Avis de Civil Engineer chez Bechtel | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Civil Engineer chez Bechtel

Mis à jour le 6 août 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

24 avis trouvés

3.4
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
71%
Recommandent à un ami
29%
Approuvent le PDG
Bechtel CEO Brendan Bechtel
Brendan Bechtel
6 évaluations
  1. « Good for grads »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Civil Engineer à Londres, Angleterre
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Bechtel à temps plein plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Opportunity to travel, great exposure to graduates, interesting projects, reasonable pay

    Inconvénients

    If you are not on the fast-track list, you will not progess quickly within the company

    Bechtel2019-08-06
  2. Utile (5)

    « They will fire you without warning. No loyalty with this company. »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Civil Field Engineer à Waynesboro, GA
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Bechtel à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Base pay, relocation package and LAHA

    Inconvénients

    They will blindside you by terminating your employment when least suspected. Eventhough you can follow all rules, perform to your due diligence as expected; it wont lower your chances of layoff. If you have a family, mortgage, cars, and young kids, DO NOT PUT THE FATE OF YOUR FAMILY IN THEIR HANDS, especially if you're a minority. Work for a union or some other organization that has job security.

    Continuer à lire
    Bechtel2019-02-06
  3. Utile (9)

    « Had been a great place to work but recent losing streak has made engineering opportunities slim »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Civil/Structural Engineer à Reston, VA
    Recommande
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Large Project sometimes with challenging, but interesting work Great Benefits (401k Matching + discretionary contribution, HSA plan (w/ employer contributions), employee awards, vacation purchase) Flexible Start and End Times Opportunities to move to outside of office engineering

    Inconvénients

    The rate of outsourcing engineering work to subcontractors or remote offices is gradually increasing Hard to stay in one location for a long time, as the company expects you to move where the work is The company lives and dies on mega projects and the latest proposals require a long development period before the decision for the final award is made. When the company loses a few projects in a row, the effects are felt immediately through layoffs or the need to relocate.

    Continuer à lire
    Bechtel2018-10-25
  4. Utile (8)

    « Overall great company, but with some bad spots »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Civil Structural Engineer à Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à temps plein depuis plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Work is fast paced and there are usually international opportunities. Benefits are good and some management is superb. Ability to travel and funding for code committees, education, etc. Decent salary.

    Inconvénients

    Upward mobility is severely limited. Difficult to tell how hiring, raises, rankings, promotions, or bonuses are determined. A lot of bad promotions are made. Need to heavily self promote or you don't get heard. Hard to get international assignments. Difficult to switch between functions and GBUs. Often very bureaucratic. Connections are valued over merit. Attempts for diversity and inclusion cross the line by discounting merit. Women are treated very poorly on site. Management figures abuse their position and hurt people's growth in the company. Little respect outside of home office locations, even for credentialed employees, if the position in the totem pole isn't high enough. Productivity is valued over quality and safety, contrary to company value. Unethical behavior not taken care of properly.

    Continuer à lire
    Bechtel2017-12-07
  5. « Good not great »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Intérimaire actuel - CIVIL SITE Engineer à Alexandrie
    Recommande
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    excellent senior management skills

    Inconvénients

    hate the way they do people

    Continuer à lire
    Bechtel2017-11-20
  6. Utile (3)

    « Great first job out of college - Field Engineer »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Civil Field Engineer à Canada, KY
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Bechtel à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    There are a lot of great people who work for the company (also a lot of leaches), pay was pretty good and as long as you have managers who look out for you, raises we're good too. I learned a lot and it was a great first job before starting a family.

    Inconvénients

    Sink or swim mentality. There's a divide between employees in the field and at the main office. The main office folks had the work life balance where as employees in the field, this concept was non existent. In the construction group HR was hard to get a hold of, mainly because they were understaffed. At the end of one job they scrambled to figure out where to send you for you next job. There was little advanced notice and dealing with the moving department is a huge pain. My husband and I both worked for Bechtel. We met on the job. When that project was over they were trying to get us on the same job but couldn't. I was pregnant at the time and didn't want to take a job away from my husband so I was laid off and then let go. Bechtel is a business and you have to go where the jobs are.

    Bechtel2017-08-19
  7. « Good place but can improve »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Civil/Structural Engineer à Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    Huge company with a vista of opportunities. Good database of knowledge

    Inconvénients

    Work process and workforce aren't fully streamlined, middle level management isn't assertive enough.

    Bechtel2016-10-19
  8. « Great company »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Civil Engineer à Frederick, MD
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Bechtel à temps plein

    Avantages

    Compensation, benefits, and 401(k) plan were all fabulous. Flexible work hours (9/80, except for many field sites) were a nice perk.

    Inconvénients

    If you're up for settling in one place, you're at the wrong company. If you want to move up in the world, you will have to be flexible in terms of location, job function, etc.

    Bechtel2016-06-22
  9. Utile (4)

    « Civil Engineer »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Civil Engineer II à Frederick, MD
    Point de vue négatif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez Bechtel à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Good Schedule, good benefits, good work/life balance

    Inconvénients

    You must have an aggressive personality to get promoted, to find projects, or to simply get your questions answered.

    Continuer à lire
    Bechtel2015-08-20
  10. Utile (3)

    « Young Masters Graduate »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Civil Engineer à Reston, VA
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez Bechtel à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    They're the ENR #1 contractor 17 years running for a reason. There's a strong vision, values, and ethics plan in place. There's a sense of belonging that stems from it still being a private, family company. My time here has been such a positive experience, I continue to learn daily, and I've heard no complaints about the company from my colleagues, a rare find in any civil firm or company.

    Inconvénients

    Given the breadth of work the goes on at Bechtel, these cons are only from what I see in my area. There does seem to be a bit of a generational lag that impacts innovation potential. There are older staff hesitant to move along with progressing computing applications and work platforms. Information sharing among GBU's could be better as well. There are supposedly recent corporate initiatives to address both these cons.

    Continuer à lire
    Bechtel2015-07-19
24 avis trouvés