Avis sur American Institutes for Research | Glassdoor.ca

Avis sur American Institutes for Research

Mis à jour le 23 août 2019

Pour filtrer les avis, ou .

431 avis trouvés

3.2
ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
Tendances des évaluationsTendances des évaluations
57%
Recommandent à un ami
70%
Approuvent le PDG
American Institutes for Research CEO David Myers
David Myers
163 évaluations
  1. Utile (1)

    "Positive work environment, stable job for artists!"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Production Assistant à Washington, DC
    Point de vue positif

    Je travaille chez American Institutes for Research à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Managers treat employees with kindness and respect. Coworkers treat each other with respect, and they do stay true to promoting the 'AIR values' of diversity and inclusion at least in my personal experience. For an artist, this is an amazing job! Stable, and with a decent salary + benefits! Also very flexible about 'working from home' arrangements.

    Inconvénients

    In my experience, do not expect any massive pay bumps. AIR is an non-profit, so if a rapidly increasing salary is what you're after, this might not be a good fit. And I would like to emphasize that this 'con' is not a fault of AIR, but more of a warning about what to expect.

    Conseils à la direction

    Possibly consider a transparent salary model? where employees can view what we all make and compare. I know it is untraditional, and the shift can be.... difficult. But I do hope jobs shift towards this, I've seen transparency bring inequality to light, where it otherwise might have gone unchecked.

    American Institutes for Research2019-08-13
  2. Utile (3)

    "Antisocial and toxic company culture, no room for growth"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Research Assistant à Washington, DC
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez American Institutes for Research à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    Flexible hours/work from home policy Earn decent entry-level experience

    Inconvénients

    Where to begin? - antisocial office culture (office is closed off, people lock themselves in their offices and don't socialize, you only know the people you work with on projects, which are not necessarily the people you physically work near) - incredibly hierarchical (by policy, they will not promote Research Assistants without a Master's degree, although they seem to intentionally hide this fact during recruitment;...

    Dérouler

    Conseils à la direction

    Try valuing your junior employees and engage in actual culture work

    American Institutes for Research2019-08-13
  3. "good company, few bad managers"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Systems Engineer 
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue positif

    J'ai travaillé chez American Institutes for Research à temps plein plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    - good environment and better for self motivated people

    Inconvénients

    - few bad managers, like to micromanage their employees - compensation was relatieve less than other companies

    Conseils à la direction

    - encourage your employees, rather than micromanaging

    American Institutes for Research2019-08-10
  4. Utile (1)

    "Mission driven organization with growth opportunities and good benefits"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Researcher 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez American Institutes for Research à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    It takes a while to learn about how things work at AIR, but once you do and are proactive, there are ample opportunities to connect with colleagues and work on projects that align with your interests. There is always much to learn and grow if you can find the right mix of projects to work on. Smart, dedicated, driven, and supportive colleagues. Good work/life balance. Benefits are reasonable for a non-profit. Overall,...

    Dérouler

    Inconvénients

    Given the size of the organization, vertical career growth can be slow if you are not constantly on the move and seen by the right people at the right time.

    American Institutes for Research2019-07-19
  5. Utile (1)

    "Horrible place to land if are an experienced professional"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - QA Analyst à Washington, DC
    Ne recommande pas
    Point de vue négatif
    N'approuve pas le PDG

    Je travaille chez American Institutes for Research à temps plein depuis plus de 3 ans

    Avantages

    Benefits, culture values, georgetown, dc location, that's pretty much it

    Inconvénients

    Everything else, including poorest management, disrespectful, poor salary. NO PERSONAL LIFE when you work there!!

    Conseils à la direction

    Take management courses

    American Institutes for Research2019-08-23
  6. "Good place to word"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Employé anonyme 

    J'ai travaillé chez American Institutes for Research à temps plein moins d'un an

    Avantages

    diverse employee group, fun social events

    Inconvénients

    the pay was less than what I would have hoped

    American Institutes for Research2019-07-17
  7. "Solid Company with some barrier"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Research Assistant 
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Pas d'avis sur le PDG

    Je travaille chez American Institutes for Research à temps plein depuis plus d'un an

    Avantages

    I have had an overall very positive experiencing working at AIR, I enjoy the work, and my co-workers. The organization also has really good benefits, such as PTO that rolls over from year to year with no cap on the amount you can amass.

    Inconvénients

    Some policies related to working from home/ or creating flexible work arrangements for lower tier employees seems arbitrary. A masters degree is also required to advance to the next level which exist as a barrier to growth for some (depending on when you entered the organization).

    Conseils à la direction

    I would say that because getting a masters is a requirement to advancing the company should offer more in the way of GRE prep, help finding the right program etc. so that the process is not something people have to get on their own and come back with but rather an embedded piece of growth within the company. To be fair their is tuition assistance, but I think there is a way to package all that into a career advancement...

    Dérouler
    American Institutes for Research2019-07-16
  8. "A Great Place to Work"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Production Associate à Washington, DC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    Je travaille chez American Institutes for Research à temps plein depuis moins d'un an

    Avantages

    Friendly staff and colleagues where everyone is treated with dignity and respect. Cultural diversity encouraged and celebrated, making employees feel less like coworkers and more like a big family. You might not get rich working here, but you will be more than adequately compensated for a good day's work.

    Inconvénients

    Headquarters are in downtown Washington, DC (Georgetown), so the commute from the neighboring suburbs of Maryland and Northern Virginia can be a pain sometimes -- especially during inclement weather or if there is a big event in the nation's capital.

    Conseils à la direction

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    American Institutes for Research2019-07-16
  9. "Good place to work"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Employé actuel - Research Associate 

    Je travaille chez American Institutes for Research à temps plein

    Avantages

    Benefits, good experience, learn a lot

    Inconvénients

    Little in-person social interaction

    American Institutes for Research2019-07-12
  10. "very agressive assigned tasks, enjoyed life balancing after work"

    ÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoileÉtoile
    • Équilibre travail/vie privée
    • Culture et valeurs
    • Opportunités de carrière
    • Rémunération et avantages
    • Équipe dirigeante
    Ancien employé - Software Engineer à Washington, DC
    Recommande
    Point de vue positif
    Approuve le PDG

    J'ai travaillé chez American Institutes for Research à plus de 8 ans

    Avantages

    Upper management team are very intelligence with a clear vision

    Inconvénients

    many green card seekers

    Conseils à la direction

    an inexperience manager might lead to a high turn over rate.

    American Institutes for Research2019-07-26
431 avis trouvés