Avis de Software Engineer chez BioWare | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Software Engineer chez BioWare

Mis à jour le 17 mars 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

7 avis trouvés

4.5
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
100%
Recommandent à un ami
100%
Approuvent le PDG
Andrew Wilson
2 évaluations
  1. Utile (1)

    "Feels like home"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Engineer 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez BioWare à plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    - Great people, great live work balance. Literally a big family. - Lots of exciting challenges - Lots of love from gaming communities and cosplayers - Free breakfast, lots of swags and nice perks

    Inconvénients

    - Products and solutions can be repetitive. - Hierarchy is strong, very hard to challenge senior technical people. - Very difficult to find the 'meat' of the game . - Put itself in tight deadlines as it promises impossible things over and over. - Edmonton is tough if you like a urban/hipster life.

    Conseils à la direction

    Focus on less content but high quality content. Look forward and not sideways, try thinking ahead. What is it that players want to play 3 years from now?

    BioWare2017-09-30
  2. Utile (4)

    "A great company in a mediocre city"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Software Engineer à Edmonton, AB
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez BioWare à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Good work-life balance. A lot of employees are older, with kids; as a result, the focus is on sustainable work practices rather than a bunch of twenty-somethings competing to see who can work the most hours in a week. Although crunch does occur now and then, the company makes an effort to minimize it. Lots of friendly, intelligent coworkers. Generous time off allowance at Christmas. Free breakfast. Plenty of opportunities...

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Edmonton is an ugly, boring city. The winters are cold, dark and long -- and as a result, BioWare has a tough time recruiting new talent. There is no significant "tech" presence in the city; if you get laid off, your only other option is to go work for the oilfield. Cost of living in Edmonton is high (although not as high as say, Vancouver.) Salaries are lower than what you could be making elsewhere.

    Conseils à la direction

    Be daring & confident -- blaze your own trail rather than constantly trying to follow in the footsteps of other successful games. Be accountable -- recognize and correct failures of leadership. Continue to hire aggressively from around the industry. Raise salaries to attract and retain top talent.

    BioWare2013-10-03
  3. Utile (1)

    "Can be a good place"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Software Engineer à Austin, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue négatif

    J'ai travaillé chez BioWare à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Good Pay, Good Benefits, Nice People

    Inconvénients

    Doesn't get the recognition the studio deserves compared to the main (Edmonton) studio.

    BioWare2019-03-17
  4. Utile (1)

    "Was good until it wasn't"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      Ancien employé - Software Engineer à Austin, TX

      J'ai travaillé chez BioWare à temps plein plus d'un an

      Avantages

      Great people to work with, good focus on work life balance. Very progressive in terms of people - very inclusive and goes out of their way to make sure that people feel taken care of. Felt like the top of the management tried to take care of all of the employees as a group.

      Inconvénients

      Project-level leadership can act petty at times. Management shies from confrontation, which can result in employees feeling blindsided by things. When I was let go, I felt like I didn't really have a good metric of what it was that caused me to be let go - one manager was totally fine with me and gave me good reviews, while his replacement did not.

      Conseils à la direction

      Be more honest and straightforward with what you expect from your employees. If there is a problem with performance, try to set more measurable/quantifiable goals.

      BioWare2016-05-11
    • Utile (2)

      "Interesting experience"

      ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      • Équilibre travail/vie privée
      • Culture et valeurs
      • Opportunités de carrière
      • Rémunération et avantages
      • Équipe dirigeante
      Ancien employé - Software Engineer II à Austin, TX
      Recommande
      Point de vue positif
      Pas d'avis sur le PDG

      J'ai travaillé chez BioWare à temps plein plus d'un an

      Avantages

      There were a lot of very top notch engineers working there. The people were generally nice Great work / life balance compared to other game studios

      Inconvénients

      The tiered title hierarchy made it hard to move up Lots of contractors coming and going Not afraid to lay people off and rehire replacements

      Conseils à la direction

      Focus on employee growth more

      BioWare2015-07-03
    • Utile (3)

      "A great place to learn the mmo game and a much better run game studio than most."

      ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      • Équilibre travail/vie privée
      • Culture et valeurs
      • Opportunités de carrière
      • Rémunération et avantages
      • Équipe dirigeante
      Ancien employé - Software Engineer à Austin, TX
      Recommande
      Point de vue positif
      Approuve le PDG

      J'ai travaillé chez BioWare à temps plein

      Avantages

      Talented, passionate people all over the place. I particularly want to call out the embedded QA analysts (if you get a contract QA position I highly recommend pursuing any of these opportunities that open up) and our community/marketing teams which do a really great job of engaging the community and looking through data to make sure that we're using our finite resources to develop parts of the game that keep players happy....

      Dérouler

      Inconvénients

      I agree with the reviews lamenting the contract vs full time split. There's a place for contract-to-hire, but when half your staff is temp segregating them is really demoralizing. Fortunately managment uses temp positions much more sanely now. The Heroblade middleware is pretty universally loathed. There are a lot of negative reviews for the contract QA jobs, and yeah those jobs suck but they just kind of suck everywhere....

      Dérouler

      Conseils à la direction

      Keep it up! Things run much more smoothly now than they used to. I really look forward to the next cool projects to come out of the studio.

      BioWare2015-02-16
    • "Great company, but recent years suggest concern."

      ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
      • Équilibre travail/vie privée
      • Culture et valeurs
      • Opportunités de carrière
      • Rémunération et avantages
      • Équipe dirigeante
      Ancien employé - Software Engineer 
      Recommande
      Point de vue négatif
      Pas d'avis sur le PDG

      J'ai travaillé chez BioWare à temps plein

      Avantages

      Great and supporting environment. The people mostly are excited about their projects. People try to be accommodating of real life. Bioware also creates great games consistently. Even the games that haven't sold as well are still respected. It's a great name to have on your resume. There are good opportunities to do cutting edge work.

      Inconvénients

      Bioware has somewhat of a crunch atmosphere. Project schedules tend to run tight and there are year or longer crunches and sometimes perpetual ones with little breaks. Crunch has always been seen as necessary. In the past, there was a camaraderie that made this tolerable. It felt like the company had your back. By the time I left, there was a growing sense of uncertainty. It felt like layoffs could happen any time to...

      Dérouler

      Conseils à la direction

      Be careful to focus on your people over your projects. Good people make good projects, but you can't always find good people to staff projects, even if the project idea is a good one. Laid off employees sometimes don't come back.

      BioWare2013-08-22
    7 avis trouvés