, encourages upward mobility

    Inconvénients

    Somewhat below market rate for experience

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-04-10
  6. « Good place to work, depending on your career manager »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Lead Technologist à Fort Meade, MD
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Booz Allen Hamilton à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    - It is relatively easy to move around inside the company to other contracts and career titles (i.e. Developer to Systems Engineer) - Good Benefits - Rent out King's Dominion every year for a day (when I was there) - Lots of work to be placed on if a contract goes under

    Inconvénients

    - Your experience at the company can very drastically depending on who you management is at the time (I was able to move around to other managers within my time there) - It is a large company, so talent is spread out - Again, large company, you can fall through the cracks and get more or less ignored unintentionally by management - There is a lot of "butt in seat type work"

    Conseils à la direction

    Drive contracts to be more production based and less "butt in seat" work just to get the money from the contract.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-12-19
  7. « Great IT Firm For Its' Size »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Lead Technologist 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Booz Allen Hamilton à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Family life balance is getting better, benefits are very competitive, salary is competitive. I LOVED 90% of the teams I was able to work with. The opportunity to work on different projects was a blessings. I was able to get my hands on many different types of technologies that I would not have been able to touch elsewhere

    Inconvénients

    Yes, this a consulting firm so billable hours are their top priority which means sometimes you can turn into feeling like just a numbered employee needing to make them money though there is effort to keep on your project both of your interest and relevant to your skillset

    Conseils à la direction

    The management I dealt with have been pretty good. My only advice is too continue to refresh your perspectives, keep and open mind and keep actively listening

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-12-18
  8. Utile (3)

    « A company of many smaller companies »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Lead Technologist à Washington, DC
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Booz Allen Hamilton à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Good benefits (vacation, 401K, health insurance, tuition reimbursement), nice offices, great people, great culture

    Inconvénients

    depending on which section of the company you work at you may get totally different experience. There is not necessarily an standard operation procedure which can be good and bad. Pressure for bilability is high but at the same time employees may not have much choice in determining their next engagement. This has caused so much unnecessary pressure all over the company. folks may be working on multiple projects just... to get by and then in addition to client work, there is business development, proposal writing, people management, and other company overhead work that must be done. If you are just out of college I don't recommend Booz Allen as you won't get much mentoring. Unless you are hired to specific group with specific mission.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Booz Allen is very top heavy and I never understood why. In my experience no one above a senior associate is really contributing to bringing new business. The senior and lead associate have the bulk of load of business on their shoulders. They bring new business, they write proposals, they do the work, make sure the client is happy and expand the work. Morale in my sector (transportation) was pretty low. there is... not a lot of focus, and lots of crapshoots...Booz Allen quickly comes up with an idea, tries to march everyone behind it, try it for a second, and before people get a chance to show if the idea works or not, it is changed to the next one. This has caused so much uncertainty in the company IMHO. Of course being public doesn't help at all. You want to get fast results within one quarter!

    Dérouler
    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-12-07
  9. « Loved working here »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Lead Technologist à Westborough, MA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Booz Allen Hamilton à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Work was difficult and challenging. Everyone across the board was bright, hard-working, kind, respectful.

    Inconvénients

    Some career managers were a little aloof.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep up what you're doing!

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-10-05
  10. Utile (2)

    « Lots of Opportunity »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Lead Technologist à Annapolis Junction, MD
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Booz Allen Hamilton à depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    - Huge variety of contract options and industries - Enjoyable and interesting work (contract/client dependent) - Flexible working hours/schedules (contract/client dependent) - Frequent company sponsored events (happy hours, trivia, tech talks, family events, etc.) - Extremely accessible upper management - Career direction is up to you

    Inconvénients

    - Matrix hierarchy - Permanent (assigned) desks/cubicles/offices only for upper management; your client will assign you one of these at their location if they think you need one. Hoteling only at BAH offices otherwise - Promotions come to those who ask - Understanding how the company operates internally can be a baffling ordeal - Career direction is up to you

    Conseils à la direction

    Clarity on how funding decisions are made and how internal money is moved around could seriously be better. Conversely, I have always felt that upper management is willing and interested in interacting with even the lowest level employees, which is fantastic, so keep up the good work!

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-07-27
32 avis trouvés