Avis de Project Controls chez Bechtel | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Project Control chez Bechtel

Mis à jour le Aug 24, 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

54 avis trouvés

4.2
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
74%
Recommandent à un ami
89%
Approuvent le PDG
Bechtel CEO Brendan Bechtel
Brendan Bechtel
11 évaluations
  1. Utile (3)

    « Great Company to work for.....if you don't mind relocating »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Project Controls Engineer II 
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Excellent internal education via Bechtel University, people are ethical and typically know what their doing.

    Inconvénients

    Favouritism as many other companies have. Tend to get projects were relocation becomes an issue with families (hence why there is a large divorce rate within the project). With Riley Bechtel stepping down and his son Brendan coming into the COO/President role, we couldn't even get a few minutes while Brendan came to visit our job site.

    Conseils à la direction

    Try and give promotions based on merit rathe than favouritism.

    Bechtel2015-09-14
  2. « Great projects and exciting work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Project Controls Engineer à Reston, VA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Great opportunity, variety and excitement in the projects we do.

    Inconvénients

    Re-location to new projects, sometimes long hours,

    Bechtel2019-08-24
  3. « Great Company to Work For »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Project Controls 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Bechtel à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Salary - they pay the best in the industry

    Inconvénients

    Potential to move around quite a bit

    Bechtel2019-03-27

    Réponse de Bechtel

    April 17, 2019Senior Talent Acquisition Program Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. At Bechtel, we value and invest in our people, working daily to establish positive relationships with our colleagues and customers that contribute to our employees’ careers and our company’s growth over the long-term. We aspire to be the employer of choice in our industry by providing a healthy working environment for our colleagues that embodies respectful, ethical, collaborative, and professional behavior. As a global organization, to advance to more senior assignments, while not always required, relocation is sometimes necessary.

    Réduire
  4. Utile (6)

    « Project controls professional »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Project Controls à Washington, DC
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Bechtel à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    International projects, great base pay, 401K matching outstanding. As in any place, meet some very good coworkers. Keeping up with cultural changes, attempting to hire more minorities and women. Management is still “good ol’ boys” - see cons below. Great place to start a career, travel, learn.

    Inconvénients

    As you move up in organization, it is totally based on who you know. Performance means nothing, incorrect behavior gets rewarded as long as you know how to suck up to your boss and your bosses boss and peers. Middle management constantly positioning itself to “make the name”, and hardly do any work, but they sure “network” a lot. Very superficial. Nepotism and personal friendships mean more than performance and... merit. Chain-of-command is so rigid that people learn to just do their job, and are discouraged to contribute anything extra. People that do honest work, try to do what is right, contribute etc, are almost laughed at for being “chumps” - they sure don’t get recognized for their work. Once a world class organization is killing its own culture. There was a time when I was proud to work there, now I would provide a very qualified endorsement - such a shame. The only tool left for motivation is money, since people see that effort goes unrecognized - soulless enterprise.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Too much management, hardly any “working managers” left; work and details are beneath them. With such culture, it is no surprise that they can’t win any small-ish jobs (under 1 billion). For each Manager you have to staff up extra people and deputies, just to cover the work that goes undone. Be more transparent, show employee rankings so we can all see those “A players”, and if they are that good make them a role... model openly. Don’t forget mid- and late-career people.

    Dérouler
    Bechtel2019-02-13
  5. Utile (1)

    « Solid Company that rewards effort »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Project Controls Engineer à Houston, TX
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Upper management does care about their employees, but market forces have the most impact on advancement

    Inconvénients

    Unless you get in on the good side of upper management early, you will slip through the cracks.

    Bechtel2018-08-24
  6. « Project Controls Engineer »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Project Controls Engineer à Oak Ridge, TN
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    -Good Pay, Salary Plus OT -Work/Life Balance -Mega Project Experience -Travel Opportunities

    Inconvénients

    -Workload can be heavy -Advancement is difficult unless you have connections -Politics -Must be willing to relocate often

    Conseils à la direction

    Show appreciation & give advancement when earned.

    Bechtel2018-06-24
  7. Utile (1)

    « Middle Management »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Project Controls Manager à Frederick, MD
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Bechtel à temps plein plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Provided excellent opportunity to master all the aspects of EPC Project and Construction Management with good career growth.

    Inconvénients

    Can't find any down side of the company as it is still number one in all aspects

    Conseils à la direction

    Encourage the existing collaborative culture with mutual respect

    Bechtel2018-03-03
  8. « Overall alright »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Project Controls Officer à Brisbane

    J'ai travaillé chez Bechtel à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Good working environment Working hours and extra Friday off Lot to learn

    Inconvénients

    They give more importance to number of years in the company than anything else. Even you are getting n number of kudos, your manager will put you down by saying you are new.

    Conseils à la direction

    Give encouragement to the new people for their achievements and work with them on their career path.

    Bechtel2018-03-16
  9. Utile (1)

    « Project Controls »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Project Controls Engineer à Houston, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    You meet some great people that can help guide and mentor your through your career.

    Inconvénients

    Favoritism through connections, at times work can become daunting due to upper management.

    Conseils à la direction

    Listen to your employees, provide proper feedback and just in general support those who put in alot of work and effort before they decide to leave.

    Bechtel2018-03-03
  10. Utile (16)

    « Good company, not as great as it was »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Project Controls Specialist à Houston, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à temps plein depuis plus de 10 ans

    Avantages

    Generally: good overall compensation, good insurance, 9% 401k matching, PTO, etc... good coworkers and managers (mostly), very good safety oriented culture, fast paced work environment once the projects really get going. Private company that is very family oriented. Steady work and Bechtel tries to avoid lay offs as much as possible for people who are semi-flexible. In the home office: facilities have been much... improved, good schedule for work-life balance (9/80 & flex time), short walk to The Galleria. In the field: excellent money as long as there is OT and per diem, good sense of teamwork and camaraderie on most projects.

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Generally: dead weight spread in a very top-heavy organization. Experienced folks are quitting, gen X is getting passed over and young, inexperienced, hand-picked "talkers" are being fast tracked. Since this activity started, raises / promotions = little to nothing for the past 2+ years, bonuses have dwindled, and we have been struggling to win new work. HR Deployed reps are not trained properly. In the home... office: has become an L1/H1B factory. Outsourcing engineering to India and China is ramping up. Some managers are severely lacking in people skills. Safety culture needs improvement. In the field: poor work/life balance, lots of hours & remote locations. Conditions for US jobs continue to decline. Depending on the project and trailer you're assigned to it can be a loud / dirty work environment. The young, "ivory tower" managers who look down their nose on construction people are ruining the dynamic of field jobs.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Our "bread & butter" is construction, therefore put construction people in construction, and office people in the office. Outsourcing may help short term but is only going to cost us long term. Hire American just like many of our clients do. Politics should be left in the home office as that never built anything. Innovation is important but should help us be more efficient, not more distracted. Before we embark... on a science project let's make sure our basic tools are functioning properly.

    Dérouler
    Bechtel2017-12-24
54 avis trouvés