Avis de Senior Associate chez BDO | Glassdoor.ca

Avis de : Senior Associate chez BDO

Mis à jour le 17 oct. 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

3.4
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
100%
Recommandent à un ami
100%
Approuvent le PDG
BDO CEO Pat Kramer (no image)
Pat Kramer
1 évaluations
  1. « Senior Associate in Audit service line »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Associate à Vancouver, BC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez BDO à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    5th largest consulting after Big 4's. It has comparatively less amount of pressure, when compared to Big 4's. The working culture is good because the clients are mediocre, and because of mid-sized clients the expectations for the work turn around is not very high/hard. You get good opportunities to learn and grow both

    Inconvénients

    As mentioned above, clients are mid-sized, hence the exposure is not as good, as it would be with Big 4's

    BDO2019-10-07
  2. Utile (1)

    « BDO Canada LLP »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Associate à Toronto, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez BDO à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    - great learning experience - great environment. team member are very friendly

    Inconvénients

    - compensation is not in line with the other accounting firms (including bonus). - quite behind on big 4 in terms of employee perks (employee policies, technology deployed etc.)

    BDO2018-11-15
  3. Utile (1)

    « good learning experience »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Tax Senior Associate à Mississauga, ON
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez BDO à

    Avantages

    busy season not as bad as your typical big4 busy season, manager and below staff get overtime...

    Inconvénients

    progress is capped, not much room for growth from initial start point...

    BDO2014-12-18
  4. « Great Place to Work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Assurance Senior Associate à Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez BDO à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Great team environment, management is genuine,.

    Inconvénients

    Work life balance issues that come with public accounting. They do a great job of making it as good as possible for the industry.

    BDO2019-10-17
  5. « Good place to start out but.... »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Associate à Dubaï
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez BDO à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    BDO UAE is a really good place to start out. They have the right mix of clients to get a lot of exposure. The firm believes in training its staff well and you will get a lot of training - classroom as well as hands on. The firm places very high importance on quality, so you will learn a lot. The work quality and training is often at par, if not better, with Big4. The people are really good and will help you out.... Most of the managers genuinely care and will help you out as much as they can. They're approachable and will push you to do your best. You get in what you put into your job. Promotions are largely based on merit (although this may not be the case all the time).

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    - Since the firm is growing, there's a lot of work so don't be surprised if you have to work 12-14 hours each day during the busy season. Although management is trying to bring in some level of work life balance, it is unable to retain talented staff and so the work gets dumped on existing staff and ends up exacerbating the work load on staff. - All managers and staff are overworked and have almost no personal life... because of the amount of work. - Senior executives such as partners and directors see staff as expendable not as assets. They may seem approachable but are anything but that. They expect staff to give a 100% but are not fair to them all the time and end up losing their staff.

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    - Slow down and decide the approach you want to take. In the drive to expand, you are forgetting the most important factor in professional services - the talent. Take the effort to retain your staff, even if it means incurring higher costs. Same applies to hiring - good quality comes at a price. If you want the firm to a leader, then pay up! - Make partners more involved with the clients and drive market... recognition. - Practice what you preach! There's no point in preaching core values all the time when management itself doesn't seem to be following it.

    Dérouler
    BDO2019-10-04
  6. « Senior Audit Associate (Singapore) »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Audit Associate à Singapour
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue neutre
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez BDO à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    - Good learning exposure (since everything would be thrown at you) - Forces you to learn many technical aspects of audit (as above) - Some interesting clients / industries - One of the largest mid-tier accounting firm (albeit still far from the Big 4's reputation)

    Inconvénients

    - Forget about work-life balance unless work is your only life - No such thing as "off-peak" from SAA onwards - Staff are always underbooked and overworked - Politics amongst some of the bosses often spill down to the helpless staffs - Less than competitive staff benefit - Poor staff retention policies; valuable employees are not rewarded and retained

    Conseils à la direction

    Do not pretend to seek employees' feedback when feedback from the staff often gets scoffed at and fought back defensively. Learn to listen and explore options together instead. Hardworkers needs to be rewarded; hardworkers are now seemingly punished with more job bookings (often unofficially "booked" with many concurrent jobs at the same time), whilst shirkers are rewarded with more free time since managers do... not fancy having them in the engagement team. This just does not make any sense at all. Rewards do not always have to come in monetary form (that doesn't mean we will reject them, hah!) -- many of us would be appreciative if we simply get our deserving off-peak period after sacrificing our personal lives for more than 10 consecutive months (when we had our OT and even have our weekends burnt). This leaves the last 2 months of the year kicking off interim, then this toxic cycle repeats without any proper form of "off peak". Not like we get some off days or OT pay for jobs where we are underbooked, do we? Off-peak does not mean having us sit around in the office staring at ships roll past Marina Barrage behind Duo, or the occasional ambulance rushing towards Raffles Hospital along North Bridge Road. Instead, fill off-peaks with training / team and company-wide bonding events / encourage or even sponsor staff to attend external courses (may or may not relate to our work) / or just something fun. Give us a break. And no, the 12-17 days annual leave we have is definitely not a sufficient compensation especially when clearing these leave days means having to come back to a greater pile of backlog (everyone is hit with backlogs, which "covering officer" would actually help us clear when we are on leave?). These are just some of the suggestions, perhaps more could be improved if management simply listens. When we are being heard, staff turnover rates may even improve. I am certain retaining an experienced staff who already understands the firm's methodology would be less costly than trying so hard to hire a new replacement and then training them. Heck, we all know peers from schools and ex-firms looking for a public-accounting firm to join. If the work culture in BDO improves and existing employees becomes much happier, a lot could be saved from recruitment exercises since not only would existing staff stay, we will be more than willing to bring our friends into the firm. Wouldn't it?

    Dérouler
    BDO2019-09-30
  7. « Great Place to Work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Associate à Dallas, TX
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez BDO à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Great people, Great Benefits, Great Work

    Inconvénients

    Some times the work gets pretty repetitive. You have to seek out new engagements.

    BDO2019-07-22
  8. « Good clientele exposure but mediocre renumeration »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Senior Associate à Singapour
    Recommande
    Point de vue neutre
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez BDO à temps plein plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Exposure to a wide spectrum of clientele, with a decent variety of projects to work on. Helpful collewgues.

    Inconvénients

    High turnover with below-market renumeration. Some of the departments have partners that practice favouritism. Slow to transit to new IT tools.

    Conseils à la direction

    Look at benchmarking the company's remuneration packages to provide better renumerations to the staff, then perhaps the staff turnover will reduce.

    BDO2019-07-25
  9. « Great place to work »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Senior Associate à Lagos
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez BDO à temps plein depuis plus de 5 ans

    Avantages

    You will be trained and exposed to accounting, business and finance

    Inconvénients

    You work overtime and on weekends

    BDO2019-06-14
  10. « Good Platform to start! »

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Audit Senior Associate à Kuala Lumpur
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez BDO à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Can learn a lot of thing where a lot of people such as team and leader are very friendly to guide you.

    Inconvénients

    working life but still balance

    BDO2019-06-12
3 avis trouvés